LOCATION: Zoom Meeting TIME: 9:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.

MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:

Betsy Akin Diane Brecht Linda Dettmann Mike Fidgeon Sue Gehling June Klein-Bacon Kellee McCrory Kathy Norris Rep. Megan Srinivas

MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:

Sen. Jeff Edler	Jack Seward, Jr.
Don Kass	Terri Steinke
Sen. Sarah Trone Garriott	Dr. Kenneth Wayne

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Allison Andrews **Ashley Banes** Sarah Berndt Caylyn Bishop **Teresa Bomhoff** Lynee Burken **Rachel Cecil** Anne Crotty **Carlyn Crowe** Jennifer Day **Charlene Joens** Don Kass Todd Lange Dree LaToure Patti Manna Devon McClurken Cayleen Mesecher

Brock Milligan Kathy Norris Hannah Olson Lydia Olson-Kelley Katie Peck **Cheryl Plank** Brad Richardson Jen Rilev **Chelsey Scanlan** Flora A. Schmidt Megan Srinivas Shaad Swim Monica Van Horn William Veltri Elizabeth Wolfe Danielle Workman Joel Wulf

Materials Referenced:

MHDS Commission 2024 MCO Executive Summary FINAL DRAFT MHDS_Commission_2024_Biennial_Report_FINAL DRAFT MHDS_Commission_September_19_2024_Meeting_Minutes_DRAFT

Welcome and Introductions

Diane Brecht, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:31am and led introductions. Quorum was established with 7 voting members attending virtually. Diane reviewed conflicts of interest and informed the Commissioners to disclose any conflicts of interest on voting items.

MHDS Commission October 17, 2024, Meeting Minutes

DRAFT

*Review and Vote on Approval of Meeting Minutes

Diane Brecht inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the September 18th, 2024, meeting minutes. Hearing none, Diane Brecht entertained a motion to approve the meeting minutes as submitted. Betsy Akin motioned to approve and was seconded by Kellee McCrory. There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

*Review and Vote on Approval of MCO Executive Summary

Diane Brecht opened a discussion of the MHDS Commission 2024 Managed Care Organizations (MCO) Executive Summary letter. Diane Brecht shared that the letter would include recommendations from the Commission to be submitted to the Iowa Medicaid director. The Commission reviewed the letter and suggested edits and additions. Diane Brecht entertained a motion to approve the letter with the edits and additions. Mike Fidgeon motioned to approve the MHDS Commission 2024 MCO Executive Summary, Sue Gehling seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

*Review of Biennial Report

Diane Brecht opened a discussion of the MHDS Commission 2024 Biennial Report. Diane Brecht shared the three Commission committees had reviewed sections of the report and each provided recommendations to the General Assembly in the Executive Summary section. The Commission reviewed the report and suggested edits and additions to the Executive Summary and Conclusion sections. Diane Brecht informed the Commission that the final draft of the report would be distributed for review and there would be an opportunity to vote on approval of the report at the December 5th, 2024, Commission meeting.

Planning for Future Meetings/Additional Discussion

There was a discussion on future planning

Public Comment

There was an opportunity for public comment.

Teresa Bomhoff noted that there have been updates to the mental health parity act, including an update to the Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act (MHPAEA) which focuses on provider network rules. Teresa Bomhoff shared she feels the insurance division has been unwilling to address this issue and will need direction from the legislature.

Theresa Bomhoff shared that the Iowa Integrated Health Planning and Advisory Council (I-PAC) has two vacancies for family members of adults with Serious Mental Illness (SMI), who are also non-providers.

Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 10:45 am.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Patti Manna