## Iowa Department of Human Services Notice of Termination of Child Support

	DATE:
	Case Number:
	EFFECTIVE DATE:Obligor:
	e Department of Human Services will terminate child support recovery rvices on the effective date shown above. The reason for ending services:
	Paternity cannot be established because the child is at least 19 years old. Action to establish paternity is barred by the statute of limitations.
	The obligor's location is unknown. For three years, CSRU has mad regular attempts using multiple sources to locate the obligor, but has been unabl to do so.
	The obligor/alleged father is unknown. For the past year, CSRU has made regular attempts using multiple sources to locate the obligor/alleged father, but has been unable to do so.
	There is no longer a current support order. All support and/or delinquencies are paid.
	There is no longer a current support order and past due amounts are under \$500 or unenforceable under state law. No payment has been made in the last three years.
with opportunity o	you do not agree that services should end, you may discuss the decision th agency staff. The decision will be explained and you will have an portunity to show why you disagree. You may speak for yourself or you y have an attorney, a friend, or a relative represent you. This inference will not in any way affect your right to a hearing described on ge 2.
to cha	TE: You may reapply for services if a change in circumstances could lead establishment or payment of a support order. Notify the CSRU when such anges happen. If you are not receiving public assistance, a new plication and fee will be required.
44 96	gal references: Iowa Code Section 252B 1 Iowa Administrative Code 95.14 (252B) .3 (252B), and 96.15(5) nual reference: Employees' Manual 9-I, Case Closure
	Child Support Recovery Unit

## RIGHTS OF APPEAL

If you disagree with the action to cancel the Child Support Recovery services you are now receiving, you have the right to appeal. Your appeal rights and procedures for hearing are explained in the Iowa Administrative Code, 441--Chapter 7.

HOW TO APPEAL: You must appeal IN WRITING to the local Child Support Recovery Unit in your area or the local Department of Human Services' office in your county. You may use the Department of Human Services' appeal form or you may simply send a letter asking to appeal. There is no fee or charge for an appeal. (Also see Time Limits below.) Department of Human Services' staff will assist you in filing an appeal if you ask them.

TIME LIMITS: You must file your appeal within 30 calendar days or before the effective date shown on the front of this notice (which ever is longer) to be assured of a hearing. When the appeal is filed late (that is, more than 30 calendar days, but less than 90 calendar days after the date of this notice), the Director of the Iowa Department of Human Services must approve, based on a GOOD CAUSE for late filing, whether a hearing shall be granted. No hearing shall be granted if the appeal is filed more than 90 calendar days after the date of this notice. NOTE: Any discussion between you and the Department DOES NOT extend these time periods nor does it in any way diminish your right to a hearing.

CONTINUATION OF BENEFITS: If you appeal within 10 days of the notice date or before the effective date, your service will continue at least until the appeal decision unless you request otherwise.

GRANTING A HEARING: The Department of Human Services will determine whether your appeal will be granted a hearing. If a hearing is granted, you will be notified of the time and place. However, a hearing need not be granted if the appeal is not eligible to be heard. If no hearing is granted, you will be notified of the reason and the procedure to challenge that decision.

PRESENTING YOUR CASE: If a hearing is granted to your appeal, you may explain your disagreement or have someone else, like a relative or friend, explain your disagreement for you. If you wish, you may be represented by an attorney, but the Department cannot pay for the attorney. Your county Department of Human Services' office has information about legal services based on ability to pay that may be available to you. You may also phone Legal Services Corporation of Iowa at 1-800-532-1275. If you live in Polk County, phone 243-1193.

No person shall be discriminated against because of race, color, national origin, sex, age, mental or physical disability, creed, religion, or political belief when applying for employment, or when applying for, or receiving benefits from the Iowa Department of Human Services.

If you think you have been the object of discrimination, you may file a complaint with the Iowa Department of Human Services by completing a Discrimination Complaint form. This form can be obtained from any Human Services office or the Diversity Programs Unit. You may also file a complaint with the Iowa Civil Rights Commission (if you feel you were discriminated against BECAUSE OF race, creed, color, national origin, sex, religion, or disability); or the United State Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil rights.

Iowa Department of Human Services Diversity Programs Unit 1305 E Walnut Des Moines, IA 50319-0114

Iowa Civil Rights Commission 211 E Maple St Second Fl Des Moines, IA 50309-1858

US Department of Health and Human Services Office for Civil Rights Region VII 501 E 12th St Rm 248 Kansas City, MO 64106-2808