
WHAT TO KNOW

WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO MY INFANT?

Safe Haven locations include:

You may also contact an approved adoption service provider to coordinate the relinquishment of an infant.
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24-hour Hospitals 24-hour Fire Stations Emergency medical 
care providers

If you don’t see 
this Safe Haven 
sign, DO NOT 
leave an infant.

The Safe Haven Act is an Iowa law 
that allows parents to give up physical 
custody of their infant without 
being arrested or charged with 
abandonment.

You cannot be 
arrested or charged 
with abandonment.

The infant can be up to 
90 days old at the time 
of surrender.

All information provided 
at the time of surrender 
is kept confidential.

You do not need 
to attend the court 
proceeding regarding the 
custody of the infant.

You may choose either the 
Iowa Department of Health 
and Human Services (HHS) 
or an approved adoption 
service provider to take 
custody of the infant.

Within 30 days of 
surrender, a court 
proceeding will be held to 
terminate parental rights. 
You are not required to 
attend, but can choose to.

The infant will be placed 
in a home approved for 
adoption.



The date and time of the court hearing to terminate parental rights will be published in the newspaper where the infant 
was relinquished. Parents may receive personal service of the hearing if their identity is known. 

 ` Parents do not need to attend court but can choose to. 

 ` If either parent wishes to receive notice of the court hearing, their name and address may be given to: 

 ` The Safe Haven location where the infant was relinquished.

 ` The Clerk of Court in the county where the infant was relinquished.

 ` The Putative Father Registry.

If a parent wants to retain custody of their infant, either parent may attend the court proceeding in person to ask for 
custody.

At the hearing, be prepared to show evidence 

 ` That you are the parent of the child

 `And that granting custody to you, the biological parent, would be in the child’s best interest.

The judge may order services to ensure parents have the supports they need to safely care for their infant.

COURT HEARING TO TERMINATE PARENTAL RIGHTS 

Safe Haven 

To learn more information, scan the QR code 
or visit online at hhs.iowa.gov/safe-haven

WHAT IF I CHANGE MY MIND?

STATE LAW

Either parent of a newborn infant whose custody was released under the Safe Haven Act may 
intervene in court proceedings held regarding the infant and request that the Juvenile Court grant 
custody of the infant to the parent. 

The requester must show by clear and convincing evidence that they are the parent of the infant. If the 
court determines that the person is the parent and that granting custody of the infant is in the infant’s 
best interest, the court will issue an order granting custody to the parent.  The court may order 
services for the infant and parent as are in the best interest of the infant. 
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