Measles

Frequently Asked Questions for Licensed Childcare Facilities

What are the symptoms of measles?

Measles is one of the most contagious of all infectious diseases, infecting 9 out of 10 susceptible persons with close contact to a case. It is transmitted by direct contact with infectious droplets or by airborne spread. It can remain infectious on surfaces and in the air for up to two hours after an infected person has left an area.

Initial symptoms include fever, cough, runny nose, and red watery eyes. Koplik spots (tiny white spots inside the mouth) may also appear two to three days after symptoms first appear.

Three to five days after symptoms first appear a rash follows and lasts five to six days. Rash appears as a

- flat red rash (sometimes raised bumps on top of flat red lesions), and
- begins on the head and face and spreads downward to the neck, trunk, arms, legs, and feet.
- Fever may spoke to more than 104°F when rash appears.

After a few days, the fever subsides and rash fades.

What are the measles, mumps, rubella (MMR) vaccination requirements for licensed childcare facilities in Iowa?

lowa law requires that all licensed childcare attendees submit proof of receiving one dose of measles and rubella containing vaccine (MMR vaccine) by at least age 19 months (the first dose of vaccine is recommended to be administered between 12 to 15 months of age). To be considered valid, the first dose of MMR vaccine must be administered on or after one year of age.

lowa law allows for a four-day grace period, which would apply to the minimum age of the first dose (i.e., the vaccine can be given up to four days before the child turns one year of age).

What types of MMR vaccine exemptions are allowed for licensed childcare attendees in Iowa?

lowa law allows for the following exemptions:

1. Religious exemptions



- a. Religious exemption stating that immunization conflicts with a genuine and sincere religious belief. A notary signature is no longer required for a certificate of religious exemption to be valid. The exemption is valid for the entire length of time the attendee is enrolled.
- 2. Medical exemptions
 - a. Medical exemption stating that immunization would be injurious to the health and well-being of the applicant, or any member of the applicant's family or household must be signed by an MD, DO, PA, or ARNP to be considered valid. Unless the MD, DO, PA, ARNP specifically lists an expiration date, the medical exemption is valid for the entire length of time the attendee is enrolled.

What are the MMR vaccination requirements for staff who work at licensed childcare facilities in Iowa?

lowa law does not address vaccination requirements for staff working in licensed childcare facilities in Iowa. However, Iowa HHS recommends that all staff be fully vaccinated.

What are the requirements for non-immune persons (including licensed childcare facility attendees and staff) determined to have been exposed to a person with confirmed measles?

Non-immune persons exposed to a person with confirmed measles should stay in their home from five days after the first possible exposure through 21 days after their last possible exposure to the person with confirmed measles.

Should licensed childcare facilities in Iowa maintain records of staff members' MMR vaccination history?

lowa law does not require licensed childcare facility officials to maintain measles vaccination records for staff. However, Iowa HHS does recommend that licensed childcare facilities maintain vaccination records for their staff.

If a case of measles were identified within a licensed childcare facility, public health officials would work with licensed childcare officials to quickly determine which staff are non-immune and ensure all susceptible individuals are excluded. Having these records readily available would expedite this determination.



Can licensed childcare facilities in Iowa impose any additional MMR vaccination recommendations, such as denying a religious or medical exemption?

If a licensed childcare facility seeks to impose additional requirements, they should consult their own legal counsel prior to doing so to ensure compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and federal and state civil rights laws.