LOCATION: Zoom Meeting TIME: 9:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.

MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:

Betsy Akin Sarah Berndt Diane Brecht Teresa Daubitz Mike Fidgeon Sue Gehling Don Kass June Klein-Bacon Kathy Norris Jack Seward, Jr. Terri Steinke Russell Wood Dr. Ken Wayne Richard Whitaker

MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:

Linda Dettmann Sen. Jeff Edler Sen. Sarah Trone Garriott Rep. Megan Srinivas

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Theresa Armstrong Ashley Bohannon Teresa Bomhoff Lisa Bringle Devon McClurken Carlyn Crowe Lucas Grundmeier Jan Heidemann Charlene Joens Kathy Johnson Adrienne LaToure Karl Lettow Julie Maas Stacie Maass Patti Manna Katie Peck Peggy Petlon Cheryl Plank Libby Reekers Chelsey Scanlan Flora A. Schmidt Jayne Wagner Ryanne Wood

Materials Referenced:

988 and Governor's Challenge 3.19.24 MHDS_Commission_January_18_2024_Meeting_Minutes_DRAFT MHDS_Commission_February_15_2024_Meeting_Minutes_DRAFT

Welcome and Introductions

Russell Wood, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:31am and led introductions. Quorum was not established with 9 voting members attending virtually. Russell reviewed conflicts of interest and informed the Commissioners to disclose any conflicts of interest on voting items.

*Review and Vote on Approval of Meeting Minutes

Russell Wood inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the January 18, 2024, and February 15, 2024, meeting minutes. Hearing none, Russell entertained a

MHDS Commission March 21st, 2024, Meeting Minutes

motion to approve both sets of meeting minutes as submitted. Betsy Akin motioned to approve and was seconded by Richard Whitaker There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the minutes were approved. Sue, Diane

Nominations Committee -

Russell Wood, whose term is ending on April 30, 2024

Betsy Akin- Chair June Klein-Bacon Don Kass Patti will set up meeting Email Patti if you have a desire to be an officer

Put on agenda for April

Suicide Risk for Veterans – Dr. Kenneth Wayne

Dr. Wayne Annual report indicated a spike in suicide for For more information about the Staff Sergeant Parker Gordon Fox Suicide Prevention Grant Program, visit https://www.mentalhealth.va.gov/ssgfox-grants.

Election of Commission Officers

Rich Whitaker informed the Commission that the Nominations Committee recommended Russell Wood for Commission Chair and Lorrie Young for Vice Chair. Sarah Berndt motioned to approve the slate of officers, and Betsy Akin seconded the motion. There was no discussion. The motion passed with Lorrie Young abstaining.

Recognition of Outgoing Commission Members

Lorrie Young recognized Shari O'Bannon, Timothy Perkins and Maria Sorensen who were leaving the MHDS Commission after serving three years. None of the outgoing Commissioners were in attendance but were thanked for their service to the Commission. Lorrie indicated that their service certificates would be mailed to them.

HHS/BHS Update - Theresa Armstrong, Iowa HHS

Theresa Armstrong provided an update from Iowa Health and Human Services (HHS).

Theresa Armstrong provided an update from HHS. Iowa Health and Human Services

Encourage everyone to attend the Iowa Governor's Conference on April 23-25, 2024.

Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC)

MHDS Commission March 21st, 2024, Meeting Minutes

Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC) Demonstration Application due today. Planning grant to prepare

10 providers were identified through procurement process, oversight and review of those providers, community needs assessments were completes, reviewed at cost reports, 116 criteria include federal requirements and additional state requirements. On site visits were completed. 9 of 10 providers are provisionally certified,

If awarded, the Demonstration Grant will start on July 1, 2024.

Next steps include working with providers to ensure readiness in year 1,

If not approved, work will continue to seek demonstration grant next time around

TA will be provided to provisionally certified providers as well as TA to additional providers.

System Alignment/Service Delivery Alignment

Behavioral Health Alignment Bill 225.A

the Governor's behavioral health service system alignment bill (HF 2509) was passed unanimously through the House appropriations committee with significant amendments and will now go to the full house floor for voting. The Senate did not take up the bill in their appropriations committee.

Districts run by ASO local behavioral health

Amendments – ASO are not for profits, adjustments to local representation to include schools and law enforcement

Crisis System Evaluation

Crisis Service System evaluation with HMA integrated behavioral health crisis system expecting a roadmap less use of emergency departments, survey is being distributed.

Children's Board Updates

Kelly Garcia – Behavioral Health System Alignment, Change Healthcare, Prevention work McKenzie Snow – Chronic Absenteeism Barb Anderson – Therapeutic Classroom incentive grants Board suggestions for future Data presentation – data dashboard template Brad Niebling and Kurt Behrens SIYAC

Planning for Future Meetings/Additional Discussion

There was a discussion on future planning with the Commission. Suggestions on future presentations included.

Election of officers

Public Comment

There was an opportunity for public comment. Devon McClurken

Adjourn

Russell Wood entertained a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mike Fidgeon motioned to adjourn and was seconded by Sue Gehling. The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 10:44 am.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Patti Manna