

# 2023-2024 Advisory Council on Brain Injuries

## **Appointed Members**

Tia Clark (2023-2024) Ankeny, IA	Brenda Easter (2022-2024) Indianola, IA	Andrea Gomez (2023-2025) Shenandoah, IA	Kevin Grell (2022-2024) Sioux City, IA
Chad Lang, PhD (2022-2024) Glenwood, IA	Eric Lietsch (2022-2024) Burlington, IA	Jean Shelton, PhD (2023-2025) Ankeny, IA	Ashley Smith (2022-2024) De Witt, IA
Jordan True (2023-2025) Des Moines, IA	James Torner, PhD (2021-2022) Iowa City, IA	<b>Open</b> (2022-2024)	<b>Open</b> (2023-2025)

## **Ex-Officio Members**

Iowa Department for the Blind	Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services	Iowa Department of Education		
Emily Wharton, Director	James Williams, Ed.D. Administrator	McKenzie Snow, Director		
Representative:		Representative:		
Toni Reimers	Representative: Kathy Davis	Melissa Walker		
Iowa Department of Health and Human Services				
Elizabeth Matney, Medicaid Director	Kelly Garcia, HHS Director	Dr. Robert Kruse, Medical Director		
IME Representative: LeAnn Moskowitz	Aging & Disability Services Representative: Connie B. Fanselow	Public Health Representative: Margot McComas		



## 2023-2024 Advisory Council on Brain Injuries

### **Task Force Members**

\*denotes task force chair/co-chair

#### **Executive Task Force**

\*Chairperson: Brenda Easter, ACBI appointed member

Vice-chairperson: Andrea Gomez, ACBI appointed member

State Plan Task Force Chair: Brenda Easter, ACBI appointed member

#### **State Plan Task Force**

\*Brenda Easter, ACBI appointed member

### **Individual and Family Access Task Force**

Connie Fanslow, ACBI ex officio member

Tia Clark, ACBI appointed member

Andrea Gomez, ACBI appointed member

Eric Lietsch, ACBI appointed member

Jim Torner, ACBI appointed member

Megan Hartwig, HartWorth Consulting

Jim Pender, Iowa Dept. of Public Health Brain Injury Program

Sue Wilson, CTE Hope

## **Service Systems Enhancement Task Force**

Kathy Davis, ACBI ex officio member

Andrea Gomez, ACBI appointed member

Eric Lietsch, ACBI appointed member

Jim Torner, ACBI appointed member

Jordan True, ACBI appointed member

LeAnn Moskowitz, ACBI ex officio member

Margot McComas, ACBI ex officio member

Jean Shelton, ACBI appointed member

Jim Pender, Iowa Dept. of Health and Human Services

Monica Goedken, Iowa Dept. of Health and Human Services

Tom Brown, Community NeuroRehab

Megan Hartwig, HartWorth Consulting

### **Prevention Task Force**

Brenda Easter, ACBI appointed member

Kevin Grell, ACBI appointed member

Chad Lang, ACBI appointed member

Eric Lietsch, ACBI appointed member

Ashley Smith, ACBI appointed member

Jim Torner, ACBI appointed member

Jordan True, ACBI appointed member



## 2023-2024 Advisory Council on Brain Injuries

Melissa Walker, ACBI ex officio member

Maggie Ferguson, Iowa Dept. of Health and Human Services

Vicki Peterson, Iowa Dept. of Health and Human Services

Carrie VanQuathem, ChildServe

## **Covid-19 & Brain Injury Task Force**

Toni Reimers, ACBI ex officio member

Jean Shelton, ACBI appointed member

Maggie Ferguson, Iowa Dept. of Health and Human Services

Tom Brown, Community NeuroRehab

Geoff Lauer, Brain Injury Alliance of Iowa

Jim Pender, Iowa Dept. of Health and Human Services

## **Brain Injury Services Program Staff**

#### **Iowa Department of Health and Human Services**

**Public Health Division** 

# Brain.Injury@idph.iowa.gov 515-281-8465

**Maggie Ferguson** 

Brain Injury & Disability Program Manager

Maggie.Ferguson@idph.iowa.gov

Jim Pender

Brain Injury Grant Manager

James.Pender@idph.iowa.gov

Toby Yak

Lead Epidemiologist

Toby.Yak@idph.iowa.gov