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Thank you for providing child care through the use of a Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement. If you 

have any questions concerning the minimum requirements or need help in setting up or improving your 

program, please feel free to ask for consultation from a child care worker in your local Department of Health 

and Human Services office or from your local child care resource and referral agency. 

This handbook explains the minimum requirements for child care providers that are not registered but have 

a child care assistance provider agreement. These requirements are outlined in Iowa Code 237A and 441 

Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 120. When you sign the application form, you are certifying that you 

meet all of these requirements. 

 

Definitions 

Legal reference: 441 IAC Chapter 120 

“Adult” means a person aged 18 or older. 

“Assistant” means a responsible person aged 14 or older. The assistant may never be left alone with 

children. Ultimate responsibility for supervision is with the child care provider. 

“Child” means either: 

▪ A person 12 years of age or younger. 

▪ A person 13 years of age or older but younger than 19 years of age who has a developmental disability as 

defined under the federal Developmental Disability Assistance and Bill of Rights Act. 

“Child care” means the care, supervision, or guidance of a child by a person other than the child’s parent, 

guardian, or custodian for periods of less than 24 hours per day per child on a regular basis. “Child care” 

does not mean special activity programs that meet on a regular basis, such as: 

▪ Music or dance classes, 

▪ Organized athletics or sports programs, 

▪ Scouting programs, 

▪ Hobby or craft classes or 

▪ Clubs. 

“Child care home” means a person or program providing child care to either of the following children at 

any one time that is not registered to provide child care, as authorized under Iowa Code section 237A.3. 

▪ Five or fewer children 

▪ Six or fewer children if at least one of the children is school aged 

“Department” means the Department of Health and Human Services. 

“Involvement with child care” means: 

▪ Licensed or registered as a child care facility, 

▪ Employed in a child care facility, 

▪ Residing in a child care facility, 

▪ Receiving public funding for providing child care, 

▪ Providing child care as a child care home provider, or 

▪ Residing in a child care home. 

“Parent” means parent or legal guardian. 
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“Person subject to an evaluation” means a person who has committed a transgression and who is 

described by any of the following: 

▪ The person is being considered for registration or is registered. 

▪ The person is being considered by a child care facility for employment involving direct responsibility for a 

child or with access to a child when the child is alone, or the person is employed with such 

responsibilities. 

▪ The person will reside or resides in a child care facility. 

▪ The person has applied for or receives public funding for providing child care. 

▪ The person will reside or resides in a child care home that is not registered but that receives public 

funding for providing child care. 

“Relative” means grandparents, great grandparents, aunts, uncles, and siblings living in a separate residence. 

“Transgression” means the existence of any of the following in a person’s record: 

▪ Conviction of a crime. 

▪ A record of having committed founded child or dependent adult abuse. 

▪ Listing in the sex offender registry established under Iowa Code Chapter 692A. 

▪ A record of having committed a public or civil offense. 

▪ Department revocation or denial of a child care facility registration or license due to the person’s 

continued or repeated failure to operate the child care facility in compliance with licensing and 

registration laws and rules. 

Application for a Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.2(237A.12) 

If you want to become a nonregistered child care home provider, you will need to fill out: 

▪ Form 470-2890, Payment Application for Nonregistered Providers, and 

▪ Form 470-3871, Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement. 

Also form 470-2890 to inform the Department of any changes in circumstances that would affect your 

provider agreement. If your household composition changes, you must notify HHS. 

Renewal of your provider agreement shall be completed every 24 months. 

Check with the appropriate authorities to determine how the following local, state, or federal laws apply to 

you: 

▪ Zoning code 

▪ Building code 

▪ Fire code 

▪ Business license 

▪ State and federal income tax 

▪ Unemployment insurance 

▪ Worker’s Compensation 

▪ Minimum wage and hour requirements 

▪ OSHA 

▪ Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) 

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Record Checks 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.11(237A.12) 

For the protection of children, Iowa Code Chapter 237A requires that child care providers and others in the 

home must submit to checks for criminal or child abuse history. The Department submits record checks for: 

▪ Every operator of a child care home. 

▪ All staff members, including substitute providers, with direct responsibility for child care. 

▪ Anyone 14 years and older who is living in the child care home. 

▪ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone. 

The purpose of the record checks is to determine whether the person has any founded child abuse reports, 

criminal convictions, or is on the sex offender registry. 

