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WHO NEEDS A RECORD CHECK? 
• A person who is being considered for licensure or registration 

• A  person is being considered for employment and will have direct responsibility for a 

child or access to a child when alone 

• A person who will reside in a child care facility or non-registered child care home that 

receives or has applied to receive public funding to provide child care 

• A person who has applied for or receives public funding for providing child care 
 

WHAT RECORD CHECKS ARE COMPLETED? 
• Criminal and child abuse record checks in Iowa every 2 years 

• Iowa Sex Offender Registry and Dependent Adult Abuse records are also reviewed every 2 

years 

• National fingerprint background check every 4 years 

 

 

WHAT IF A PERSON HAS A RECORD? 
• If a person has a transgression, a record check evaluation must be completed. 

• A transgression is any of the following: 

o Conviction of a crime 

o Record of founded child or dependent adult abuse 

o Is on the sex offender registry 

o Has committed a public or civil offense 

o The person has had a revocation of a child care registration or license as a result of 

continued or repeated failure to operate in compliance 

 

 

WHAT IS AN EVALUATION? 
• In an evaluation, the Department must consider: 

o The type and seriousness of the transgression 

o Time passed since the transgression 

o The circumstances under which the transgression was committed 

o The degree of rehabilitation 

o The likelihood that the person will commit the transgression again 

o The number of transgressions committed by the person involved. 

 

 

WHO IS NOT ALLOWED TO BE INVOLVED IN CHILD CARE? 
• Any person that has a record of founded child or dependent adult abuse that was determined to 

be sexual abuse 



 

 

• Any person required to be listed on any state or the national sex offender registry 

• Has committed the following felony offenses: 

o Child endangerment or neglect or abandonment of a dependent person’ 

o Domestic abuse 

o A crime against a child including but not limited to sexual exploitation of a minor 

o A forcible felony 

o Arson 

• Has a record of a misdemeanor conviction against a child under the following offenses:  

o Child abuse 

o Child endangerment 

o Sexual assault 

o Child pornography 

• Any person subject to a record check refuses to content to a record check. 

• If a person convicted of a crime makes what the person knows to be a false statement of fact in 

connection to a conviction. 

• The following have a 5 year prohibition: 

o Convicted of a controlled substance offense 

o Found to have committed physical abuse 

• The department has the authority to determine if a person shall be prohibited from child care 

through completing an evaluation.  If a person is prohibited, they may not be involved unless a 

new record check is completed and they are approved. 

 


