

Early Childhood Iowa State Board: Meeting Minutes

June 21, 2024; 9:00am to 12:00pm

Zoom participation and Host room ICN in the Grimes Building

Attendance:

Mr. Aaron Johnson (Chair)	Х	Ms. Mayra Martinez	х
Ms. Kelly Garcia/Janee Harvey (HHS designee)	х	Ms. Mary Petersen	
Ms. Beth Townsend/Ms. Kathy Leggett (IWD)		Mr. Dave Arens	х
Director Snow/Dr. Kimberly Villotti (IDOE)	x	Ms. Jennifer Banta	х
Ms. Durham/Ms. Nichole Hansen (IEDA)	х	Ms. Angela Anderson	х
Mr. Brook Rosenberg	х	Ms. Paige Smothers	х
Mr. Michael Linnenbrink	х	Ms. Angela Lensch	
Staff		EX-Officio/Non-voting	
Amanda Winslow	X	Rep. Michael Bergan	
Dr. Ann Lebo	X	Rep. Tracey Ehlert	
James Olson		Sen. Cindy Winckler	
Marianne Rodrigues	Х	Sen. Lynn (Kevin) Evans	

Guests: Abigail Degenhardt, Amy Blanchard, Amy McLaughlin, Annette Koster, Babara Bremner, Brenda Loop, Carrie Kube, Debra Schrader, Elizabeth Stanek, Erin Monaghan, Gaylyn Mercer, Ginger Knisley, Jaci Miller, Jacob Appel, Jenny Robinson, Kerri Hall, Laurie Kristiansen, Mary Kay Wirth, Pat McReynolds, Sherri Hunt, Tammy Wetjen-Kesterson, Tasha Beghtol

Welcome/Introductions

Mr. Johnson called the meeting to order at 9:00 am with quorum. No changes in the agenda.

Public Comment: No comments were shared.

Action Item: Consent Agenda Item:

Mr. Johnson asked for approval of the agenda, meeting minutes from the March 1, 2024 board meeting, the Administrative Update, and board meeting dates for 2025. The dates will be as follows: January 3, March 7, June 6, September 5, November 7.

Motion: Approve the Consent Agenda Items, Administrative Update, and board meeting dates.

Made By: Jennifer Banta Seconded By: Dave Arens

The motion was approved unanimously.

Action Item: Designation Cycle Approvals

Aaron Johnson asked Amanda Winslow to provide an overview of the designation process and summaries of the ECI areas due for designation approvals. TA team members meet with community partners and local boards. There was discussion on the value of having board members also potentially sit in to strengthen the state boards connection with local area boards.

Designation cycle areas listed below.

- Jasper, Marion, Poweshiek (JMP)
- 4 Counties for Kids (Appanoose, Davis, Lucas, Monroe)
- Early Childhood North Central Iowa (Emmet, Kossuth, Palo Alto, Winnebago)
- Quad Counties 4 Kids (Adams, Ringgold, Union, Taylor)
- Linn County ECI Area
- Buena Vista, Crawford, Sac (BVCS) ECI Area
- Mahaska and Wapello ECI Area

Made By: Dave Arens

Seconded By: Brook Rosenberg

The motion was approved unanimously.

Action Item: FY25 Use of ECI Professional Development Funds

Aaron Johnson asked Amanda Winslow to provide an overview of the purpose of the ECI professional development funds and the proposed use of these funds in the upcoming state fiscal year.

Amanda shared a presentation on the FY25 professional development funds. These funds must support an effort that can lead to statewide growth. She shared the strategic plan and the implementation staff.

We need to continue to strengthen our partnerships. Amanda also shared infant and early childhood mental health endorsement data. EC-PBIS partnership with IDOE and HHS has been amazing. The value is that we have multiple pieces of our EC system embedded in this work

Made By: Page Smothers

Seconded By: Angela Anderson

The motion was approved unanimously.

Action Item: Tool O Statewide Performance Measures - Updates

Aaron Johnson asked Dr. Ann Lebo to provide an overview of the additions to Tool O. Tool O provides details of the Statewide Performance Measures. The board reviewed and approved Tool O during our last meeting, March 1. Since then, we've worked with ECI Area Directors to identify logistics for data collection. Adjustments to data elements include supporting more wage enhancement scenarios for the child care workforce and adding non-profit status/community-based organization measures to the new service types.

Made By: Dave Arens

Seconded By: Brook Rosenberg

The motion was approved unanimously.

Informational Item: Bylaws

Approved by the ECI State Board on 9/6/24

Aaron Jonson introduced the bylaws committee work. Mike Linnenbrink shared that a committee was requested and the following board members participated: Dr. Kimberly Villotti, Jennifer Banta, Brook Rosenberg, and Mike Linnenbrink. The committee met on April 26 and May 20 and are now presenting a draft version for review of the board.

Within this version, there is language to more clearly articulate the advisory role of ECI to the federal Head Start Act and the federal Child Care Development Fund (CCDF). As an early childhood system, ECI convenes public and private stakeholders to inform strategic plan development, implementation, and alignment with system priorities. Advisory groups are formed to work through the details needed to operationalize the shared system priorities.

These bylaws present an overview of the work of the board and early childhood system. Additional process and procedure documents will guide the advisory groups. Feedback on this draft is requested. Please send your feedback to Amanda and Ann. They will inform our committee. It is the intention to take action for approval of an updated version of bylaws during our September 6 board meeting.

Informational Item: ECI Admin Update & 2024 ECI State Board Meeting Dates

Aaron Johnson asked Amanda Winslow to share highlights from the administrative update that were distributed via email to the ECI State Board members, ECI Area Directors, and stakeholders in advance of the meeting.

If there are any questions about the posted administrative update, please email Amanda Winslow and Ann Lebo.

Adjournment

Next meeting - September 6, 2024

Mr. Johnson asked for a motion to adjourn. A motion was made by Brook Rosenberg and seconded by Dave Arens. Mr. Johnson adjourned the meeting at 10:10 am.

Respectfully Submitted, Dr. Ann Lebo