Criminal Records Check 

Iowa criminal records checks must be completed before a child care assistance provider agreement will 

be issued. Form DCI-77, State of Iowa Criminal History Record Check Request Form, must be completed 

by: 

▪ Every operator of a child care home. 

▪ All staff members, including substitute providers, with direct responsibility for child care. 

▪ Anyone 14 years and older who is living in the child care home. 

▪ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone. 

You are responsible for the completion of all required criminal record check forms. State of Iowa 

record checks are repeated every 24 months and when the Department or registrant becomes aware 

of any new transgressions committed by that person in another state. 

National Criminal Records Check 

Effective July 1, 2013, national criminal records checks, based on fingerprints, must be completed 

before a home can become or renew a child care assistance provider agreement. Under Iowa law, DCI 

Waiver Agreement, form DCI-45, and Federal Fingerprint Card, form FD-258, must be completed by: 

▪ Every operator or registrant of a child care home. 

▪ All staff members, including substitute providers, with direct responsibility for child care. 

▪ Anyone 18 years and older who is living in the child care home. 

▪ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone. 

Providers will be responsible for having their fingerprints “rolled” before submitting their registration 

materials. The provider is responsible for the completion of all required criminal record check forms. 

The national criminal history record check shall be repeated for each person subject to the check 

every four years and when the Department or registrant becomes aware of any new transgressions 

committed by that person in another state. The Department is responsible for the cost of conducting 

the national criminal history record check. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Child Abuse Registry Check 

Child abuse registry checks must be completed before a home becomes registered as a child care 

home. A child abuse registry check is to be completed on: 

▪ Every operator of a child care home. 

▪ All substitute providers or assistants, with direct responsibility for child care. 

▪ Anyone 14 years and older who is living in the child care home. 

▪ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone. 

The child abuse registry check is initiated by the completion of form 470-3301, Authorization for Release 

of Child and Dependent Adult Abuse. 

Absolute Prohibitions 

Individuals with the following convictions or founded child abuse reports are prohibited from: 

▪ Being a child care home provider, 

▪ Employment in a child care home, 

▪ Living in a child development home, 

▪ Receiving public funding for providing child care, or 

▪ Living in a non-registered child care home that receives public funding. 

The convictions or founded child abuse reports include: 

▪ Founded child or dependent abuse that was determined to be sexual abuse. 

▪ Person is required to be listed on any state or national sex offender registry. 

Any of the following felony convictions: 

▪ Child endangerment or neglect or abandonment of a dependent person 

▪ Domestic abuse 

▪ Crime against a child including, but not limited to, sexual exploitation of a minor 

▪ Forcible felony 

▪ Arson 

The person has a record of a misdemeanor conviction against a child that constitutes one of the 

following offenses: 

▪ Child abuse 

▪ Child endangerment 

▪ Sexual assault 

▪ Child pornography 

Five-Year Prohibitions 

Individuals with the following convictions and founded abuse reports are prohibited from: 

▪ Being a child care home provider, 

▪ Employment in a child care home, 

▪ Living in a child care home, 

▪ Receiving public funding for providing child care, or 

▪ Living in a non-registered child care home that receives public funding. 
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Individuals are prohibited for five years from the date of conviction or founded abuse report for the 

following: 

▪ Conviction of controlled substance offense. 

▪ Founded child abuse that was determined to be physical abuse. 

Individuals with these convictions or founded child abuse reports may reapply after the five-year period 

has passed. 

Individuals with other founded child abuse reports or criminal convictions may be approved for 

registration, employment, or residence, depending on the Department’s evaluation of the incident. 

Record Check Evaluations 

The person having a record of criminal conviction or founded abuse will be sent form 470-2310, Record 

Check Evaluation, to complete and return to the child care worker. This form must be returned to the 

Department within ten days. If the form is not returned within ten days, you will be sent a Notice of 

Decision denying or cancelling your child care home Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement. 

If the Department receives the completed Record Check Evaluation within ten days, the Department will 

evaluate the criminal conviction or founded child abuse record as required under Iowa Code section 

237A.5. The purpose of the evaluation is to determine whether or not the criminal conviction or 

founded child abuse merits prohibition of employment or residence in a child care home. Based on the 

evaluation results, a Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement may be approved, denied, or canceled. 

If a person subject to a record check refuses to consent to a record check, the person shall be 

prohibited from involvement with child care. 

If a person has been convicted of a crime and makes what the person knows to be a false statement of 

material fact in connection with the conviction or of a record check, the person shall be prohibited 

from involvement with child care. 

