Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know
Iowa Department of Health and Human Services

Iowa's Quality Rating System

Welcome to Iowa's Quality Rating System (QRS), a voluntary child care rating system for child development homes, licensed child care centers and preschools, and Child care programs that are operated by school districts.

The QRS was developed:

  • to raise the quality of child care in Iowa
  • to increase the number of children in high-quality child care settings
  • to educate parents about quality in child care

There are five levels in the QRS.  For a program to be rated at:

     Level 1:  all the Level 1 criteria must be met. 

     Level 2:  all the Level 1 and Level 2 criteria must be met. 

     Levels 3-5:  all the Level 1 and Level 2 criteria must be met, and then the program must earn a minimum of one point in each of the Level 3-5 categories.  For levels 3-5, the level is determined by the total number of points earned. 


Rule 441.118 - Child Care Quality Rating System