LOCATION: Zoom Meeting TIME: 9:30 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.

# MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:

Betsy Akin	June Klein-Bacon
Diane Brecht	Kathy Norris
Linda Dettmann	Sen. Sarah Trone Garriott
Mike Fidgeon	Dr. Kenneth Wayne

#### MHDS COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:

Sen. Jeff Edler Sue Gehling Kellee McCrory Jack Seward, Jr. Terri Steinke Rep. Megan Srinivas

### OTHER ATTENDEES:

Theresa Armstrong Teresa Bomhoff Lisa Bringle Charlene Joens Todd Lange Dree LaToure Melissa Mace Patti Manna Billi Mitchell Flora A Schmidt Jordyn Utterback Ken Wayne Elizabeth Wolfe

#### Materials Referenced:

MHDS\_Commission December 5, 2024 Meeting\_Minutes\_DRAFT

#### Welcome and Introductions

Diane Brecht, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:35am and led introductions. Quorum was established with 7 voting members attending virtually. Diane reviewed conflicts of interest and informed the Commissioners to disclose any conflicts of interest on voting items.

#### \*Review and Vote on Approval of Meeting Minutes

Diane Brecht inquired if any Commission members had questions or changes to the December 5<sup>th</sup>, 2024, meeting minutes. Hearing none, Diane Brecht entertained a motion to approve the meeting minutes as submitted. Mike Fidgeon motioned to approve and was seconded by June Klein-Bacon. There was no additional discussion by the Commissioners. The motion passed and the minutes were approved.

# Behavioral Health and Disability Services – Theresa Armstrong

Theresa Armstrong, Behavioral Health Division, Iowa HHS, provided an overview of the changes occurring with the Iowa HHS Behavioral Health and Disability Services.

The Iowa Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced the selection of Iowa Primary Care Association (Iowa PCA) to serve in a statewide capacity as the sole

MHDS Commission January 16, 2025, Meeting Minutes APPROVED

Administrative Service Organization (ASO) for the state's redesigned Behavioral Health System effective as of January 13, 2025. There will continue to be seven behavioral health districts with local collaborations, planning and the requirement to have a behavioral health council in each district. HHS will begin onboarding Iowa PCA for guidance and vision to ensure continuity of care. One of the top focuses will be conducting needs analyses in each district, including gathering stakeholder feedback. Key aspects will be to ensure system navigation and alignment with the state plan. Concurrently, wind down activities will occur for the Regions with transfers of information to ensure individuals continue to receive services. HHS will be providing detailed trainings in prevention, early intervention, treatment and crisis services with full implementation on July 1, 2025.

There will be virtual townhalls this week to provide information and gather feedback on changes to the administrative rules for the Behavioral Health and Aging and Disability Services Divisions. Monthly virtual town halls will be launched this month to provide a forum for updates, questions, and feedback related to Iowa's behavioral health service system. Details of public meetings are available on the Iowa HHS webpage.

The Aging and Disabilities Services Network has an active procurement for local Disability Access Points (DAPs) to collaboratively coordinate and oversee access to long-term services and supports in each disability services district. Disability Access Points will be selected by Spring 2025 and provide navigation for individuals with disabilities of all ages.

The Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC) Technical Assistance and Call Center contract has been awarded to the University of Iowa Center for Disabilities and Development (CDD).

lowa was awarded two additional Transformation Transfer Initiative (TTI) grants, one for youth suicide prevention and one for crisis care. A youth suicide prevention plan and a training curriculum for crisis staff will be developed.

#### Planning for Future Meetings/Additional Discussion

There was a discussion on future planning. Diane Brecht informed Commission members that a subcommittee has been formed to

# **Public Comment**

There was an opportunity for public comment with none being offered.

# Adjourn

Betsy Akin motioned to adjourn the meeting; Mike Fidgeon seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 10:00 am.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Patti Manna