IOWA MENTAL HEALTH AND DISABILITY SERVICES (MHDS) COMMISSION 2024

MEMBER					
E-MAIL ADDRESS PHONE	ADDRESS	TERM	SERVING	REPRESENTS	
Betsy Akin Betsy.akin78@gmail.com	Corning, IA	05/01/20 to 04/30/22 05/01/22 to 04/30/25	1 st Term 2 nd Term	Parent or Guardian of an Individual Residing at a State Resource Center	
Sarah Berndt sberndt@henrycountyiowa.us	Wayland, IA	05/01/21 to 04/30/24	1 st Term	CPC Administrator	
Diane Brecht dbrecht@abbehealth.org	Central City, IA	05/01/20 to 04/30/23 05/01/23 to 04/30/26	1 st Term 2 nd Term	ID/DD Providers – Iowa Association of Community Providers	
Vacant				Service Advocate	
Linda Dettmann Idettman@dhs.state.ia.us	Grimes, IA	02/07/23 to 04/30/25	1 st Term	HHS Director's Nominee	
Mike Fidgeon Mike.fidgeon@hillcrest-fs.org	Dubuque, IA	05/01/23 to 04/30/25	1 st Term	Substance Abuse Service Provider; Behavioral Health Association	
Sue Gehling sue@classroomclinic.com	Breda, IA	02/18/22 to 4/30/24 5/1/2024 to 4/30/2024	1 st Term 2 nd Term	Provider of Children's MHDD Services	
Don Kass Citizenk2@msn.com	Remsen, IA	05/01/21 to 04/30/24	1 st Term	County Supervisor	
June Klein-Bacon iklein@biaia.org	Waterloo, IA	05/01/21 to 04/30/23 05/01/23 to 04/30/26	1 st Term 2 nd Term	Advocate – Brain Injury	
Kathy Norris Griffs4@wiatel.net	Moville, IA	05/01/23 to 04/30/26	1 st Term	HHS Director's Nominee	
Jack Seward isweward@co.washington.ia.us	Washington, IA	02/25/22 to 04/30/23 05/01/23 to 04/30/26	1 st Term 2 nd Term	County Supervisor	
Terri Steinke artworkstudio@msn.com	Urbandale, IA	03/17/23 to 04/30/25	1 st Term	Parent of a Child Consumer	
Dr. Kenneth Wayne Kennethwayne43@yahoo.com	Clive, IA	05/01/22 to 04/30/25	1 st Term	Veterans	
Vacant				Regional Administrator	
Vacant				Community Mental Health Center	
MEMBER					

Page 1 of 2 Revised Effective 4/30/2024

IOWA MENTAL HEALTH AND DISABILITY SERVICES (MHDS) COMMISSION 2024

E-MAIL ADDRESS PHONE	ADDRESS	TERM	SERVING	REPRESENTS
Senator Jeff Edler ieff.edler@legis.iowa.gov	State Center, IA	01/22/23 to 01/12/25	2 nd Term	Senate Majority Leader (non-voting)
Senator Sarah Trone Garriott Sarah.Trone.Garriott@legis.iowa.gov	Windsor Heights, IA	02/10/23 to 01/12/25	2 nd Term	Senate Minority Leader (non-voting)
Representative Megan Srinivas Megan.srinivas@legis.iowa.gov	Des Moines, IA	05/11/23 to 01/12/25	1 st Term	House Minority Leader (non-voting)

AFSCME Consumer County Supervisor

Page 2 of 2 Revised Effective 4/30/2024