Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC) Stakeholder Engagement Committee Meeting Notes May 16th, 2023 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm Iowa Utilities Board Building 1375 E Court Ave. Des Moines, IA 50319

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Andrea Dickerson for Andrew Allen Leslie Carpenter Chad Jensen Kelly Bakewell for Kathy Johnson

Jen Pearson Rebecca Peterson Cynthia Steidl Bishop

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT VIA ZOOM:

Emily Blomme	Sarah Nelson
Samantha Cannon	Mary O'Neill
Tracy Gryp	Laura Semprini
Mae Hingtgen	Mak Suceska
Peggy Huppert	Lauren Vorwald
Devon McClurken	Rich Whitaker

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Rod Courtney

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Darci Alt Allison Andrews Jacob Appel Theresa Armstrong Annalisa Baker Sudha Bakshi Laura Bell Caylyn Bishop Jody Bridgewater Lisa Bringle Amy Campbell Kevin Carroll Rachel Cecil Amber Champine Sandi Conlin **Rebecca Curtiss** Elizabeth Dahl Michelle De La Riva DeAnn Decker Mardi Deluhery Karen Dowell

Todd Jacobus

Tom Eachus Marissa Eyanson Mike Fidgeon Flora Schmidt Meghan Freie Kevin Gabbert Danielle Gates Julie Gibbons Natalie Ginty Emma Hall Alison Hauser Kyra Hawley Cara Henley Lucia Herman Vienna Hoang Peggy Huppert Sarah Janssen Theresa Jochum **Torie Keith** Kim Keleher **Dylan Keller** Jess Kelly

CCBHC Stakeholder Engagement Meeting

May16th, 2023, Meeting Notes

Nicole Kilburg Beth Kregel Robert Kruse Todd Lange Laura Larkin Audrey Larson Adrienne LaToure Brooke Lovelace Julie Maas Shannon Mahnke Patti Manna Jessi Maxwell Leisa Mayer Pat McGovern Aaron McHone Marv McKinnell Dawn Mentzer Vickie Miene **Brenda Miller** Elizabeth Momany Vicki Mueller Todd Noack Dax Oberreuter Kristie Oliver Marcia Oltrogge Jerilyn Oshel

James Pender Eric Preuss Jennifer Pullen Eric Richardson Todd Rickert Jennifer Robbins Jennifer Robertson-Hill Lisa Rockhill Joshua Rubin Christina Schark Janae Schmitt Betsy Stursma Megan Taets Tiffany Conroy Michele Tilotta MarvNelle Trefz Chris Ubben Jayson VandeHoef Taya Vonnahme Suzanne Watson Jack Willev Russell Wood Charlie Woodcock **Bobbie Wulf** Chaney Yeast Lorrie Young

Materials Referenced

CCBHC Stakeholder Committee Meeting 1 Presentation.pdf (iowa.gov)

Welcome and Introductions

Marissa Eyanson, Division Director, welcomed the Stakeholder Engagement Committee and thanked them for their participation. Laura Larkin, CCBHC Project Director, and Health Management Associates consultants, Josh Rubin, and Cara Henley, were introduced and reviewed the presentation materials.

Presentations

The presentation covered the CCBHC Stakeholder Committee charter, including a description, the purpose, the goals, and responsibilities of committee members.

The goals of the CCBHC initiative, which are to target services to persons with Serious Mental Illness, Serious Emotional Disturbance, and significant Substance Use Disorder, while serving the whole community, were described.

An explanation of the minimum standards for CCBHCs was covered. It was explained that federal law establishes 113 standards in six areas that an organization must meet to achieve a

CCBHC Stakeholder Engagement Meeting

May16th, 2023, Meeting Notes

CCBHC designation. CCBHCs also need to provide nine required services, which were listed out.

Information was provided showing how current CCBHCs are demonstrating savings and are reducing waitlists. There was an explanation of the differences between CCBHC demonstration programs and CCBHC expansion grants. The committee was informed that Iowa is one of 15 states that received a CCBHC planning grant and will have one year to compete for ten slots in the demonstration program.

The CCBHC Stakeholder Engagement Committee will meet over the next six months to solicit stakeholder input into the design of the model in the State. The State will certify nine CCBHCs, one in each of the proposed catchment areas, that represent diverse geographic areas, including rural and underserved areas. The State will develop a prospective payment system (PPS) methodology, build data collection capacity, and apply for the demonstration by March 20, 2024

Committee Discussion

Committee members were given the opportunity to discuss and ask questions. Questions that arose were captured in the following document: <u>CCBHC_FAQ_6.6.23.pdf (iowa.gov)</u>

Public Comment

Members of the public were given the opportunity to discuss and ask questions. Questions that arose were captured in the following document: <u>CCBHC_FAQ_6.6.23.pdf (iowa.gov)</u>

Adjourn

Meeting notes respectfully submitted by Patti Manna.