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OFFICIAL NOTICE OF POTENTIAL LICENSE SANCTION 
 
 
 
 
_____________________ 
_____________________ 
_____________________ 
_____________________ 
 

Date: ____________ 
Case Number: _________ 
Worker ID: ____________ 
Child Support Recovery Unit 
_________________ 
_________________ 
_________________ 
Tel. ______________ 

 
 
Your licenses may be sanctioned 
Our records show you owe three months’ worth of support or more.  Iowa Code Chapter 252J allows 
the Child Support Recovery Unit (Unit) to sanction your professional, recreational, and driver’s 
licenses and motor vehicle registrations when you are behind in your support payments.   
 
How can you stop this? 
To stop this action, you must respond within 20 days and: 

♦ Pay all past-due support, or  
♦ Provide us with your employer information, or 
♦ Request a conference for a payment agreement (request must be in writing), or  
♦ Request an exemption if: 

• You are receiving money from Social Security, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), the 
Family Investment Program (FIP), or certain types of county assistance; 

• You have a temporary illness or disability that keeps you from working, or someone in 
your household has an illness or disability that keeps you from working because you are 
needed in the home to care for that person;  

• You are in jail or prison;  
• You receive food assistance and are in a job-training program with Iowa Workforce;  
• You participate in an accredited chemical dependency treatment program which keeps 

you from working; or  
• You are involved in a contempt of court action about support. 

 
If you do not respond 
In 20 days from the date of this notice, we will send a notice (Certificate of Noncompliance) to all 
licensing agencies listed below.  The licensing agencies must suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or 
renew your licenses and/or motor vehicle registrations.  This will also stop you from getting a 
new license and/or registering a motor vehicle in the future.  You must pay any fees or fines 
due to the suspension or revocation of your licenses and/or motor vehicle registrations.   
_____________________ _____________________ 
_____________________ _____________________ 
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Contact the Unit 

♦ To provide your employer information or to claim an exemption   
♦ To request a conference, complete the License Sanction Request for Conference section 

on page 3 and send it to the Unit’s address listed at the bottom of page 3.  The Unit will 
send a notice with the date and time of the conference, and what documents you need to 
provide for the conference. 
• If you do not attend the conference, a Certificate of Noncompliance will issue to the 

licensing agencies.   
• The only issues that can be discussed at the conference are: if the Unit made an error 

in identifying you as the person ordered to pay support, if you owe 3 months’ worth of 
support or more, if you qualify for a payment agreement, or if you qualify for an 
exemption. 

♦ To pay all past-due support, send your payment with your case number (see page 1) to:  
 Collection Services Center 
 PO Box 9125 
 Des Moines, IA  50306-9125 
 
 
This is a legal notice.  If you have an attorney, immediately tell your attorney that you received 
this notice. 

 
 

Policy Regarding Discrimination, Harassment, Affirmative Action, and Equal 
Employment Opportunity 

 
It is the policy of the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS) to provide equal treatment in 
employment and provision of services to applicants, employees, and clients without regard to 
race, color, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, religion, age, disability, political belief, or 
veteran status. 
If you feel DHS has discriminated against or harrassed you, send a letter detailing your 
complaint to: 
Iowa Department of Human Services, Office of Human Resources, Hoover Building – 1st Floor, 
1305 E. Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA  50319-0114;     fax 515-281-4243; or via e-mail: 
FDHS@hhs.iowa.gov.  
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License Sanction Request for Conference 
 
 
Worker ID: ____________ 
Case Number: _________ Name: ________________________ 
 
I want a conference to discuss the sanctioning of my license(s).   
 
You can reach me at this number: (____)______________________ 
 
Days and times I am not available for a conference:  __________________________________ 
 
My employer’s name, address, and phone number: ___________________________________ 
 
               ___________________________________ 
 
 
The Unit will send you an Acknowledgement of Request for Conference with the date and time 
of the conference.  The conference day and time depend on the Unit’s office hours and the 
worker’s availability.  The Unit’s office hours are 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.   
 
Sign here to request a license sanction conference:  ______________________    
                   Signature Date 
 
 

Waiver of Rights: (Optional)   
 
 
Iowa Code 252J.4 requires the Unit to wait ten days before holding the conference.  By signing 
below, I agree to give up this ten-day waiting period and agree to an earlier date, which may be 
the same date that I request the conference. 
 
_______________________________          _________________ 
Signature (Optional) Date 
 
 
 
Send this form to:  Child Support Recovery Unit 

______________________ 
______________________ 
______________________ 
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