Ryanne Wood

LOCATION: Zoom Meeting TIME: 9:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.

# MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sarah Berndt June Klein-Bacon Dr. Kenneth Wayne Diane Brecht Kathy Norris Richard Whitaker

Teresa Daubitz Jack Seward, Jr.
Linda Dettmann Terri Steinke
Sue Gehling Russell Wood

## MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:

Betsy Akin Sen. Jeff Edler

Mike Fidgeon Rep. Megan Srinivas

Don Kass

Sen. Sarah Trone Garriott

### **OTHER ATTENDEES:**

Darci Alt Charlene Joens Cheryl Plank Brenna Koedam Libby Reekers Theresa Armstrong Chelsey Scanlan Adrienne LaToure Lynn Bopes Lisa Bringle Melissa Loehr Flora A. Schmidt Anne Crotty Stacie Maass Kim Scorza Carlyn Crowe Patti Manna Annie Uetz Wendy DePhillips Devon McClurken Javne Wagner

Dawn Mentzer

Tami Gilliland Katie Peck Lucas Grundmeier Peggy Petlon

#### **Materials Referenced:**

Meghan Freie

MHDS\_Commission\_March\_21\_2024\_Meeting\_Minutes\_DRAFT
Behavioral Health Service System and Disability Services Transition Timelines

### Welcome and Introductions

Russell Wood, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:31am and led introductions. Quorum was established with 10 voting members attending virtually. Russell reviewed conflicts of interest and informed the Commissioners to disclose any conflicts of interest on voting items.

# \*Review and Vote on Approval of Meeting Minutes

Russell Wood inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the March 21<sup>st</sup>, 2024, meeting minutes. Hearing none, Russell entertained a motion to approve the meeting minutes as submitted. Jack Seward motioned to approve and was seconded by Dr. Kenneth Wayne. There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

#### **Election of Commission Members**

June Klein-Bacon informed the Commission that the Nominations Committee, which included Betsy Akin, Chair, June Kelin-Bacon, and Don Kass, recommended Diane Brecht for Commission Chair and Jack Seward for Vice Chair. Sarah Berndt motioned to approve the slate of officers, and Teresa Daubitz seconded the motion. There was no discussion. The motion passed with Jack Seward and Diane Brecht abstaining.

# **Recognition of Outgoing Commission Members**

Diane Brecht recognized Russell Wood and Richard Whitaker whose MHDS Commission terms are ending, and thanked them for their service on the board.

# **Children's Board Representative**

Russell Wood inquired if there were any Commission members who would be willing to take over as the Children's Board Representative, as Richard Whitaker will no longer fulfill the role. Diane Brecht nominated Sue Gehling, who accepted the nomination. Teresa Daubitz seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

# HHS/BHS Update – Theresa Armstrong, Iowa HHS

Theresa Armstrong provided an update from Iowa Health and Human Services (HHS).

# Behavioral Health Service System

Theresa shared that the Behavioral Health Service System Bill, House File 2673, has passed the Senate and the House with some amendments and is expected to be signed into law. The bill transitions mental health and disabilities services system to a behavioral health service system, and transfers disability services to the HHS' division of aging and disability services, effective July 1, 2025. Timelines for the Behavioral Health Service System and Disabilities Services transitions was shared, with the transition plan to be published by July 1, 2024.

## Other bills to note

Health/Human Services (HHS) Budget (HF2698): Appropriates \$2.2 billion for health and human services programs (including Medicaid) for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2024 (FY 2025).

Mental Health Transportation (HF2397): Allows an ambulance service to transport a person experiencing a mental health crisis to a mental health access center.

Psychiatric Medical Institutions for Children (PMICs) (HF2402): A bill for an act relating to behavioral health services for children including psychiatric medical institutions for children.

Social Work Licensure Compact (HF 2512): A bill for an act relating to multi-state Social Work License Compact to allow social workers licensed in one state to practice in another state.

Social Work Licenses (HF 2515): A bill for an act relating to the licensure of marital and family therapists, mental health counselors, and social workers, and including effective date provisions.

## Other

Director Garcia was confirmed by the Senate.

At the May 2024 meeting, there will be further information shared about code changes, including the elimination of the MHDS Commission and the role of the Commission over the next year.

# Planning for Future Meetings/Additional Discussion

There was a discussion on future planning with the Commission. Drafted topics for the Joint Meeting with the Iowa Integrated Health Planning and Advisory Council, to be held on Wednesday May 15<sup>th</sup>, 2024, include the following:

- MHDS Commission Overview and Update
- Iowa Integrated Health Planning and Advisory Council Overview and Update
- Iowa Developmental Disabilities Council Overview and Update
- Children's System State Board Update
- HHS/BH Update
- Legislative Panel Discussion
- Possible presentations
  - Behavioral Health Districts Update
  - Iowa Medicaid Home and Opportunity in Many Environments (HOME) Update

Drafted topics for the MHDS Commission Meeting to be held on Thursday May 16<sup>th</sup>, 2024, include the following:

- Review of Commission Duties
- Review of Open Meetings, Conflicts of Interest, and Ethical Considerations of Commission Membership
- Administrative Rule Red Tape Review
- Commission Planning Calendar Committee Assignments
- Planning for Future Meetings/Future of MHDS Commission

### **Public Comment**

There was an opportunity for public comment. Devon McClurken, Office of Recovery Services Director for NAMI Iowa, shared the Office of Recovery Services annual survey. There was no further public comment.

## **Adjourn**

Russell Wood entertained a motion to adjourn the meeting. Richard Whitaker motioned to adjourn and was seconded by Russell Wood. The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 10:40 am.

MHDS Commission

April 18<sup>th</sup>, 2024, Meeting Minutes

**DRAFT** 

Minutes respectfully submitted by Patti Manna