Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC) Stakeholder Engagement Committee Meeting Notes June 22nd, 2023 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm Iowa Utilities Board Building 1375 E Court Ave. Des Moines, IA 50319

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Leslie Carpenter Chad Jensen Kathy Johnson

Jen Pearson Cynthia Steidl-Bishop **Rich Whitaker**

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT VIA ZOOM:

Andrew Allen **Emily Blomme** Samantha Cannon Leslie Carpenter Tracy Gryp Peggy Huppert

Devon McClurken Sarah Nelson Rebecca Peterson Laura Semprini Lauren Vorwald

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Rod Courtney Rudy Papakee Mae Hingtgen Todd Jacobus Mak Suceska Mary O'Neill

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Rachel Adams Darci Alt Jacob Appel Annalisa Baker Kelly Bakewell Falicia Beck Dave Becker Tasha Beghtol Laura Bell Katie Boatman Stephanie Boesenberg Teresa Bomhoff Lynn Bopes Maranda Buckley Amy Campbell Kevin Carroll **Rachel Cecil** Amber Champine

Paula Connolly Jacque Coulson **Rebecca Curtiss** Penny Cutler Bermudez Elizabeth Dahl Michelle De La Riva DeAnn Decker Bre Degelau Karen Dowell Tom Eachus Lori Elam Malaak Elhage Jenny Erdman Mark Feilmeier Maggie Ferguson Mike Fidgeon Alyssa Fruchtenicht Patty Funaro

Kevin Gabbert Danielle Gates Sue Gehling Julie Gibbons Kelly Grunhovd Jason Haglund Sheila Hansen Cara Henley Vienna Hoang Chris Hoffman Jim Irwin Theresa Jochum Bonnie Johnson Grace Jones Julie Kalambokidis Kim Keleher Clare Kelly Jess Kelly

CCBHC Stakeholder Engagement Meeting

June 22nd, 2023, Meeting Notes

Rebecca Peterson

1

Nicole Kilbura Brenna Koedam Breanna Kramer Robert Kruse Todd Lange Audrey Larson Adrienne LaToure Bob Lincoln Julie Maas Stacie Maass Shannon Mahnke Carrie Malone Patti Manna Missy Martini Leisa Mayer Pat McGovern Aaron McHone Crystal McHugh Mary McKinnell

Dawn Mentzer Brenda Miller Marcia Oltrogge Mona Onken Jerilyn Oshel Cindy Palmer Tracy Peden Mary A Petersen Paul Phares Elizabeth Puls Eric Richardson Dan Ries Jennifer Robbins Jennifer Robertson-hill Joshua Rubin Wendy Saathoff Christina Schark Stephanie Schmidt Flora Schmidt

Renee Schulte Lindsay Stack Anne Starr Megan Taets Michele Tilotta Tina Tran Annie Uetz Suzanne Watson Tammy Wetjen-Kesterson Kerry Wiles Jack Willey Russell Wood Rvanne Wood Charlie Woodcock **Bobbie Wulf** Chaney Yeast Lorrie Young

Materials Referenced

CCBHC Stakeholder Committee Meeting 2 Presentation June 2023

Welcome and Introductions

Theresa Armstrong, Bureau Chief, welcomed the Stakeholder Engagement Committee and thanked them for their participation. Laura Larkin, CCBHC Project Director, and Health Management Associates consultants, Josh Rubin, and Cara Henley, were introduced and reviewed the presentation materials.

Presentations

There was discussion on the Prospective Payer System (PPS). PPS is a Medicaid perencounter rate set based on a cost report that documents a CCBHC's allowable costs and qualifying patient encounters.

CCBHCs complete a cost report including both current costs and anticipated future costs associated with becoming a CCBHC. The costs are divided by the number of qualifying encounters to arrive at a clinic-specific rate, which is paid to the CCBHC each time a monthly or daily encounter occurs, regardless of the number or intensity of services provided. There are two different options available with daily threshold encounter rates or monthly rates paid in any month with an encounter. Proposed changes to the payment rule at the federal level creates two new PPS options for states and adds at least one special crisis services rate. Considerations of each rate were discussed.

There was discussion on CCBHC scope of services and partnerships. SAMHSA establishes minimum standards for all CCBHC services, and states are permitted to add more stringent or additional service requirements. Iowa HHS has proposed a preliminary, general approach to establishing service requirements for CCBHCs which was reviewed, including partnerships allowed.

CCBHC Stakeholder Engagement Meeting

June 22nd, 2023, Meeting Notes 2

The allotted time did not allow for a discussion on proposed Iowa specific services and Evidence Based Practices, which will be moved to a future agenda.

Committee Discussion

Committee members were given the opportunity to discuss and ask questions. Questions that arose were captured in the following document: <u>CCBHC Frequently Asked Questions July</u> 2023.pdf (iowa.gov)

Public Comment

Members of the public were given the opportunity to discuss and ask questions. Questions that arose were captured in the following document: <u>CCBHC Frequently Asked Questions July</u> 2023.pdf (iowa.gov)

Adjourn

Meeting notes respectfully submitted by Patti Manna.