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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Des Moines, Iowa 

July 16, 1991 

HUMAN SERVICES GENERAL LETTER NO.  25J-MH/MR/DD 

SUBJECT: Personal Liability of Persons in Mental Health Institutes 

Iowa Code Section 230.15 sets forth the personal liability of people who are 
mentally ill and those legally responsible for their support when the condition  
of the patient is such that prolonged or repeated hospitalization is necessary. 

Persons who are legally liable for the support of a person who is mentally ill 
are: 

 1. The patient; 
 2. The patient’s spouse; 
 3. The parents of patients under age 18; 
 4. A person, corporation, or firm bound by contract for support of the patient. 

The person’s liability is limited to: 

 1. The total cost incurred by the county for the first 1`20 days of hospitaliza-
tion, whether occurring as a result of a single admission or accumulated 
through multiple admissions. 

 2. Thereafter, an amount not to exceed $365 per month.  (This amount is estab-
lished from the Schedule of Living Costs set by the Department of Human Ser-
vices in the Aid to Dependent Children Program.  The Schedule of Living  
Costs was increased by the 1991 session of the Seventy-fourth General Assem-
bly.  The revisions are based on a study completed by Iowa State Univer- 
sity.) 

CAUTION: Federal public education laws required the provision of a free public 
education, regardless of handicapping conditions.  For the handi- 
capped, education costs include maintenance, support, and treatment 
costs when these are necessary to the provision of education.  Assess-
ing a liability under this provision of the Code may be in conflict  
with federal law and thus illegal. 

 Medicaid payments are considered payment in full for the covered serv-
ice.  No further liability can be assessed to the patient or the  
legally responsible person by the state or county.  If a liability is 
assessed in error, any funds collected must be paid to the state to 
offset the Medicaid payment. 
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 Medicare payment rates are considered payment in full for the covered 
service.  Neither the state nor county may assess a liability beyond  
the established rate for the service.  The patient can be assessed a 
liability for any deductibles or coinsurance amounts paid by the  
county, not to exceed the limits in Iowa Code Section 230.15. 

However, a relative or any other person may voluntary pay the full actual cost  
of the care and treatment of the mentally ill person. 

The first 120 days of hospitalization is based on the total days of hospitaliza-
tion.  Any person who on July 1, 1972, or a later date has been hospitalized for  
a total of 120 days or more is considered to have incurred liability for the  
total cost of care and treatment for 120 days and thereafter is entitled to the 
reduced liability.  There is no forgiveness of liability existing on July 1,  
1972, except as provide3d for in Iowa Code Section 230.17. 

Effective Date 

July 1, 1991 

Material Superseded 

Circular Letter No. 25-I-MH/MR/DD, dated November 6, 1990, shall be removed from 
the file and destroyed. 

Additional Information 

If you require additional information, please direct your inquiries to the Divi-
sion of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities in the 
Department of Human Services. 
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