LOCATION: Zoom Meeting TIME: 9:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.

MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:

Betsy Akin Sarah Berndt Diane Brecht Teresa Daubitz Mike Fidgeon Sue Gehling Don Kass June Klein-Bacon Kathy Norris Jack Seward, Jr. Terri Steinke Russell Wood Dr. Ken Wayne Richard Whitaker

MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:

Linda Dettmann Sen. Jeff Edler Sen. Sarah Trone Garriott Rep. Megan Srinivas

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Theresa Armstrong Ashley Bohannon Teresa Bomhoff Lisa Bringle Devon McClurken Carlyn Crowe Lucas Grundmeier Jan Heidemann Charlene Joens Kathy Johnson Adrienne LaToure Karl Lettow Julie Maas Stacie Maass Patti Manna Katie Peck Peggy Petlon Cheryl Plank Libby Reekers Chelsey Scanlan Flora A. Schmidt Jayne Wagner Ryanne W

Materials Referenced:

988 and Governor's Challenge 3.19.24 MHDS_Commission_January_18_2024_Meeting_Minutes_DRAFT MHDS_Commission_February_15_2024_Meeting_Minutes_DRAFT

Welcome and Introductions

Russell Wood, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:31am and led introductions. Quorum was established with 14 voting members attending virtually. Russell reviewed conflicts of interest and informed the Commissioners to disclose any conflicts of interest on voting items.

*Review and Vote on Approval of Meeting Minutes

Russell Wood inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the January 18, 2024, meeting minutes. Hearing none, Russell entertained a motion to approve the meeting minutes as submitted. Betsy Akin motioned to approve and was seconded by Richard

MHDS Commission March 21st, 2024, Meeting Minutes

Whitaker. There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

Russell Wood inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the February 15, 2024, meeting minutes. Hearing none, Russell entertained a motion to approve the meeting minutes as submitted. Sue Gehling motioned to approve and was seconded by Diane Brecht. There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

Nominations Committee

Russell Wood, whose term is ending on April 30, 2024, noted that the April 2024 meeting will include the election of officers for the next year. A Nominations Committee was formed which included Betsy Akin as Chair, June Klein-Bacon, and Don Kass. The committee will be reaching out for nominations and noted that those interested in serving could let them know via email. The Nominations Committee will bring forward all nominees at the April meeting for vote. The Commission will also be recognizing outgoing Commission members at the April meeting. These include Russell Wood and Richard Whitaker.

Suicide Risk for Veterans – Dr. Kenneth Wayne

Dr. Wayne provided an overview from the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) "2023 National Veteran Suicide Prevention Annual Report", which indicated a spike in suicides in veterans under age 45. There was a discussion on the report. Dr. Wayne shared that there is more information available through the Staff Sergeant Parker Gordon Fox Suicide Prevention Grant Program, which is part of the VA's ongoing efforts to reduce suicide risk among veterans.

Governor's Challenge and 988 – Julie Maas, Iowa HHS

Julie Maas, Iowa HHS Suicide Prevention Director, provided an update on the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline, which provides free and confidential emotional support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress through a national network of over 200 crisis centers. 988 provides specialty services for targeted populations, including military veterans, service members, and their families. Additionally, Julie shared that Iowa has a team led by Iowa HHS and the Iowa Department of Veteran's Affairs with a purpose of bringing state, miliary, and community-based providers together to develop and implement a strategic plan to prevent and reduce suicide. Julie noted that the Iowa's Annual Governor's Conference on Substance Use will be held on April 23 and April 24, 2024.

HHS/BHS Update - Theresa Armstrong, Iowa HHS

Theresa Armstrong provided an update from Iowa Health and Human Services (HHS).

Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC)

The Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC) Demonstration Application was submitted March 20th, 2024. The Demonstration Grant, if awarded, will start on July 1, 2024. HHS work has included providing oversight and review of 10 providers identified through procurement process, with each completing a community needs assessment and cost report. On site visits were completed and 9 of 10 providers are provisionally certified. Next steps

MHDS Commission March 21st, 2024, Meeting Minutes

include ensuring providers can meet 116 federal and state requirements in year one. If the grant is not awarded, work will continue to seek a future demonstration grant award.

System Alignment/Service Delivery Alignment

The Governor's Behavioral Health Alignment Bill was passed unanimously through the House appropriations committee with significant amendments and will now go to the full house floor for voting. The House amended the bill to allow for-profit companies to become Administrative Services Organizations (ASOs). The Senate has not taken up the bill in their appropriations committee.

Crisis System Evaluation

Crisis Service System evaluation work continues with Health Management Associates distributing a survey to stakeholders for use in developing a roadmap to improve Iowa's integrated behavioral health crisis system.

Children's Board Updates

Richard Whitaker provided on update on the activities of the Children's Board, which met on March 12th, 2024. At this meeting, Kelly Garcia, Director of Iowa HHS, provided an update on proposed changes and amendments to the Behavioral Health redesign bill, the data beach experienced by Change Healthcare, and prevention work planned by HHS. McKenzie Snow, Director of the Iowa Department of Education (DE), provided an update on the DE's efforts to address chronic absenteeism. Barb Anderson, DE representative, provided an update on Therapeutic Classroom Incentive Grants. Brad Niebling, Scanlan Center for School Mental Health, provided an update on a data dashboard template in development. Individuals representing the State of Iowa Youth Advisory Council (SIYAC), spoke on their advocacy work.

Planning for Future Meetings/Additional Discussion

Russell Wood opened the discussion asking for suggestions on future presentations, with none offered by the Commission. The April meeting will include the election of officers and a designation of the Children's Board representative to replace Richard Whitaker.

Public Comment

There was an opportunity for public comment. Devon McClurken, Office of Recovery Services Director for NAMI Iowa, shared the Office of Recovery Services annual survey. There was no further public comment.

Adjourn

Russell Wood entertained a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mike Fidgeon motioned to adjourn and was seconded by Sue Gehling. The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 10:44 am.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Patti Manna