# Iowa Medicaid Enterprise Provider Enrollment Application Fee



# Provider Enrollment Application Fee Frequently Asked Questions

#### 1. Does everyone have to pay an application fee?

Institutional providers will be required to pay the application fee before the application can be processed if applicable. The application fee is <u>not</u> required when enrolling individual providers in Medicaid. The application fee is <u>not</u> required of providers who have already paid the fee to Medicare or another state's Medicaid or CHIP program.

### 2. Why is the IME requiring application fees?

This is required by section 6401(a) of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and further defined in federal regulation at 42 CFR 455.460.

### 3. How often is the application fee collected?

The application fee will be required with initial applications for new enrollment, applications for a new practice location, and any re-enrollment. Institutional providers will be required to pay the application fee before the application can be processed.

#### 4. What does the IME do with the fee collected?

The fee is to be used to cover the aggregate cost of enrolling all providers and enhanced program integrity efforts required under the ACA. This includes the cost of screening associated with provider enrollment processes, including but not limited to; sites visits for moderate and high-risk providers; provider licensure checks; and data matches with the Social Security Administration (SSA) Death Master File, Medicare Exclusion Database, and terminated providers in other states.

#### 5. What if the fee collected exceeds the expenditures of the enrollment process?

Any remaining balance that is <u>not</u> applied to the enhanced screening and enrollment processes required by the ACA must be turned over to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

#### 6. How do I pay my application fee?

The application fee may be submitted by check or money order and payable to the Iowa Medicaid Enterprise and mailed to: IME Provider Enrollment, P.O. Box 36450, Des Moines, IA 50315.

# Iowa Medicaid Enterprise Provider Enrollment Application Fee



### 7. For providers filing cost reports, where should the application fee be reported? Is it a direct or indirect cost?

It would be considered an indirect cost as it is not related to direct service costs.

#### 8. May I request a waiver of the application fee based on a related hardship?

If the enrolling or reenrolling provider believes the application fee is a significant hardship to their organization, the IME Provider Enrollment Application Fee Hardship Exemption Request, form <u>470-5298</u>, may be completed and submitted. The final decision to waive the application fee will be made by CMS. If CMS denies the hardship exemption request, the IME will provide written notification to the applicant within five business days of the denial and allow 30 days for the application fee to be paid to the IME. If the application fee is not paid within 30 days, the application will be denied. If the application is denied for lack of payment the application and fee may be resubmitted at any time.