§1915(i) HCBS State Plan Services

State: Iowa Attachment 4.19-B TN: IA-24-0008 Effective Approved: Supersedes: IA-22-0016

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates

Services Provided Under Section 1915(i) of the Social Security Act. For each optional service, describe the methods and standards used to set the associated payment rate. (Check each that applies, and describe methods and standards to set rates):

HCBS Case Management

Providers of case management services shall be reimbursed at cost. Providers are reimbursed throughout each fiscal year on the basis of a projected interim payment rate for a 15-minute unit of service based on each provider's reasonable and proper costs of operation. Reasonable and proper costs of operation are identified pursuant to federally accepted reimbursement principles (OMB A-87 principles).

Page 17

The methodology for determining the reasonable and proper cost for service provision assumes the following:

- The indirect administrative costs shall be limited to 23 percent of other costs. Other costs include: professional staff – direct salaries, other – direct salaries, benefits and payroll taxes associated with direct salaries, mileage and automobile rental, agency vehicle expense, automobile insurance, and other related transportation.
- Mileage shall be reimbursed at a rate no greater than the state employee rate.
- Costs of operation shall include only those costs that pertain to the provision of services which are authorized under rule 441—90.3(249A).

Interim payments are subject to annual retrospective cost settlement based on submission of actual costs of operation and service utilization data by the provider on Form 470-0664., Financial and Statistical Report submitted by providers ninety days after each fiscal year end. The cost settlement represents the difference between the amount received by the provider during the year for covered services and the amount supported by the actual costs of doing business, determined in accordance with an accepted method of cost apportionment.

For dates of services on or after July 1, 2018, HCBS case management services shall be reimbursed by fee schedule.

$\overline{\mathbf{V}}$ **HCBS** Home-Based Habilitation

For services provided on July 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013, home-based habilitation services will be reimbursed according to the Iowa Plan for Behavioral Health contractor providerspecific cost based fee schedule rate without reconciliation. The Agency's fees were set as of July 1, 2013 and are effective for dates of service provided on and after that date through December 31, 2013.

For dates of services on or after January 1, 2014, providers shall be reimbursed a prospective statewide rate. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of home-based habilitation. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2024, and is effective for services provided on or after that date.

All rates are published on the agency's website at: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/welcome-iowamedicaid/policies-rules-and-regulations/covered-services-rates-and-payments/fee-schedules

State: Iowa TN: IA-24-0008 §1915(i) HCBS State Plan Services

Attachment 4.19-B Page 18 Supersedes: IA-22-0016

Effective Approved:

\square	HCBS Day Habilitation
	For services provided on July 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013, day habilitation services will be reimbursed according to the Iowa Plan for Behavioral Health contractor provider-specific cost based fee schedule rate without reconciliation. The Agency's fees were set as of July 1, 2013 and are effective for dates of service provided on and after that date through December 31, 2013.
	For dates of services on or after January 1, 2014, providers shall be reimbursed a prospective statewide rate. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of home-based habilitation. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2024 and is effective for services provided on or after that date.
	The rates for Day habilitation are located at 441 IAC 79.1(2) https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/07-05-2017.441.79.1.pdf
	HCBS Behavioral Habilitation
	HCBS Educational Services
\square	HCDG D
V	For services provided on July 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013, prevocational habilitation services will be reimbursed according to the Iowa Plan for Behavioral Health contractor provider-specific cost based fee schedule rate without reconciliation. The Agency's fees were set as of July 1, 2013 and are effective for dates of service provided on and after that date through December 31, 2013. For dates of services on or after January 1, 2014, providers shall be reimbursed a prospective statewide rate. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of home-based habilitation. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2024, and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/welcome-iowa-medicaid/policies-rules-and-regulations/covered-services-rates-and-payments/fee-schedules
\square	HCBS Supported Employment Habilitation
	For services provided on July 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013, supported employment habilitation services will be reimbursed according to the Iowa Plan for Behavioral Health contractor provider-specific cost based fee schedule rate without reconciliation. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2013 and is effective for dates of service provided on and after that date through December 31, 2013. For dates of services on or after January 1, 2014, providers shall be reimbursed a prospective statewide rate. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of supported employment habilitation. The
	agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2024 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency's website at: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/welcome-iowa-medicaid/policies-rules-and-regulations/covered-services-rates-and-payments/fee-schedules