 

Issuance of Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(1)“k” 

The Department issues a Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement when the applicant meets all health and 

safety and fire requirements. The Department reserves the right to conduct a pre-inspection to assess 

compliance with health, safety, and fire requirements for those persons that have a history of non-compliance 

with regulatory standards. 

 

Compliance Checks 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.4(237A.12) 

An unannounced compliance visit shall be conducted not less than annually for compliance with health, safety, 

and fire standards. Completed evaluation checklists shall be placed in agency files. 

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Parental Access 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.5(237A.12) 

Parents shall be afforded unlimited access to their children and to the people caring for their children during 

the normal hours of operation or whenever their children are in your care, unless parental contact is 

prohibited by court order. 

 

Denial or Termination of a Provider Agreement 

The Department will deny or terminate a provider agreement if it finds a hazard to the safety and well-being 

of a child and you cannot or refuse to correct the hazard. This policy applies even though the hazard may not 

have been specifically listed under the health and safety rules. 

COMMENT: You have a right to appeal if the Department denies your application or terminates your 

provider agreement. You may request a hearing within 30 days after the date the official notice was mailed. 

You should submit your request for an appeal to the local Department office or to the HHS Appeals Section, 

5th Floor, 1305 E Walnut St, Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0114. 

If your application is denied due to a recent founded child abuse record, you may also consult with the local 

Department office about filing a request for review of the child abuse report findings. 

 

Number of Children 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.6(237A.12) 

The number of children shall conform to the following standards: 

▪ No more than five children that are not enrolled in school shall receive care at any one time. One 

additional school aged child may also receive care for no more than six total children. 

▪ In determining the number of children cared for at any one time in a child care home, each child present 

in the child care home shall be considered to be receiving care unless the child is described by one of the 

following exceptions: 

• The child’s parent, guardian, or custodian established or operates the child care home and either the 

child is attending school or the child receives child care full-time on a regular basis from another 

person. 

• The child has been present in the child care home for more than 72 consecutive hours and meets 

the requirements of the exception listed above as though the person who established or operates 

the child care home is the child’s parent, guardian, or custodian. 

 

Provider Standards for All Child Care Homes 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.7(237A.12) 

You must meet the following requirements: 

▪ Give careful supervision at all times. 

▪ Exchange information with the parent of each child frequently to enhance the quality of care. 

▪ Give consistent, dependable care and be capable of handling emergencies. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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▪ Be present at all times except when emergencies occur or an absence is planned, at which time care shall 

be provided by a department-approved substitute. When an absence is planned, give parents at least 24 

hours’ prior notice. 

▪ Shall be free of the use of illegal drugs and shall not be under the influence of alcohol or of any 

prescription or non-prescription drug that could impair their ability to give careful supervision. 

▪ Be at least 18 years of age. 

 

Substitutes 

As the provider, you are responsible for providing adequate and appropriate supervision at all times children 

are in attendance. Ultimate responsibility for supervision is with you. Any substitute provider shall have the 

same responsibility for providing adequate and appropriate supervision. 

▪ Substitute providers must be 18 years of age or older. 

▪ All child care home regulations regarding supervision and care of children apply to substitutes. 

▪ Except in emergency situations, inform parents in advance of the planned use of a substitute provider. 

Substitute providers must have the minimum health and safety training within three months or prior to 

substitute care, whichever comes first. 

Maintain a written record of the number of hours substitute care was provided, including the date and the 

name of the substitute provider. Substitute care may be used in the home up to 25 child care hours per 

month and for an additional period of up to two weeks in a 12 month period. This limit applies to the child 

care home, regardless of the number of individuals who may be providing the substitute care. 

NOTE: Limits to the number of substitute care hours allowed does not apply when the provider is engaged 

in jury duty or official duties connected with the provider’s membership on a state board, committee, or 

other policy related body. 

 

Standards 

The next sections state the standards that apply to all child care homes. Conditions in the home shall be safe, 

sanitary, and free of hazards. 

 

Program Standards for All Child Care Homes 

Facility Requirements 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(1) 

▪ The home shall have a non-pay, working land-line or mobile telephone with emergency numbers 

posted and readily accessible for the following: 

• Police 

• Fire 

• Ambulance 

• Poison information center 

• The number for each child’s parent 

• A responsible person who can be reached when the parent cannot 

• Each child’s physician 

▪ All travel vehicles must have a paper copy of emergency parent contact information. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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▪ Electrical wiring shall be maintained, and all accessible electrical outlets shall be tamper-resistant 

outlets or shall be safely capped. 

