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REQUEST FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENT 
   

 
___________________ 
___________________ 
___________________ 
___________________ 
 
 
 

Date:  ___________________ 
Case Number:  ____________ 
________________________ 
Dependents: 
________________________ 
________________________ 
________________________ 
________________________ 
________________________ 
________________________ 

 
________________________ 
Child Support Recovery Unit 
________________________ 
________________________ 
________________________ 
Telephone: _______________________ 
 
We are trying to get an order for paternity and/or support for the children listed above.  Federal and 
state laws say that all support orders must be based on guidelines set in the state.  We use guidelines 
set by the Iowa Supreme Court.  The guidelines are based on both parents’ income.   
 
What do I need to do?  
 
1. Fill out the attached Financial Statement and return it within 10 days.  Iowa law says that when we 

ask for it, parents must give us this information.  Enter your current financial information.  If 
needed, put more information on a separate sheet.  If there is a recent change in your 
finances, show this on the financial statement. 

 
Note: We may file your financial statement with the court, making it a public record.  We 
may give a copy of your financial statement to the other parent during this action. 

 
2. Send us proof of how much you make and your deductions, such as:  

• A copy of your state or federal income tax return 

• W-2 statements 

• Pay stubs 

• Signed statements from your employer or other sources of income 

• Other state or clerk of court payment records 

• Verification of health insurance costs (single and family coverage amounts). 
 
You don’t have to send proof of any FIP (welfare), food stamps, or Medicaid you get.  However, 
even if you get those benefits, you still have to fill out the form.  If you don’t, your income maintenance 
worker may lower or stop your FIP grant or Medicaid benefits.  We may also close your child support 
case.  Please help us get an order based on your real financial situation.     
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3. Remember: 

• Fill out the financial statement correctly.  Sign it.   

• Within 10 days from the date on this letter, return the financial statement and proof to the 
address listed on page 1.   

• We need your information to figure the amount of child support.  If we don’t have your 
information, we may use median income or income for your last-known type of job.  We may 
also check with your employer, government agencies or other income sources.  We may also 
have to estimate your deductions.   

• Report changes in your financial situation to our office.   

• None of the information in this form is meant to give you legal advice or change your 
rights.   

• Our attorney acts only on behalf of the state in legal actions.   
 

If you have questions about how to fill out the financial statement, please contact the office listed on 
page 1. 

 
What if I disagree with this action?  

 
Your rights and time frames for disagreeing with this action are listed in one of the following notices 
you got with this form: 

• The Notice of Support Debt Chapter 252C 

• The Original Notice,  

• The Notice of Intent to Establish Paternity and Support, 

• The Notice to Mother of Intent to Establish Paternity and Support. 
 

Returning a financial statement and proof of income is not a request for: 

• A negotiation conference, or 

• A court hearing, or 

• An answer to a petition.   
  
Even if you don’t respond, we can still try to get an order.  After an order is entered, we will 
enforce it.   
 


