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Notice of Intake Decision 
      

      

Dear      : 

You are receiving this notice because you made a report of suspected child abuse to our office in 
      on      , regarding      . Iowa law requires that we notify you of our decision on whether or 
not the Department will take action on the report you made. 

 The report of suspected child abuse you made has been accepted for assessment. The 
assessment takes up to 20 business days to complete. The worker assigned may contact you to 
confirm information or to obtain additional information. Otherwise, there may be no further 
contact with you. However, we encourage you to contact our office if you continue to have 
concerns or have additional information. Please note, Iowa law does not allow us to notify you of 
the outcome of the assessment unless the assessment has been accepted as a child abuse 
assessment and you are a mandatory reporter making this report as required by law. 

 The report of suspected child abuse you made will not result in an assessment because: 

 The person who is the subject of the suspected abuse is not a child. 

 The person alleged responsible for the abuse is not a caretaker of the child. 

 The person alleged responsible for the abuse is not a caretaker of the child and is not a 
person 14 years or older who resides in a home with the child. 

 The incident alleged Denial of Critical Care or Dangerous Substances and did not occur 
within five years of a report to the department. 

 A reasonable belief does not exist to suspect abuse or neglect occurred. 

 The reported allegation was previously accepted for assessment. 

 The reported allegation is outside of this state’s jurisdiction. 

As a result of your report, we have forwarded information to: 

 The county attorney’s office 
 Law enforcement       

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. 

Sincerely, 

       
 

      

Child Protective Intake Supervisor Date 

        
Telephone Number 
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It is the intent of Iowa child abuse laws to provide the greatest possible protection to victims or 
potential victims of abuse through: 

▪ Encouraging the increased reporting of suspected cases of abuse. 
▪ Ensuring the thorough and prompt assessment of these reports. 

Making a report of suspected child abuse may be a stressful event, since you may not fully know 
what action may come as a result of your report. The following are frequently asked questions. 

What is Child Abuse? 
Iowa law identifies child abuse as being any of the following, if the result of acts or omissions of the 
child’s caretaker: 

▪ Physical abuse: Injuries that are inflicted non-accidentally, or that do not have an explanation 
that fits the injury. Spanking a child is not considered to be physical abuse, unless it leaves a 
bruise or other injury. 

▪ Mental injury: An intellectual or psychological injury that causes observable and substantial 
impairment and is diagnosed and confirmed by a physician or mental health professional. 

▪ Sexual abuse: Sexual activity with a child, or allowing a child to be sexually abused. 

▪ Child prostitution: Permitting or encouraging a child to engage in prostitution. 

▪ Denial of critical care: A failure to provide food, clothing, shelter, or other care (including medical 
care, mental health care, or supervision) necessary for a child’s well-being when financially able to 
do so and this exposes a child to danger of injury or death and the failure occurred within five 
years of a report to the Department. 

▪ Presence of an illegal drug in a child’s body: An illegal drug is found in a child’s body. 

▪ Dangerous substances: Illegal drug use, possession, manufacturing, cultivation, or distribution in 
the presence of a child; or intent to manufacture in a child’s home, on the premises, or in a motor 
vehicle located on the premises and the incident occurred within five years of a report to the 
Department. 

▪ Bestiality in the presence of a minor: A sex act with an animal in the presence of a minor. 

▪ Allows access by a registered sex offender: Knowingly allows unsupervised contact or control 
or custody by a person who is a registered sex offender. 

▪ Allows access to obscene material: Knowingly allows access to or exhibits or disseminates 
obscene material to a child. 

▪ Child sex trafficking: The recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision, obtaining, 
patronizing, or soliciting of a child for the purpose of commercial sexual activity. 

Is the family told who made the report? 
No. Iowa law does not permit the child protection worker or the Department to disclose who made the 
child abuse report. However, a court may order the Department to identify the reporter. 

Will the child be removed? 
Removal of the child is considered to be a last resort. Removal occurs only when the child can’t be 
protected in any other way. The Department of Health and Human Services does not have legal 
authority to remove a child. If a removal is necessary, the Department must seek the assistance of 
law enforcement or obtain a court order. 

What can I do if I disagree with a decision to reject the report of suspected child abuse? 
A child protective worker supervisor makes the decision to reject a report of suspected child abuse. If 
you disagree with the decision to reject a report, you may contact the child protective worker 
supervisor whose name and telephone number are listed on page one. 


