

Early Childhood Iowa State Board: Meeting Minutes

March 1, 2024; 9:00am to 12:00pm

Zoom participation and Host room B100 in the Grimes Building

Attendance:

Mr. Aaron Johnson (Chair)	Х	Ms. Mayra Martinez	Х
Ms. Kelly Garcia/Janee Harvey (HHS designee)		Ms. Barb Merrill (vice chair)	
Ms. Angela Anderson	X	Ms. Mary Petersen	X
Ms. Paige Smothers	Х	Mr. Dave Arens	Х
Ms. Durham/Ms. Nichole Hansen (IEDA)	X	Mr. Ryan Howard	Х
		Ms. Jennifer Banta	Х
Mr. Michael Linnenbrink	X	Ms. Beth Townsend/Ms. Kathy Leggett (IWD)	X
Ms. Angela Lensch		Director Snow/Dr. Kimberly Villotti (IDOE)	
Staff		EX-Officio/Non-voting	
Amanda Winslow	X	Rep. Michael Bergan	X
Dr. Ann Lebo	Х	Rep. Tracey Ehlert	
James Olson	X	Sen. Cindy Winckler	
Marianne Rodrigues	X	Sen. Lynn (Kevin) Evans	X

Guests: Annette Koster, Amy Grunewaldt Alison Buckallew, Abigail Degenhardt, Carrie Kube, Cassidy LeCroy, Cindy D., Debra Schrader, Erin Monaghan, Ginger Knisley, Jalen Richman, Jenny Robinson, Mary Kay Wirth, Sherri Hunt, Tammy Wetjen-Kesterson, Tasha Beghtol, Diane Martens, Peggy Sellnau, Colette Shepard, Sarah Vanwyk, Alisha Dietzenbach, Jessie Hansen, Barb Bremner, Brenda Loop, Heather Rouse, Kaitlyn Wintermeyer, Sheri Penney, Amy M, Brenda Bera, Jen Corne, Dawn Sickelka, Patricia Russmann, Travis Hayenga, Jordan Morse, Lynn Bopes, Gaylen Mercer, Linda Cavazos, Chris McClimon, Michele Cullen, Heather Rouse, Matt Ohman, Jacki McCracken, Melissa Tucker, Mikka Mills, Christine Gradert, Amanda McKee, Sarah Trone Garriott, Tiffany (no last name), Laurie Nash

Welcome/Introductions

Mr. Johnson called the meeting to order at 9:00 am with quorum. No changes in the agenda.

Public Comment: No comments were shared.

Action Item: Consent Agenda Item:

Mr. Johnson asked for approval of the agenda, meeting minutes from the January 5, 2024 board meeting, and the Administrative Update.

Motion: Approve the Consent Agenda Items and Agenda Amendment.

Made By: Dave Arens

Seconded By: Michael Linnenbrink

The motion was approved unanimously.

Action Item: Board Committee Vice Chair Recommendation

Several board members have terms ending April 30, 2024 and were recognized for their service.

Board members who have served two, three-year terms: Mary Peterson and Angela Lensch;

three-year terms: Barb Merrill, Ryan Howard and Dawn Oliver-Wiand. The following board members renew for one more three-year term: Dave Arens and Mayra Martenez.

In response to our Vice Chair, Barb Merrill's term ending, a request for Vice Chair nominations was made at our January 5 board meeting. Barb Merrill and Dave Arens represented a committee for vice chair nominations. Dave Arens shared the nomination of Mike Linnenbrink to fulfill the Vice Chair role effective April 30, 2024.

Motion: Recognize the committee's recommendation to nominate Mr. Mike Linnenbrink to serve as the ECI State Board Vice Chair, effective April 30, 2024.

Made By: Kimberly Villotti Seconded By: Barb Merrill

The motion was approved unanimously.

Action Item: SW Iowa Waiver to Request New Boundaries

Aaron Johnson asked Amanda Winslow to provide an overview of southwest Iowa's local request for a boundary change. This request requires board action according to Iowa Code 256I.4. Amanda Winslow was joined by Dave Arens, Jennifer Banta, and Mike Linnenbrink who served as a committee of the board to consider a formal request from the Thriving Family Alliance. Thriving Families has been the coordinating point for each board, overseeing the administrative work for all nine counties.

For state fiscal year 2025, the committee recommends the \$30,000 base remains for each previously existing board, now making a new ECI area. The TA team will provide technical assistance to ensure representation of nine county areas remains equitable, all counties have a board member to represent their space and a new community plan and designation cycle in 2025.

Motion: Jennifer Banta recognized the committee's recommendation to grant the waiver for Thriving Families Alliance to serve as the administrator for the new ECI boundary area, inclusive of Harrison, Monona, Shelby, Pottawattamie, Cass, Mills, Montgomery, Fremont, and Page counties. Technical assistance will be provided by the ECI TA Team on an on-going basis through FY25 as the area works to fulfill requirements of a local ECI area board. Jennifer offered a formal recommendation to move all recognized counties to one area board.

Outcome: Passed

Action Item: Tool O- Adding direct & indirect service types for ECI areas to choose to invest in for their communities

Aaron Johnson asked Amanda Winslow to provide an overview of the purpose of Tool O. She was joined by ECI Area Directors who helped draft the following new service types: Amanda Winslow- supportive housing; Erin Monaghan- essential needs; Jordan Morse - coordinated intake; Tasha Beghtol - wage enhancements; Amy Grunewaldt - employer incentive.

Tool O - ECI statewide performance measures and service types local boards can choose to invest in with their local dollars, aligned with five legislative results areas and strategic plan.

Motion: To approve Tool O as presented

Made By: Dave A

Seconded By: Paige S

Board Discussion: Aaron commented this was the biggest overhaul of tool 0 he's seen in his time.

The motion was approved unanimously.

Informational Item: Local Story- Eastern Iowa Collaboration

Aaron Johnson asked Diane Martens, ECI Area Director for Scott County Kids to share a local story from eastern Iowa. She was joined by Christine Gradert, Linda Cavazos, and Mikka Mills.

Informational Item: DMARC Hunger Simulation

Aaron Johnson introduced Rev. Sarah Trone Garriott, Coordinator of Interfaith Engagement for DMARC. Rev. Sarah Trone Garriott guided the board through a virtual hunger simulation. This aligns with new service types reviewed earlier in Tool O.

Informational Item: ECI Admin Update & 2024 ECI State Board Meeting Dates

Aaron Johnson asked Amanda Winslow to share highlights from the administrative update that was distributed via email to the ECI State Board members, ECI Area Directors, and stakeholders on Tuesday, February 27, 2024. The board packet documents are available on the new HHS website, Advisory Groups: https://hhs.iowa.gov/about/advisory-groups/eci-state-board

Amanda also provided an update on board membership needs and introduced a request for a bylaws committee to be formed.

If there are any questions about the posted administrative update, please email Amanda Winslow and Ann Lebo.

Adjournment

Next meeting - June 7, 2024

This meeting is being planned as a virtual meeting. A listening space will be provided but all attendance is encouraged to be virtual.

Mr. Johnson asked for a motion to adjourn. A motion was made by Dave Arens and seconded by Ryan Howard. Mr. Johnson adjourned the meeting at 11:44 am.

Respectfully Submitted, Dr. Ann Lebo

Approved by the ECI State Board on 06/21/2024