IOWA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

October 12, 2022

Origination Site: Lucas State Office Building, 5th Floor Conference Room #526 Des Moines, Iowa

Open Session Meeting Minutes

The Board meeting was hosted virtually and in-person at the Lucas Building, 5th Floor, Conference Room 525. Instructions for virtual attendance through ZOOM was provided on the agenda.

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 9:06 a.m. with roll call, introductions and announcements by Wondra.

Members Present

Lauri Wondra, D.C.
Leslie Duinink, Public Member
Rodney Langel, D.C.
Christopher Fretheim, D.C.
Kirby Connell, Public Member
Shane Townsend, D.C.
Jennifer Rasmussen, D.C.

Members Absent

None

Staff Present

Kristi Traynor, Assistant Attorney General Steve Garrison, Bureau Chief Susan Reynolds, Executive Officer Jessica O'Brien, Executive Officer Beth Jorgenson, Compliance Administrator Lacy Hepp, Assistant to Board Administration

Guests

Carl Lingen, Executive Director, Iowa Chiropractic Society Laura Hinkelday, Public

Introductions

Introductions were made by the Board members and staff present.

Announcements

None to report

Approval of open session minutes

Rasmussen moved the approval of the open session meeting minutes of July 13, 2022. A second was received by Langel. All others ayes, nays none, motion carried.

Reports

Bureau Chief Report, Steve Garrison

Garrison informed the Board that the Bureau was now housed in a new division within the new Department of Health and Human Services. The Bureau is now in the same division as the Boards of Medicine, Dental, Nursing, and Pharmacy, and the Division is overseen by Jill Stuecker. Garrison anticipates the Bureau moving office locations to the same location as these other boards. This will be a cost savings for the Bureau. Garrison gave an overview of the Individual Board Allocations & Summary Table and the Annual Report. Board members asked questions that were answered.

Renewal Application Review

A. #007455

Discussion to be held during closed session.

Public Comment

None.

New Business

A. Discussion on criteria for continuing education

Executive officer presented information to the Board on continuing education requirements. The Board discussed forming a committee to adjust the hour requirements in the State of Iowa. Ultimately, they came to the consensus to move forward with the current requirements after much discussion.

Closed Session

Wondra moved the Board go into closed session at 9:30 a.m. pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(a) to review or discuss records which are required or authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential, pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(d), to discuss whether to initiate licensee disciplinary investigations or proceedings, and pursuant to Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(f), to discuss the decision to be rendered in a contested case conducted according to the provisions of 17A. A second was received by Rasmussen.

A roll call vote was taken with the following results:

Rasmussen – Aye

Duinink- Aye

Wondra- Aye

Townsend - Aye

Langel - Aye

Fretheim - Aye

Connell - Aye

Motion carried.

Return to Open Session

The Board returned to open session at 12:30 p.m.

Frethiem moved the Board approve the closed session meeting minutes of July 13, 2021, as presented. A second was received by Fretheim. Rasmussen abstained and all other ayes, nays none, motion carried.

Duinink moved to terminate probation on 20-0104. A second was received by Fretheim. All ayes, nays none, motion carried.

Duinink moved to approve the amended practice agreement in 22-0116. A second was received by Rasmussen. Ally ayes, nays none, motion carried.

Duinink moved the Board approve the Notice of Hearing State of Charges in 21-0142 as presented. A second was received by Fretheim. All ayes, nays none, motion carried.

Duinink moved the Board approve the Confidential Evaluation Order in 22-0153. A second was received by Rasmussen. All ayes, nays none, motion carried.

Duinink moved the Board close the following cases: 22-0216, 22-0217, 22-0240, 22-0241 and 22-0263. A second was received by Fretheim. All ayes, nays none, motion carried.

Future Board Meetings

January 11, 2023 April 12, 2023 July 12, 2023 October 11, 2023

Adjournment

Fretheim moved the Board adjourn at 12:30 p.m. A second was received by Rasmussen. All ayes, nays none, motion carried.