## Integrated Health Planning and Advisory Council (I-PAC) Version 3-20-24

## Task #3 - Standing Committees (Per By-laws) and Workgroups

**Communication** among workgroup members can be attained via teleconference - phone calls, e-mail or a face to face meeting (arrange through Patti Manna 515-393-8088 <a href="mailto:pmanna@dhs.state.ia.us">pmanna@dhs.state.ia.us</a>)

Teleconference information or Zoom information will be sent to I-PAC members by Patti Manna.

When a chairperson of a committee or workgroup has been chosen by the committee or workgroup - members - please notify Teresa and Patti. The chairperson of the committee or workgroup will be responsible for initiating communication and setting meetings. Each committee or workgroup chairperson should be prepared to present a report at each Council meeting.

## <u>Committee/workgroup tasks and projects should reflect the purposes of the I-PAC and contribute toward system transformation and/or improvement:</u>

- 1) To participate in the development of and subsequently review substance abuse prevention, treatment, and recovery services and mental health plans for lowa provided to the Council pursuant to 42 USC 300X-4 (a) and to submit to the State of lowa any recommendations of the Council for modifications to the plans
- 2) To serve as an advocate for adults with serious mental illness, substance use disorder, children with serious emotional disturbance, substance use disorder, and other individuals with mental illnesses or emotional problems and/or substance use disorder;
- 3) To monitor, review, and evaluate, not less than once each year, the allocation and adequacy of mental health and substance prevention, treatment, and recovery services within Iowa

#### 1. Executive Committee (5)

Chairperson – Teresa Bomhoff Chair of Monitoring & Oversight Committee – Theresa Henderson

Vice Chairperson: Brad Richardson Secretary – Kyra Hawley Chair of Nominating Committee -Jen Gomez

Responsibilities: Meets 1st Friday of each month, will review conflict of interest statements

- 1) Establish the agenda for Council meetings.
- 2) Establish an annual calendar for Council meetings.
- 3) Report, on behalf of the council, to the federal gov't (CMHS, the Governor of Iowa and designated persons or organizations
- 4) Serve as liaison between the Council and other groups and organizations, including the State Mental Health Authority
- 5) Communicate with and regularly report to the Council.
- 6) Monitor the maintenance of records of Council business and deliver any official records to the Mental Health Authority to be maintained in perpetuity.
- 7) Perform other miscellaneous functions, as developed or designated by the Council
- 8) Establish ad hoc committees and workgroups as needed.

#### 2. Nominations Committee (5) -

Brad Richardson Jen Gomez -**Chair** Todd Lange Patricia Whitmarsh

Vienna Hoang

#### Responsibilities:

- 1. The Nominations Committee shall conduct outreach to diverse communities.
- 2. The Nominations Committee shall nominate persons for the offices of Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and Secretary for consideration by the entire Council.
- 3. The Nominations Committee shall be responsible for soliciting and reviewing applications for Council membership and making recommendations to the Council. A Council vote accepts or does not accept the application for membership.

#### 3. Monitoring and Oversight Committee (5)

Todd Noack Theresa Henderson, **Chair** 

Jessica Goltz Kyra Hawley

Rachel Cecil

**Responsibilities**: Meets 2<sup>nd</sup> Thurs 8 months of the year. They do not meet in July, August, Nov and December.

- (1) Review and comment on work plans submitted by contractors;
- (2) Review and comment on budget expenditures made pursuant to the Combined Block Grant Application;
- (3) Review and comment on procedural issues connected with the Combined Block Grant Application;
- (4) Monitor and comment on the state of the mental health system in Iowa; and report or make recommendations for action to the full Council; and
- (5) Monitor and comment on the outcomes of recommendations adopted by the full Council.

The 3 Committees are limited to 5 voting members as per the bylaws. Others can attend the committee meetings but cannot vote. Workgroups do not have a limit on the # of members who can participate and vote on the issues of the workgroup.

Orientation workgroup- Todd Lange, Todd Noack, Member/Orientation packets Jen Riley

Mentoring new members

Jan each year – Review council member responsibilities

#### **Block Grant Education workgroup**

Theresa Henderson, Christina Maulsby, Monica Van Horn Teach what the Block Grant contains in 3 sessions Jan, May, August

### Steering Committee for Strategic Plan

Teresa Bomhoff Brad Richardson Kyra Hawley Theresa Henderson Jen Gomez Todd Lange Mary McKinnell

Will meet in Jan, May, August

The steering committee will meet again prior to the Sept Council meeting – to evaluate effectiveness of strategic plan, the changes in roster, Task 11 of the strategic plan – any changes needed?

#### Name & Workgroups workgroup-

Michael Kauffman, Kristin Rooff, Lorien Harker, Brad Richardson

Their work is done. No longer an active group.

## Preparing Block Grant for SUD/Mental Health

- √ Teresa Bomhoff
- ✓ Brad Richardson
- √ Theresa Henderson
- √ Jim Donoghue
- ✓ Monica Van Horn
- ✓ Todd Lange
- ✓ Todd Noack

# Bylaws /Policy/Procedures Workgroup

Michael Kaufman, Chairperson Jim Donoghue

- A. The Executive Committee shall create and appoint workgroups to carry out any necessary Council business or activities that are not expressly provided for in these bylaws.
- B. Workgroups shall reflect the adopted priorities of the Council and may change accordingly.
- C. Members of workgroups shall be responsible for setting and attending meetings, if necessary, beyond any workgroup meeting prior to a Council meeting.
- D. Workgroups shall prepare and present to the full Council their business or activities at regular intervals as directed by the Executive Committee.

### Workgroups suggested - which ones do you want to volunteer for?

Section 5. Standing Committees or Workgroups in General

A. Council members shall each volunteer to be part of at least one standing committee or workgroup.

The Executive Committee may appoint uncommitted members to appropriate committees or workgroups.

Each workgroup will need to provide a report on their progress at each Council meeting

If no volunteers for a workgroup, it will be tabled for possible inclusion next year.

Children's Issues Jessica Goltz Christina Maulsby Patricia Whitmarsh Hannah Olson	Cayleen Mesecher Linda Dettman	Substance Use/Misuse Todd Lange Edward Wollner Brianna Steffe Dr. Shaad Swim	Public Safety
Older Adults Kristin Rooff Teresa Bomhoff Kyra Hawley Joel Wulff		CCBHC – Service Alignment Megan Marsh Todd Lange Mary McKinnell	Possible focus Supreme Court Justice speech Multiple trans bills in legislature Mental health courts (4 in Iowa – has the governor put a moratorium on any new specialty courts
Strategic Planning – public facing  Teresa Bomhoff Todd Noack (suggested a tri-fold for marketing)  Michael Kaufman  Kristin Rooff			Re-write Chapter 229 commitment law LWV report – Bringing Economic Justice to the Justice System CIT training for Police/Fire/EMS Kills by police
Public engagement at health fairs, schools, universities Public notification of our name change after March meeting and 2 <sup>nd</sup> reading of bylaws done Advocate and be a part of the lobbyist systemhave to wait until after March 20 meeting to move forwardneed to change our name at the lobbyist website and start making declarations Team decisions on declaration decisions			