

VEHICLE ACCIDENT REPORTING PROCEDURES

- 1. Render aid or assistance to the injured (Section 321.263, Code of Iowa).
- 2. Do not admit fault and do not discuss the accident with anyone except Iowa Department of General Services Risk Managment or law enforcement authorities.
- 3. Notify the nearest law enforcement agency immediately if accident involves a fatality, injury, or property damage.
- 4. If the accident involves another party, please use the attached Information Exchange sheet.
- 5. Notify your supervisor.
- 6. During Normal Working Hours: Immediately notify Iowa Department of General Services Risk Managment at 515-281-7703.
- 7. Complete State of Iowa Vehicle Accident Report (form attached).
- 8. If the accident results in injury or death of any person, or total property damages to an apparent extent of \$1,000 or more, the accident report required by Section 321.266, Code of Iowa, must be filed within 72 hours after accident. (Forms available from Investigating Officer.)

If you have questions, please call 515-281-7703.

Code Information

Vehicle Type Codes

01= Passenger Car 09 = Truck Tractor/Semi 17 = Bicycle, etc.02 = Car & Trailer 10 = Double Bottom Truck 18 = Recreation Veh. (ATV, Snowmobile) 03 = Panel Truck19 = Maint./Const. Veh. (Dozer, Graders, Tractors, Etc.) 11 = Tow Truck/Wrecker 04 = Pickup Truck 12 = Motor Home20 = Train05 = Pickup & Trailer 13 = Bus21 = Other (Describe)06 = Pickup Camper 14 = School Bus22 = Moped07 = Straight Truck 15 = Farm Veh./Equip. 23 = Multi-Purpose (Sport Utility Van, Minivan) 08 = Truck Tractor 00 = Unknown16 = Motorcycle

Injury Severity Codes

- 1 = Fata1
- 2 = Major injuries (broken bones, severe cuts, head injuries, etc.)
- 3 = Minor injuries (small cuts, bruises and abrasions)
- 4 = Possible injuries (no visible injury, but individual complaints of pain or discomfort)

State of Iowa -- Department of General Services

VEHICLE ACCIDENT REPORT						Do Not Write In This Box File No.			
Report: This report is to be completed by the dri Distribution: Original to Department of General S NOTICE: Follow "Vehicle Accident Reporting P	Services within 72 hours		nt. One copy to the	ne driver's dep	partment he	eadquarte	rs.		
TIME AND LOCATION OF ACCID	FNT								
Accident Date (Mo/Day/Year)	Day of Week		Time	A.	M. Nu	ımber of	Vehicles		
County	State			P.	M.				
Road No. Mile Post # Miles	North South	West East	of (City/Town and S	State)					
NO. 1 (STATE VEHICLE)				/					
Driver's Name (Last, First, MI)			Work Street Address						
Driver's License No./ State			Work City/ State/ Zip						
Date of Birth Male Departi	ment		W	ork Phone	H	lome Ph	one		
License Plate No. VIN			Vehicle Yea	r/ Make/ Mo	del				
State of Registration Vehicle Type Code	e # of Occ	upants	Leased Ye						
Damage Estimate (\$) Description of Damage			Vehicle N	0	(Co	mpany)			
NO. 2 (OTHER VEHICLE) If more that	an two vehicles - use	additional	forms						
Driver's Name (Last, First, MI)		Home Str	reet Address						
Driver's License No./ State	Home Phone	Home Cit	ty/ State/ Zip						
Date of Birth Male Work Phone	Vehicle Type	e Code Veh	nicle Year/ Make	e/ Model/Mi	leage	#	of Occupants		
Owner's Name, Address and Phone	Insurance Company N Address and Phone	Name/Agent	t's Name		License	Plate No).		
Address and Phone						tate of Registration			
Down Extract (CVD : : : CD					State of I	registra			
Damage Estimate (\$) Description of Damage									
PROPERTY DAMAGED OTHER THAN	VEHICLE (Fence.	utility pole	. etc.)						
Owner's Name, Address and Phone	, Efficiely (1 chees,		rty Damage						
IN HIDER DEDSONS (Attack additional ske	nate if u agass ami)								
INJURED PERSONS (Attach additional she Name and Address			Describe Inju	ıries	Age	Sex	Injury Code		
Vehicle No. 1 (State Vehicle)			Describe inje	***************************************	Tigo	Ser	injury code		
Vehicle No. 2									
UNINJURED PASSENGERS INYOUR VE									
Name	Address and Pho	ne							
WITNESS									
Name	Address and Pho	one							

ACCIDENTINFORMATION	
☐ A Head On ☐ B Sideswipe ☐ C Right Angle ☐ D M	
☐ ☐ Glass Only ☐ ☐ Vandalism ☐ ☐ Legal Intervention	n □ K Snow Blower Incident or □ 2 You were hit
Did you Yes If yes, by Signal Light Hand Signal Wo Hand Signal	Which Direction? Right Left Was your seatbelt fastened? Yes No
Were headlights and taillights burning? Yes Were s	safety warning lights burning? Yes No Speed before accident:
ACCIDENT CODES (Description on attached code sheet)	
A Location of Accident B Type of Accident	C Vehicle Action Veh. 1 Veh. 2
■ Roadway Geometrics ☐ ■ Character of Roadway ☐	☐ Traffic Controls Veh. 1 Veh. 2 ☐ Locality ☐ Light Conditions ☐
■ Weather Conditions	Surface Conditions Veh. 1 Veh. 2 Surface Type Veh. 1 Veh. 2
N Vision Obscured Veh. 1 Veh. 2 Condition	eh. 1 Veh. 2 P Driver/Vehicle Veh. 1 Veh. 2 Contributing Circumstances
ACCIDENT DIAGRAM	
Complete Diagram Below Use one of the outlines to sketch the scene of your accident, writing in names or numbers. Use number 1 to indicate State vehicle. 1. Number each vehicle and show direction of travel by arrow: 2. Use solid line to show path before accident → ② dotted line after accident → ② 3. Show pedestrian by: → ○ 4. Show railroad by: +++++++ 5. Show distance and direction to landmarks; identify landmarks by name or number.	
Street or Highway	/
	Street or Highway
INVESTIGATING OFFICER	Street or Highway
Name Badge #	Department/Agency/Address
Were charges filed? Yes No If yes, against who	m?
Describe Violation (attach copy if you were charged)	
SIGNATURES	
Signed:	Signed:
Driver Social Security Number:	Driver's Supervisor/Department Head Revised 6/90

State of Iowa -- Department of General Services ACCIDENT INFORMATION EXCHANGE SHEET

State Employee: Please complete the bottom half of this form and give to the other party. Have the other party complete the top half of this form and give it to you.

Other Vehicle Information

Driver License No./State_____

Owner's Name

Make/Model _____

Street Address

Type of Vehicle (Pass. Car, Truck, etc.)____

Driver's Name	
Street Address	
Driver License No./State	
Work Phone No.	Home Phone No.
Owner's Name	
Street Address	City, State, Zip
Name of Insurance Company	Policy No.
Address of Insurance Company	
Type of Vehicle (Pass. Car, Truck, etc.)	Mileage
Make Year	License Plate No.
Number of Occupants	
Names and Addresses of Passengers:	
Cut Along D	
State Employee	
Name	Work Phone
Home Address	

This is to advise the State of Iowa is self-insured.

Year _____

If you have any questions, please contact: Iowa Department of General Services Risk Management 515-281-7703



Date of Birth

Mileage

License Plate No.

City, State, Zip