▪ Electrical cords shall be properly used. Improper use includes running cords under rugs, over 

hooks, through door openings, or other use that has been known to be hazardous. 

▪ Combustible materials shall be kept a minimum of three feet away from furnaces, stoves, water 

heaters, and gas dryers. 

▪ Approved safety gates at stairways and doors shall be provided and used as needed. 

▪ A private water supply shall have an annual laboratory analysis conducted to show satisfactory 

bacteriological quality. When children under the age of two are to be cared for, the analysis shall 

include a nitrate analysis. When private water supplies are determined unsuitable for drinking, 

commercially bottled water or water treated through a process approved by the health 

department or designee shall be provided. 

COMMENT: If your water is not supplied by a public system, you must have an annual laboratory 

analysis on file with the Department. You can get forms and a container for a laboratory analysis 

from the State Hygienic Laboratory in Iowa City, Iowa 52242, or from your local health 

department. There may be a charge for this analysis. If your water analysis report does not show 

satisfactory quality, you must provide a statement indicating your alternative plan for a safe water 

supply. 

▪ A safety barrier shall surround any heating stove or heating element, in order to prevent burns. 

COMMENT: Anything that produces enough heat to burn a small child should have some type of 

barrier around it to prevent injury to a child. Heat sources could include, but are not limited to, 

wood-burning stoves, space heaters, fireplaces, radiators, electric baseboard heaters, or steam-

producing vaporizers, whenever in operation. 

▪ The home shall have at least one 2A 10BC rated fire extinguisher located in a visible and readily 

accessible place on each child-occupied floor. 

▪ The home shall have at least one single-station, battery-operated, UL-approved smoke detector in 

each child-occupied room and at the top of every stairway. Each smoke detector shall be installed 

according to manufacturer’s recommendations. The provider shall test each smoke detector 

monthly and keep a record of testing for inspection purposes. 

▪ Smoking and the use of tobacco products shall be prohibited at all times in the home and in every 

vehicle in which children receiving care in the home are transported. Smoking and the use of 

tobacco products shall be prohibited in the outdoor play area during the home’s hours of 

operation. Nonsmoking signs shall be posted at every entrance of the child care home and in every 

vehicle used to transport children. All signs shall include: 

• The telephone number for reporting complaints, and 

• The Internet address of the department of public health (www.iowasmokefreeair.gov). 

▪ Homes served by private sewage disposal systems shall be operated and maintained to ensure the 

system is properly treating wastewater and not creating an unsanitary condition in the 

environment. 

COMMENT: If HHS identifies concerns about non-compliance, a referral will be made to the local 

county sanitarian. 

▪ A provider operating in a facility built before 1978 shall assess and control lead hazards before 

being issued an initial Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement or a renewal of the agreement. To 

comply with this requirement, the provider shall: 

http://www.iowasmokefreeair.gov/
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• Determine if painted surfaces on the interior or exterior of the facility are chipping, peeling, 

cracking, or are in need of repair. Painted surfaces include walls, ceilings, windows, doors, 

stairs, and woodwork; and 

•  If painted surfaces are in need of repair, hire an Iowa certified lead-safe renovator to make 

repairs or take training to become an Iowa certified lead-safe renovator. Iowa lead-safe 

renovators shall apply interim controls on any chipping, peeling, or cracking paint found, using 

lead-safe work methods in accordance with and as defined by department of public health 

rules at 641—Chapters 69 and 70The child care home shall be located in a single-family 

residence that is owned, rented, or leased by the provider. 

COMMENT: A “single-family residence” includes an apartment, condominium, townhouse, or 

other individual unit within a multiple unit residential dwelling, but does not include a commercial 

or industrial building that is primarily used for purposes other than a residence. 

▪ Any driver who transports children for any purpose shall have a valid driver’s license and adequate 

motor vehicle insurance that authorizes the driver to operate the type of vehicle being driven. 

Child restrain devices shall be utilized in compliance with Iowa Code 321.446. 

▪ Providers shall inform parents of the presence of any pet in the home: 

• Each dog or cat in the household shall undergo an annual health examination by a licensed 

veterinarian. Acceptable exams shall be documented on form 470-5153, Pet Health Examination 

Veterinary Health Certificate. 

• Each pet bird in the household shall be purchased from a dealer licensed by the Iowa 

Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and shall be examined by a veterinarian to 

verify that it is free of infectious disease. Acceptable exams shall be documented on form 470-

5153, Pet Health Examination Veterinary Health Certificate. 

