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Frequently Asked Questions for  
Licensed Child Care Facilities 

                                                                Measles 

What are the symptoms of measles?  
First symptoms: high fever (may spike to more than 104°F), cough, runny nose, red watery eyes. 

• Three to five days later: rash 
o Flat red rash (sometimes raised bumps on top of flat red lesions) 
o Rash begins on face (at hairline) and spreads to neck, trunk, arms, legs, and feet 
o Fever may spike to more than 104°F when rash appears 

After a few days, the fever subsides and rash fades. 
 
What are the MMR vaccination requirements for licensed child care facilities in Iowa? 
Iowa law requires that all licensed child care attendees submit proof of receiving one dose of measles and 
rubella containing vaccine (MMR vaccine) at age 19 months (the first dose of vaccine is recommended to be 
administered between 12 to 15 months of age). To be considered valid, the first dose of MMR vaccine must be 
administered at or after 1 year of age.   
 
Iowa law allows for a four day grace period, which would apply to the minimum age of the first dose (i.e., the 
vaccine can be given up to four days before the child turns 1 year of age).  
 
What types of MMR vaccine exemptions are allowed for licensed child care attendees in Iowa?  
Iowa law allows for:  

1) Religious exemptions  
a. Religious exemptions stating that immunization conflicts with a genuine and sincere 

religious belief must be signed by a Notary Public (they do not need to be signed by a 
religious leader) and the exemption is valid for the entire length of time the attendee is 
enrolled.   

2) Medical exemptions   
a. Medical exemption stating that immunization would be injurious to the health and well-being 

of the applicant or any member of the applicant’s family or household must be signed by an 
MD, DO, PA, or ARNP to be considered valid. Unless the MD, DO, PA, ARNP specifically lists 
an expiration date, the medical exemption is valid for the entire length of time the attendee 
is enrolled.  

 
What are the MMR vaccination requirements for staff who work at licensed child care facilities in 
Iowa? 
Iowa law does not address vaccination requirements for staff working in licensed child care facilities in Iowa; 
however, IDPH recommends that all staff be fully vaccinated.  
 
What are the requirements for non-immune persons (including licensed child care facility 
attendees and staff) determined to have been exposed to a person with confirmed measles?  
In most cases, non-immune persons exposed to a person with confirmed measles will be required under a 
public health order to stay in their home from five days after the first possible exposure until 21 days after the 
last possible exposure to the person with confirmed measles.   
 
If a person with confirmed measles is identified in a licensed child care facility in Iowa, will non-
immune attendees and staff in the licensed child care facility be excluded for a period of time 
(even if they are NOT identified as having been exposed to the person with confirmed measles)? 
Yes; generally non-immune attendees and staff will be excluded from the licensed child care facility until 21 
days after the last possible time a person who had confirmed measles was at the licensed child care facility. 



  Last Updated April 10, 2019 

Public health officials will work directly with licensed child care facility officials to determine which exclusions 
are appropriate. If the non-immune attendees and staff (who have NOT been identified as exposed to the 
person with confirmed measles) get vaccinated, they will be allowed to return to the licensed child care facility.    
 
Should licensed child care facilities in Iowa maintain records of staff members’ MMR vaccination 
history?  
Iowa law does not require licensed child care facility officials to maintain measles vaccination records for staff; 
however, IDPH does recommend that licensed child care facilities maintain vaccination records for their staff. 
 
If a case of measles were identified within a licensed child care facility, public health officials would work with 
licensed child care officials to quickly determine which staff are non-immune and ensure all susceptible 
individuals are excluded. Having these records readily available would expedite this determination.   
 
Can licensed child care facilities in Iowa impose any additional MMR vaccination 
recommendations, such as denying a religious or medical exemption?  
The Iowa Department of Public Health does not have the legal authority to exclude children who have a valid 
medical or religious exemption from a licensed child care facility unless an emergency or epidemic has been 
declared. If a licensed child care facility seeks to impose additional requirements, they should consult their 
own legal counsel prior to doing so to ensure compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and federal 
and state civil rights laws.   
 


