Iowa Department Of Human Services Annual Fee Initial Letter to Payee

Welcome to the Iowa Child Support Recovery Unit (CSRU). We are pleased to serve you and your family. We look forward to meeting your child support needs as we provide child support services for your case. CSRU is here to support you through the child support process. Recently a court order for child support was added to your case. This letter is to inform you about the Annual Fee.

Why is there an Annual Fee?

Federal law requires that all state child support agencies collect an annual fee.

How will I know if the Annual Fee applies to my case(s)?

The fee is only charges on child support cases that meet all of the following conditions:

You, the custodial parent

• Received \$550 or more in child support payments during the federal fiscal year

(October 1st – September 30th), and

- Have not already paid a child support annual fee in another state, and
- Never received cash assistance for any child on the case under Title IV-A of the Social

Security Act (such as FIP, TANF, ADC benefits) in Iowa or another state.

What do I do if I paid the fee in another state or received cash assistance with the child in another state?

Please complete and return page 3 of this form. Please note: If you received cash assistance in Iowa with the child you do not need to complete page 3 of this form. Our system is automated with this information. If you are charged the fee please contact your local CSRU office immediately if you believe the fee should be waived.

I have not received cash assistance but have received other assistance (such as Medicaid) from the state. Will I have to pay the Annual Fee?

- The annual fee is **required** of families receiving other forms of public assistance (such as child care, food stamps, and Medicaid/Title 19).
- The annual fee is only waived if you, along with any child on the case, have received a cash grant under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act (such as FIP, TANF, or ADC benefits).

What do I do if I am charged the annual fee but think my case may be exempt and the fee should be waived?

Please contact your local CSRU office immediately at _____.

How will the Annual Service Fee be collected?

lowa law requires the person receiving child support to be responsible for the fee.

- CSRU automatically deducts the fee from your support payment, after we've sent you
 the first \$550 in a federal fiscal year (October 1st September 30th). Since the fee is
 automatically deducted from your support, no money is due at this time. Please do
 not send payment.
- If the fee cannot be collected from one monthly payment, CSRU may need to collect the fee over several payments.
- If you have multiple child support cases, a fee is due on each case where at least \$550 in support is sent to you.
- If you do not receive \$550 in payments between October 1st and September 30th no fee will be collected during that particular fiscal year.

If you have any questions or concerns about this letter, please call your local office at

CP Name:

Case #: _____

This is NOT a Bill – Do Not Send Money

Please complete and return this page if:

- You, along with any child on the case, received cash assistance in another state (not Medicaid or food stamps), or
- The annual fee was paid in another state this year.

I received cash assistance in the sta	ate of from
to for the follo	
child(ren),,	,,
Or	
The fee was paid on (date)	in the state of
true and correct.	rsuant to the laws of the State of Iowa that the preceding is
Signature:	Date:
Send this information to:	

Policy Regarding Discrimination, Harassment, Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity

The lowa Department of Human Services (DHS) policy on non-discrimination, harassment, affirmative action, and equal employment can be viewed on the DHS website at the bottom of the page at dhs.iowa.gov.