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IOWA’S IMMUNIZATION LAW
This brochure outlines the minimum 
immunization requirements for 
a child to attend school in Iowa. 
These requirements are based on 
Iowa law and the recommendations 
from the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices (ACIP) 
and are minimum requirements to 
maintain a healthy child in group 
settings. 
Iowa’s immunization requirements 
apply to ALL individuals attending 
schools in Iowa, including those who 
are home schooled.

Vaccines: Your best 
shot at prevention.
If you have questions about vaccines,  
ask your healthcare provider.  

FOR ADDITIONAL  
INFORMATION ON VACCINES  
AND DISEASES, VISIT

•  hhs.iowa.gov/public-health/
immunization

• www.immunize.org
• www.cdc.gov/vaccines
• www.aap.org
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School 
Immunization 
Requirements

Immunize for a better life!



CERTIFICATE OF IMMUNIZATION
A Certificate of Immunization must be 
given to the school the child will attend. To 
be valid, the Certificate of Immunization 
must include the name and birth date of 
the child, the dates required vaccines 
were received and must be signed by 
a physician (MD or DO), physician’s 
assistant, nurse or certified medical 
assistant.

PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATE OF 
IMMUNIZATION
A Provisional Certificate of Immunization 
may be granted to a student transferring 
from one U.S. school to another or for a 
child who has begun, but not complete the 
required immunizations for their age. To be 
eligible for provisional enrollment, the child 
must receive at least one dose of each of 
the required vaccines for their age. The 
next dose of required vaccine should be 
given as soon as possible but no longer 
than 60 days from the previous dose(s). 
If at the end of 60 days, the child has 
not received the next required dose(s) of 
vaccine, the child cannot attend school.

MEDICAL EXEMPTION
A medical exemption may be granted 
if a healthcare provider believes 
immunization(s) would be harmful to the 
child. To be valid, the Medical Certificate 
of Immunization Exemption must be 
completed and signed by an Iowa licensed 
physician (MD or DO), physician’s 
assistant or nurse practitioner. 

RELIGIOUS EXEMPTION
A religious exemption may be granted 
if immunizations conflict with a genuine 
and sincere religious belief and is not 
based on scientific, medical or personal 
opinion. To be valid, the Religious 
Certificate of Immunization Exemption 
must be completed with the name and 
birth date of the child and signed by 
the individual or the child’s parent or 
guardian. 

ENFORCEMENT
Students without a Certificate of 
Immunization, Provisional Certificate 
of Immunization or Certificate of 
Immunization Exemption cannot attend 
school on the first day.

IMMUNIZATION RECORDS
It is important to maintain immunization 
records in a safe place. Proof of 
immunizations may be necessary 
throughout life. The Iowa Department of 
Health and Human Services does not 
maintain historical paper immunization 
records. However, immunization records 
can be entered into Iowa’s Immunization 
Registry Information System (IRIS). 
Talk with your healthcare provider about 
entering immunizations into IRIS and 
obtaining copies of your records.

COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES
School immunization requirements do 
not apply to colleges and universities. 
Contact the college or university directly 
for specific immunization requirements.

 Proof of ImmunizationREQUIRED IMMUNIZATIONS 
ELEMENTARY/SECONDARY SCHOOL

DIPHTHERIA/TETANUS/PERTUSSIS
5 doses with at least 1 dose received 
on or after 4 years of age; OR 4 doses 
if the fourth dose was received on or 
after 4 years of age; AND 

1 dose of tetanus/diphtheria/acellular 
pertussis-containing vaccine (Tdap) 
received on or after 10 years of age for 
applicants in grades 7 and above.

POLIO
4 doses with at least 1 dose received 
on or after 4 years of age; OR 3 doses 
if the third dose was received on or after 
4 years of age.

MEASLES/RUBELLA
2 doses

HEPATITIS B
3 doses

VARICELLA
2 doses; OR a reliable history of natural 
disease.

MENINGOCOCCAL
1 dose received on or after 10 years of 
age for applicants in grades 7 through 
11; AND 
2 doses with 1 dose received on or 
after 16 years of age for applicants in 
grade 12; OR 1 dose for applicants in 
grade 12 if the dose was received on or 
after 16 years of age.




