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Measles 
Frequently Asked Questions for K-12 School Officials 

What are the symptoms of measles? 
Initial symptoms include fever, cough, runny nose, and red watery eyes. Koplik spots 
(tiny white spots inside the mouth) may also appear two to three days after symptoms 
first appear. 

Two to four days later a rash follows and lasts five to six days. Rash appears as a 

 flat red rash (sometimes raised bumps on top of flat red lesions), and 
 begins on the head and face and spreads downward to the neck, trunk, arms, 

legs, and feet. 
 Fever may spike to more than 104°F when rash appears. 

After a few days, the fever subsides and rash fades. 

 

What are the measles, mumps, rubella (MMR) vaccination requirements 
for students attending K-12 schools in Iowa? 
Iowa law requires that all students be vaccinated with two doses of measles and rubella 
containing vaccine (MMR vaccine) at the time of enrollment (kindergarten or whenever 
students transfer into an Iowa school). To be considered valid, the first dose of MMR 
vaccine must be administered on or after one year of age, and the second dose must be 
administered at least 28 days after the first dose (usually given at four to six years of 
age). 

Iowa law allows for a four-day “grace period”, which would apply to the minimum age of 
the first dose (i.e., the vaccine can be given up to four days before the child turns one 
year of age). The four-day period may also be applied to the 28-day minimum interval 
between two doses of MMR if the interval is inadvertently shorter than 28 days, 
although healthcare providers should never plan to administer the second dose earlier 
than the 28-day minimum interval. This four-day “grace period” does not apply to the 
strict 28-day minimum interval between two different live vaccines (e.g., MMR and 
varicella vaccines), if not administered at the same visit. 

 

What types of MMR vaccine exemptions are allowed for students 
attending K-12 schools in Iowa? 
Iowa law allows for 

1. Religious exemptions 
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a. Religious exemption stating that immunization conflicts with a genuine and 
sincere religious belief. A notary signature is no longer required for a 
certificate of religious exemption to be valid. The exemption is valid for the 
entire length of time the student attends school (kindergarten through 12th 
grade). 

2. Medical exemptions 
a. Medical exemption stating that immunization would be injurious to the 

health and well-being of the applicant, or any member of the applicant’s 
family or household must be signed by an MD, DO, PA, or ARNP to be 
considered valid. Unless the MD, DO, PA, ARNP specifically lists an 
expiration date, the medical exemption is valid for the entire length of time 
the student attends school (kindergarten through 12th grade). 

 

What are the MMR vaccination requirements for staff who work at K-12 
schools in Iowa? 
Iowa law does not address vaccination requirements for staff working at K-12 schools in 
Iowa. However, Iowa HHS recommends that all staff be fully vaccinated. 

 

What are the requirements for non-immune persons (including K-12 
students and staff) determined to have been exposed to a person with 
confirmed measles? 
In most cases, non-immune persons exposed to a person with confirmed measles will 
be required under a public health order to stay in their home from five days after the first 
possible exposure until 21 days after the last possible exposure to the person with 
confirmed measles. 

 

If a person with confirmed measles is identified in a K-12 school in Iowa, 
will non-immune students and staff in that K-12 school be excluded 
from school for a period of time (even if they are NOT identified as 
having been exposed to the person with confirmed measles)? 

Yes, generally non-immune students and staff will be excluded from the school until 21 
days after the last possible time a person who had confirmed measles was at the 
school. Public health officials will work directly with K-12 school officials to determine 
which exclusions are appropriate. If the non-immune students and staff (who have NOT 
been identified as exposed to the person with confirmed measles) get vaccinated, they 
will be allowed to return to school. 

 



 

Last updated March 2025 

Should K-12 school officials in Iowa maintain records of staff members’ 
MMR vaccination history? 

Iowa law does not require K-12 school officials to maintain measles vaccination records 
for school staff. However, if a case of measles were identified within a school, public 
health officials would work with school officials to quickly determine which students and 
staff are non-immune, and ensure all susceptible individuals are excluded. Having these 
records readily available would expedite this determination. 

 

Can K-12 schools in Iowa (either public or private) impose any additional 
MMR vaccination recommendations, such as denying a religious or 
medical exemption? 

Iowa HHS does not have the legal authority to exclude children who have a valid 
medical or religious exemption from a school or licensed childcare center unless an 
emergency or epidemic has been declared. If a school seeks to impose additional 
requirements, they should consult their own legal counsel prior to doing so to ensure 
compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and federal and state civil 
rights laws. 
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