

## Birth Certificate & Registration Fees Total Fees Due = \$35.00

- Check or money order payable to: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services\*
   \* unless your hospital has other payment options available
  - Failure to pay the required registration fee is considered a misdemeanor under section 144.53 of the Code of Iowa.

## **Certified Copy = \$15**

- lowa law requires that each entitled birth mother be issued a certified birth certificate of her newborn's birth record.
- The newborn certified birth certificate is mailed to the entitled birth mother within a few weeks after the birth record is registered by the hospital to the mailing address she provided on the hospital birth worksheet.
- Parents are issued replacement certified copies at no cost if the record has been corrected due to typographical errors or paternity establishment. The parent must return the copy that contains the errors or missing information in order to obtain a replacement.

## Registration = \$20

- Iowa law requires that new parents register their newborn's birth certificate with the state Office of Vital Records for a fee of \$10. These funds are appropriated to primary and secondary child abuse prevention programs.
- lowa law requires an additional \$10 registration fee. These additional funds are appropriated to the birth defects institute central registry established pursuant to section 136A.6 of the lowa code.

## **Social Security Card = No Charge**

- A social security card for the newborn is issued to the parents at no cost by indicating 'Yes' on the hospital birth worksheet. There is no further application required.
- The card is issued and sent directly from the Social Security Administration to the mailing address provided on the hospital birth worksheet. Cards are not forwarded if the parents move.
- There is **no** cost involved this is a free service by the federal Social Security Administration, with cooperation by the Iowa state Department of Health and Human Services through the birth registration. Any solicitations by companies offering this service for a fee are not affiliated or endorsed by the Social Security Administration, the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, or Iowa hospitals and health systems.
- Parents' social security numbers are required in accordance with 42 of the United States Code 405 (c)(2), as amended by Section 1090(b) of Public Law 105-34, which addresses taxpayer relief issues. The law authorizes the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to use the social security numbers for determining Earned Income Tax Credit compliance on income tax returns. The IRS may not share the information with any other agency, including the Immigration and Naturalization Service.