
FOR MORE INFORMATION:

If you have questions regarding Iowa’s
immunization law, please call the Iowa 

Department of Public Health at:

1-800-831-6293

OR VISIT:

http://idph.iowa.gov/immtb/immunization
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IMMUNIZATION                       
LAW & YOU

IMMUNIZE FOR A BETTER LIFE!

REQUIRED IMMUNIZATIONS
LICENSED CHILDCARE

Less than 4 months of age

This chart contains the minimum requirements 
for participation in licensed child care. 

Routine vaccination begins at 2 months of age.

4 through 5 months of age

Diphtheria/ Tetanus/Pertussis   1 dose 
Polio  1 dose Hib      1 dose 
Pneumococcal 1 dose

 
6 through 11 months of age

Diphtheria/Tetanus/Pertussis    2 doses 
Polio  2 doses Hib        2 doses 
Pneumococcal 2 doses

12 through 18 months of age

Diphtheria/ Tetanus/Pertussis  3 doses 
Polio  2 doses   
Hib         2  doses if received 1 dose < 15 months of age; or 1 

dose if received > 15 months of age
Pneumococcal 3 doses if received 1 or 2 doses < 12 months of  
  age; 2 doses if received 1 dose > 12 months of  
  age or has not received this vaccine before

19 through 23 months of age

Diphtheria/ Tetanus/Pertussis   4 doses 
Polio  3 doses 
Hib         3    doses with the final dose in the series ≥ 12 months 
   of age; or 2 doses if only 1 dose received < 15 months 

of age; or 1 dose received if ≥ 15 months of age
Pneumococcal 4  doses if received 3 doses < 12 months of age; or 3 

doses if received 1 or 2 doses < 12 months of age; or 
2 doses if received 1 dose ≥ 12 months of age or has 
not received this vaccine before

Measles/Rubella 1 dose ≥ 12 months of age
Varicella 1  dose ≥ 12 months of age or a reliable history of 

natural disease

24 months of age and older

Diphtheria/ Tetanus/Pertussis   4 doses 
Polio  3 doses   
Hib         3  doses with the final dose in the series ≥ 12 months 

of age, or 2 doses if only 1 dose received < 15 months 
of age; or 1 dose if received ≥ 15 months of age

Pneumococcal 4 doses if received 3 doses < 12 months of age; or 
  3 doses if received 2 doses < 24 months of age; or 
  2 doses if received 1 dose < 24 months of age; or  
  1 dose if received no doses < 24 months of age
Measles/Rubella 1 dose ≥ 12 months of age
Varicella 1  dose ≥ 12 months of age or a reliable history of 

natural disease

REQUIRED IMMUNIZATIONS
ELEMENTARY/SECONDARY SCHOOL

Diphtheria/Tetanus/Pertussis

5 doses with 1 dose received ≥ 4 years of age  
if born after Sept. 15, 2003; OR 

4 doses with 1 dose received ≥ 4 years of age if born 
after Sept. 15, 2000 but on or before Sept. 15, 2003; OR

3 doses with 1 dose received ≥ 4 years of age 
if born on or before Sept. 15, 2000; AND 

1 dose of tetanus/diphtheria/acellular pertussis -  
containing (Tdap) vaccine for applicants born after 

Sept. 15, 2000, upon entrance into 7th grade and above
 

Polio

4 doses with 1 dose received ≥ 4 years of age if born 
after Sept. 15, 2003; OR

3 doses with 1 dose received ≥ 4 years of age if born 
on or before Sept. 15, 2003

Measles/Rubella 

2 doses with the first dose received ≥ 12 months of age, 
second dose no less than 28 days after the first dose

Hepatitis B 

3 doses 

Varicella

2 doses received ≥ 12 months of age  
if born after Sept. 15, 2003; OR

1 dose received ≥ 12 months of age if born on or after 
Sept. 15, 1997, but born on or before Sept. 15, 2003; OR

A reliable history of natural disease

Meningococcal

1 dose received on or after 10 years of age for applicants in 7th grade 
and above, if born after September 15, 2004; AND

2 doses for applicants in 12th grade, if born after September 15, 1999; 
or 1 dose if received when the applicant was 16 years of age or older

KEY:

 > = greater than < = less than

 ≥ = greater than or equal to ≤ = less than or equal to
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IOWA’S 
    IMMUNIZATION LAW

This brochure outlines the minimum 

immunization requirements for a child 

to attend licensed child care and school 

in Iowa. These requirements are based 

on the recommendations from the 

Advisory Committee on Immunization 

Practices (ACIP) and are minimum 

requirements to maintain a healthy child 

in group settings. Iowa’s immunization 

requirements apply to ALL individuals 

attending licensed child care centers 

and schools in Iowa, including those 

who are home schooled.

