# Smokefree Air Act

**FACT SHEET** 



### **OVERVIEW**

The Smokefree Air Act specifies certain prohibitions against smoking and provides for penalties for violating the law. The Iowa Department of Health and Human Services and its designees are responsible for enforcing the Smokefree Air Act.

#### **AUTHORITY TO DESIGNATE**

- The Smokefree Air Act provides the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services (Iowa HHS) with the authority to designate an entity, or entities, to assist in enforcement of the law.
- Iowa HHS has designated all state and local law enforcement agencies to assist with enforcement of the Smokefree Air Act.

### **ENFORCEMENT AGAINST A BUSINESS**

- ▶ The Smokefree Air Act does not allow a law enforcement officer to directly issue a citation to a business for violating the Smokefree Air Act.
- ▶ The law enforcement officer's duty is to inspect and report any violations. If a Smokefree Air Act violation is observed during an incident outside an Iowa HHS initiated site visit, Iowa HHS encourages the involved officer to report that violation to 1-888-944-2247 or Smokefreeair.iowa.gov
- Iowa HHS will provide copies of second and subsequent notice of potential violation letters to the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the area where the violation occurred.

## **ENFORCEMENT AGAINST AN INDIVIDUAL**

- A law enforcement officer may issue a citation to individuals smoking in areas where smoking is prohibited pursuant to lowa Code chapter 142D.9(1).
- ▶ See Compendium of Scheduled Violations & Scheduled Fines under the offense "Smoking in Prohibited Area"
- A law enforcement officer has broad discretion as to whether to issue a citation to an individual smoking in an area where smoking is prohibited.

### CIVIL PENALTIES

- An individual who smokes in an area where smoking is prohibited is subject to a civil penalty of \$50 for each violation [lowa Code chapter 142D.9(1)].
- Businesses in violation of the law are subject to the following civil penalties: First violation: up to \$100; Second violation (within 12 months): up to \$200; Third and subsequent violations (within 12 months): up to \$500.
- Proceeds from civil penalties will be deposited in the general fund of the respective city or county involved in the enforcement action.

The information provided in this document is not intended to be legal advice. Please consult state statues or contact an attorney for additional information about the Smokefree Air Act (lowa Code 142D)

#### CONTACT

Iowa Health and Human Services Division of Tobacco Use and Prevention

1-888-944-2247

smokefreeair.iowa.gov

