LOCATION: Zoom Meeting TIME: 9:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.

# MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:

Diane Brecht

Linda Dettmann

Mike Fidgeon

Sue Gehling

Kellee McCrory

Kathy Norris

Jack Seward, Jr.

Dr. Kenneth Wayne

June Klein-Bacon

### MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:

Betsy Akin Terri Steinke

Sen. Jeff Edler Rep. Megan Srinivas

Sen. Sarah Trone Garriott

### **OTHER ATTENDEES:**

Rob Aiken Jan Heidemann Darci Alt Torie Keith Theresa Armstrong Todd Lange Sarah Berndt Dree LaToure Teresa Bomhoff Julie Maas Jody Bridgewater Patti Manna Lisa Bringle Caitlin Owens Lynee Burken Christina Schark Carlyn Crowe Flora A. Schmidt Wade Eperts Stephanie Schmidt Maggie Ferguson Ryanne Wood

Alison Hauser

#### **Materials Referenced:**

MHDS Commission - Crisis System Design 12.5.24

BH-ADS MHDS Commission Dec 2024

MHDS Commission October 17, 2024 Meeting Minutes DRAFT

Joint I-PAC and MHDS Commission October 17, 2024 Meeting Minutes DRAFT

MHDS Commission 2024 Biennial Report FINAL DRAFT

2025 MHDS Commission Meeting Schedule

# **Welcome and Introductions**

Diane Brecht, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:35am and led introductions. Quorum was established with 9 voting members attending virtually. Diane reviewed conflicts of interest and informed the Commissioners to disclose any conflicts of interest on voting items.

<sup>\*</sup>Review and Vote on Approval of Meeting Minutes

Diane Brecht inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the October 17<sup>th</sup>, 2024, meeting minutes. Hearing none, Diane Brecht entertained a motion to approve the meeting minutes as submitted. Mike Fidgeon motioned to approve and was seconded by Sue Gehling. There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

Diane Brecht inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the October 17<sup>th</sup>, 2024, joint meeting minutes. Hearing none, Diane Brecht entertained a motion to approve the meeting minutes as submitted. Sue Gehling motioned to approve and was seconded by Mike Fidgeon. There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

# \*Review and Vote on Approval of the MHDS Commission 2024 Biennial Report

Diane Brecht opened a discussion of the MHDS Commission 2024 Biennial Report. The Commission reviewed the report and suggested edits and additions. Diane Brecht entertained a motion to approve the report with the edits and additions. Mike Fidgeon motioned to approve the MHDS Commission 2024 Biennial Report, Sue Gehling seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

# **HHS Crisis System Development – Julie Maas**

Julie Maas, Suicide Prevention Director, Iowa Health and Human Services (HHS), shared the scope of work as a result of an Iowa HHS contract with Health Management Associates (HMA) to provide technical assistance and recommendations for Iowa's crisis continuum of care with the goal of developing a behavioral health crisis system. The National Guidelines for Behavioral Health Crisis Care – A Best Practice Toolkit published by the Substance Use and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), which describes three core pillars of a comprehensive and effective crisis continuum was taken into consideration. Iowa's current crisis response continuum was evaluated in each of the three core pillars: someone to talk to, someone to respond, and a place to go. Best practices and Iowa gaps, key findings and recommendations in each area were discussed. Next steps include reviewing the executive summary with crisis providers, providing a webinar with opportunity for feedback on the report, and developing a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document.

# Behavioral Health and Disability Services - Theresa Armstrong

Theresa Armstrong, Behavioral Health Division, Iowa HHS, provided an overview of the changes occurring with the Iowa HHS Behavioral Health and Disability Services.

As a result of the passing of House File 2673, the work and funding for mental health and addictive disorders will be combined into a Behavioral Health Service System, the management of disability services will be transferred from the local Mental Health and Disability Services (MHDS) Regions to the Division of Aging & Disability Services, and important system connections to Medicaid, Public Health, and Child Protective Services will be strengthened within a shared responsibility model.

The Iowa HHS vision for Behavioral Health includes a system with clear access points, Iowans having access to services and supports, alignment of Federal, State and local governance and authority, elimination of administrative red tape, linkage of funding to measurable system outcomes, and development of transparent data reporting about progress and needs. System functions will be developed and implemented. Changes include the organization of local behavioral health districts, formation of district advisory councils, and procurement of Behavioral Health Administrative Service Organizations (BH-ASO). Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHCs) will expand and improve community-based services. The Aging and Disability Resource Centers (ADRC) Expansion will provide coordinated Aging & Disability Services through a network with Disability Access Points. The combined efforts will result in a comprehensive statewide plan for behavioral health.

# **Planning for Future Meetings/Additional Discussion**

There was a discussion on future planning. Diane Brecht requested Commissioners notify her of their interest in participating on a subcommittee for Sunset Recommendations Report. Kellee McCrory stated she would be interested. A final subcommittee list will be shared at the January meeting.

#### \*Review and Vote on 2025 Schedule

Diane Brecht inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the drafted 2025 meeting schedule. Diane noted that there are five Commission members who have terms ending on 4/30/2025. June Klein- Bacon motioned to approve the schedule. Mike Fidgeon seconded the motion. There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the schedule was approved.

## **Public Comment**

There was an opportunity for public comment with none being offered.

# **Adjourn**

Mike Fidgeon motioned to adjourn; Sue Gehling seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 10:58 am.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Patti Manna