MEDICAL EXEMPTION

A medical exemption may be granted if a 
health care provider believes immunization(s) 
would be harmful to the child or a member 
of the child’s household. To be valid, the 
Certificate of Immunization Exemption must 
be completed and signed by a physician (MD or 
DO), physician’s assistant or nurse practitioner. 
The Certificate of Immunization Exemption must 
be submitted to the licensed child care center or 
school the child attends.

RELIGIOUS EXEMPTION

A religious exemption may be granted if 
immunizations conflict with a religious 
belief and is not based on scientific, medical 
or personal opinion. To be valid, the Certificate 
of Immunization Exemption must be complete 
with the name and birth date of the child and 
signed by the individual or the child’s parent or 
guardian, and must be notarized. The Certificate 
of Immunization Exemption must be submitted 
to the licensed child care center or school 
the child attends.

ENFORCEMENT

Students who do not provide a Certificate of 
Immunization, Provisional Certificate of 
Immunization, or Certificate of Immunization 
Exemption to the licensed child care center or 
school on the first day of school cannot attend.

SCHOOL RECORDS

Schools are required to keep the certificate(s) 
on file for three years after the transfer/graduation 
of the child, or provide the certificate(s) to the 
student upon graduation. If the child transfers 
to a different school, the previous school will 
assist in the transfer of the certificate(s).

Blank certificates are available from healthcare 
providers, schools, local public health agencies, or  
on the Iowa Department of Public Health website at:  
http://idph.iowa.gov/ImmTB/Immunization/laws  
or by calling the Iowa Department of Public Health, 
Immunization Program at 1.800.831.6293.

IMMUNIZATION RECORDS

It is important to maintain immunization 
records in a safe place. Proof of immunizations 
may be necessary throughout life. The Iowa 
Department of Public Health does not maintain 
historical paper immunization records. 
However, immunization records can be entered
into a permanent statewide electronic database 
called Iowa’s Immunization Registry Information 
System (IRIS). IRIS contains a public record 
access feature in which parents or adults can 
search for their own or their child’s immunization 
record at https://iris.iowa.gov. If records are not 
found, talk with your health care provider about 
entering your immunization record into IRIS.

COLLEGES & UNIVERSITIES

The Iowa Department of Public Health rules 
do not apply to immunization requirements for 
colleges and universities. Contact the college 
or university directly for their specific 
immunization requirements.

Proof of Immunization 

CERTIFICATE OF IMMUNIZATION

A Certificate of Immunization must be given to 
the licensed child care center or school the 
child will attend. To be valid, the Certificate of 
Immunization must include the name and birth 
date of the child, the dates required vaccines 
were received, and must be signed by a physician 
(MD or DO), physician’s assistant, nurse, or 
certified medical assistant.

PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATE 
OF IMMUNIZATION

A child who has begun, but not completed, the 
required immunizations for their age may receive 
a Provisional Certificate of Immunization so they 
may attend licensed child care or school while they 
finish their required vaccinations. To be eligible for 
provisional enrollment, the child must receive at 
least one dose of each of the required vaccines 
for their age. The next dose of required vaccine 
should be given as soon as possible, but no longer 
than 60 days from the previous dose(s). If at the 
end of 60 days, the child has not received the next 
required dose(s) of vaccine, the child cannot 
attend licensed child care or school.

The Provisional Certificate of Immunization must 
be submitted to the licensed child care center 
or school the child attends while completing 
the required immunizations. After the child 
has received all the required immunizations, a 
Certificate of Immunization must be submitted to 
the licensed child care center or school. Students 
transferring from one U.S. school to another are 
eligible for provisional enrollment for 60 days to 
allow their immunization records to be transferred 
from the previous school.


