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Vaccines: Your best 
shot at prevention.
If you have questions about vaccines,  
ask your healthcare provider.  

FOR ADDITIONAL  
INFORMATION ON VACCINES  
AND DISEASES, VISIT

•  hhs.iowa.gov/public-health/
immunization

• www.immunize.org
• www.cdc.gov/vaccines
• www.aap.org

LESS THAN 4 MONTHS OF AGE
This chart contains the minimum 
requirements for participation in 
licensed child care. Routine vaccination 
begins at 2 months of age.
4 THROUGH 5 MONTHS OF AGE
1 dose Diphtheria/Tetanus/Pertussis, 
Polio, Hib, Pneumococcal
6 THROUGH 11 MONTHS OF AGE
2 doses Diphtheria/Tetanus/
Pertussis, Polio, Hib, Pneumococcal
12 THROUGH 18 MONTHS OF AGE
3 doses Diphtheria/Tetanus/
Pertussis
2 doses Polio
2 doses Hib OR 1 dose received at 15 
months of age or older.
3 doses Pneumococcal OR 2 doses if 
both doses were received at 12 months 
of age or older.
19 THROUGH 23 MONTHS OF AGE
4 doses Diphtheria/Tetanus/
Pertussis
3 doses Polio
3 doses Hib if a dose was received on 
or after 12 months of age OR 2 doses 
if the first dose was received on or after 
12 months of age OR 1 dose if the 
dose was received at 15 months of age 
or older.

09/2024

REQUIRED IMMUNIZATIONS 
LICENSED CHILD CARE

REQUIRED IMMUNIZATIONS 
LICENSED CHILD CARE

19 THROUGH 23 MONTHS OF AGE
4 doses Pneumococcal if a dose 
was received on or after 12 months of 
age; OR  3 doses if 1 or more doses 
were received on or after 12 months of 
age; OR 2 doses if both doses were 
received at 12 months of age or older.
1 dose Measles/Rubella
1 dose Varicella OR a reliable history 
of natural disease.
24 MONTHS OF AGE AND OLDER
4 doses Diphtheria/Tetanus/
Pertussis 
3 doses Polio
3 doses Hib if a dose was received on 
or after 12 months of age; OR 2 doses 
if the first dose was received on or after 
12 months of age; OR 1 dose if the 
dose was received at 15 months of age 
or older. Hib vaccine is not required for 
persons 60 months of age or older.
4 doses Pneumococcal if a dose 
was received on or after 12 months of 
age; OR 3 doses if 1 or more doses 
were received on or after 12 months 
of age; OR 2 doses if the first dose 
was received on or after 12 months 
of age; OR 1 dose if the dose was 
received on or after 24 months of age. 
Pneumococcal vaccine is not required 
for persons 60 months of age or older.
1 dose Measles/Rubella
1 dose Varicella OR a reliable history 
of natural disease.

Immunize for a better life!



 Proof of Immunization

IOWA’S IMMUNIZATION LAW
This brochure outlines the 
minimum immunization 
requirements for a child to attend 
licensed child care in Iowa. These 
requirements are based on Iowa 
law and the recommendations 
from the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices (ACIP) 
and are minimum requirements to 
maintain a healthy child in group 
settings. 
Iowa’s immunization requirements 
apply to ALL individuals attending 
licensed child care centers in Iowa.

CERTIFICATE OF IMMUNIZATION
A Certificate of Immunization must 
be given to the licensed child care 
center the child will attend. To be valid, 
the Certificate of Immunization must 
include the name and birth date of 
the child, the dates required vaccines 
were received and must be signed by 
a physician (MD or DO), physician’s 
assistant, nurse or certified medical 
assistant.

PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATE OF 
IMMUNIZATION
A Provisional Certificate of 
Immunization may be granted to a 
student transferring from one U.S. 
school to another or for a child who has 
begun, but not complete the required 

immunizations for their age. To be eligible 
for provisional enrollment, the child must 
receive at least one dose of each of the 
required vaccines for their age. The next 
dose of required vaccine should be given 
as soon as possible but no longer than 60 
days from the previous dose(s). If at the 
end of 60 days, the child has not received 
the next required dose(s) of vaccine, the 
child cannot attend licensed child care.

MEDICAL EXEMPTION
A medical exemption may be granted 
if a healthcare provider believes 
immunization(s) would be harmful 
to the child. To be valid, the Medical 
Certificate of Immunization Exemption 
must be completed and signed by an 
Iowa licensed physician (MD or DO), 
physician’s assistant or nurse practitioner. 

RELIGIOUS EXEMPTION
A religious exemption may be granted 
if immunizations conflict with a genuine 
and sincere religious belief and is not 
based on scientific, medical or personal 
opinion. To be valid, the Religious 
Certificate of Immunization Exemption 
must be completed with the name and 
birth date of the child and signed by 
the individual or the child’s parent or 
guardian. 

ENFORCEMENT
Children who do not have a Certificate 
of Immunization, Provisional Certificate 
of Immunization or Certificate of 
Immunization Exemption on the 
first day cannot attend the licensed 
childcare center.

IMMUNIZATION RECORDS
It is important to maintain immunization 
records in a safe place. Proof of 
immunizations may be necessary 
throughout life. The Iowa Department 
of Health and Human Services 
does not maintain historical paper 
immunization records. However, 
immunization records can be entered 
into Iowa’s Immunization Registry 
Information System (IRIS). Talk with 
your healthcare provider about entering 
immunizations into IRIS and obtaining 
copies of your records.
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