
595-1489 (Rev. 4/07) 

State of Iowa 
NON-LAW ENFORCEMENT RECORD CHECK REQUEST 

FORM A 

ACCOUNT NUMBER DHS 

FROM:       

      

      

Phone #       

TO: Iowa Division of Criminal 
Investigation 
Bureau of Identification, 1st Floor 
215 E 7th Street 
Des Moines, Iowa 50319 
(515) 281-4776 
(515) 725-6080 (fax) 

Fax #       

I am requesting an IOWA CRIMINAL HISTORY check on: 
(Type or Print Legibly) 

REQUEST 

                      

 Last Name 
(mandatory) 

 First Name 
(mandatory) 

 Middle Name 
(recommended) 

 

                  

 Date of Birth 
(mandatory) 

 Sex 
(mandatory) 

 Social Security Number 
(recommended) 

 

   

Signature of Requester 

There is a separate Form “A” required for each last name submitted 

(DCI Use Only) 
RESULTS 

As of ______________________________________, a name and date of birth check revealed: 

CCH record attached   No CCH record found   

DCI initials _______________ 

WAIVER 

I hereby give permission for the above requesting official to conduct an Iowa criminal history 
record check with the Division of Criminal Investigation.  Any information maintained by the 
DCI may be released as allowed by law. 
     

 Signature  Date  



595-1489 (Rev. 4/07) 

WAIVER: 

Iowa law does not require a waiver.  However, without a waiver any arrest over 18 months 
old, without a disposition, cannot be given to a non-law enforcement agency.  Attached 
waivers are not accepted. 

Deferred judgments where DCI has received notice of successful completion of probation 
also cannot be given out to non-law enforcement agencies without a signed waiver. 

General Information: 

The information requested is based on name and exact date of birth only.  Without 
fingerprints, a positive identification cannot be assured.  If a person disputes the accuracy of 
information maintained by the Department, they may challenge the information by writing to 
the address on the front of this form or personally appearing at DCI headquarters during 
normal working hours. 

The records maintained by the Iowa Department of Public Safety are based upon reports 
from other criminal justice agencies and therefore, the Department cannot guarantee the 
completeness of the information provided. 

The criminal history check is of the Iowa Central Repository only.  No other state or federal 
agency records can be searched under current law. 

In Iowa, a deferred judgment is not considered a conviction once the defendant has been 
discharged after successfully completing probation.  However, it should be noted that a 
deferred judgment may still be considered as an offense when considering charges for certain 
specified multiple offense crimes, i.e., second offense OWI.  If a disposition reflects that a 
deferred judgment was given, you may want to inquire of the individual his or her current 
status. 

A deferred sentence is a conviction.  The judge simply withholds implementing a sentence 
for a certain probationary period.  If probation is successful, the sentence is not carried out. 

Any questions in reference to Iowa criminal history records can be answered by writing to 
the address on the front of this form or calling (515) 725-6066 between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 
p.m., Monday - Friday. 

If the “No CCH record found” box is checked, it could also mean that information in the file 
is not releasable per Iowa law without a waiver. 

REMINDER  –  (1)  Send in a separate form for each surname, (2)  $13 for each surname, 
$15 fax or $5 volunteer, (3)  Attach a billing form with request(s), and  (4)  Submit a self-
addressed envelope.  Iowa law requires employers to pay the fee for potential employees’ 
record checks. 


