
470-5796 (10/23) 

Iowa Department of Health and Human Services 

Foster Care Reimbursement 

Request for Child Care Assistance Gap Funding 

Iowa law allows child care providers to charge families the difference between the state Child Care Assistance (CCA) 

reimbursement rate and the rate the provider would typically charge a private-pay family.  Additionally, a provider may 

charge families for absence days beyond what the CCA program will pay for (currently 6 days per month) if that is their 

standard practice for private-pay families.  If a child care provider charges families using the CCA program an amount 

above their co-pay the child care provider must provide this in writing and the family must agree in writing to these 

additional charges, prior to providing the child care services. 

Instructions: Foster parents who have been charged amounts beyond what CCA will pay or absence days beyond 6 

per month may submit those expenses for reimbursement by completing the attached form AND attaching a copy of 

the written agreement between the provider and family regarding the additional charges. Each foster child will need their 

own separate request completed to be reimbursed.  Please send your request with documentation to 

fc-ccagap@dhs.state.ia.us. 

If you have any questions please contact Nancy Swanson, Foster Care Program Manager at nswanso@dhs.state.ia.us. 

Foster Parent(s) Name:       

Foster Child Name:       

Child Care Program/Provider Name:       

Child Care Provider ID (KinderTrack Number) if applicable:       

CCA Billing Period 

(Please use the same 2-week 

billing periods as the CCA 

program) 

CCA Amount 

Paid (completed 

by Child Care 

Provider) 

Additional 

amount charged 

to the family 

(difference 

between CCA 

payment and 

private pay rate) 

Additional 

amount charged 

to the family 

(absent days 

beyond 6 per 

month) 

e.g. 8/21/23-09/03/23 $200.50 $  $  

      $       $       $       

      $       $       $       

      $       $       $       

      $       $       $       

 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 

 Reimbursement Amount: $0.00 

Attestation 

By signing my name, I confirm that the above information is accurate. 

Child Care Provider Signature Date 

      

Foster Parent Signature Date 
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