• Aquariums shall be well maintained and installed in a manner that prevents children from 

accessing water or pulling on the tank. 

• All animal waste must be immediately removed from children’s areas and properly disposed of. 

Children shall not perform feeding or care of pets or clean-up of pet waste. 

• No animals shall be allowed in food preparation, storage, or serving areas during food 

preparation and serving times. 

COMMENT: Bringing animals and children together has both risks and benefits. Pets teach children 

how to be gentle and responsible, about life and death, and about unconditional love. However, 

animals can pose serious health risks. You must be sure an animal is healthy and is a suitable pet to 

bring into contact with children. 

COMMENT: 3.4.2.2 of Caring For Our Children suggest that reptiles or exotic animals may be 

considered if in a tank or container in which the child cannot touch the animal 

• RATIONALE: Animals, even pets, are a source of illness for people. People may be a source of 

illness for animals. Reptiles may carry salmonella, a type of bacteria that causes diarrhea and 

fever. Even turtles, baby chickens, ducks, dogs, and cats can carry salmonella. This creates a 

risk to children who are likely to put unwashed hands in their mouths. 
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▪ You must document all injuries that require first aid or medical care using an injury report form. 

The form must include date of occurrence, when it was shared with the parent, and maintained in 

the child’s file. Serious injuries must be reported to the Department within 24 hours of the 

incident. Serious injuries include: 

• Disabling mental illness 

• Bodily injury which creates a substantial risk of death, causes serious permanent disfigurement, 

or causes protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ 

• Any injury to a child that requires surgical repair and necessitates the administration of general 

anesthesia 

• Includes, but is not limited to, skull fractures, rib fractures, metaphyseal fractures of the long 

bones of children under the age of four years. 

All reports to the Department must be completed on the Healthy Child Care Iowa Child 

Injury/Incident Report Form and submitted to ccsid@dhs.state.ia.us Within 24 hours of the incident. 

Outdoor Space 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(2) 

▪ A safe outdoor play area shall: 

• Be maintained in good condition throughout the year; 

• Be fenced off when located on a busy thoroughfare or near a hazard that may be injurious to a 

child; 

• Have both sunny and shaded areas; 

• Be kept free from litter, rubbish, and flammable materials; 

• Be free from contamination by drainage or ponding of sewage, household waste, or storm 

water. 

COMMENT: Equipment should be free of sharp, loose, or pointed parts that could cause injury to 

a child. Follow manufacturer's instructions for installation, anchoring of permanent outdoor play 

equipment such as swing sets or climbers and consider appropriate fall surfacing. The play area 

should be well drained, and free from contamination caused by sewage, household drainage waste, 

or storm water. 

▪ When there is a swimming or wading pool on the premises: 

• The use of wading pools are discouraged because of the risk for drowning and infectious 

disease, if used the wading pool shall be drained daily and shall be inaccessible to children 

when it is not in use. 

• An above-ground or in-ground swimming pool that is not fenced shall be covered whenever 

the pool is not in use. 

• The cover shall meet or exceed the ASTM International (formerly known as the American 

Society for Testing and Materials) specification intended to reduce the risk of drowning by 

inhibiting access to the water by children under five years of age. 

• An uncovered above-ground swimming pool shall be enclosed with an approved fence that is 

non-climbable and has a minimum height of four feet. 

• An uncovered in-ground swimming pool shall be enclosed with a fence that is non-climbable 

and is at least four feet high and flush with the ground. 

▪ If children are allowed to use an above-ground or in-ground swimming pool: 

mailto:ccsid@dhs.state.ia.us
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf


Comm. 095 Page 11 

Comm. 095 (Rev. 04/24) 

• Written permission from parents shall be kept on file. 

• Equipment needed to rescue a child or adult shall be readily accessible. 

• You must accompany the children and directly supervise during swimming or wading activities. 

• You must complete CPR for infants, toddlers, and children. 

COMMENT: The National Standards say that children should not be permitted in hot tubs, spas, 

or saunas. Toddlers and infants are especially at risk of overheating. These areas should be 

secured so that children do not have unsupervised access. Bathtubs, buckets, diaper pails, and 

other pails of water should be emptied immediately after use. 

COMMENT: Sprinklers, hoses, or small individual water buckets are safe alternatives as a 

cooling or play activity. Flotation devices should never be used as a substitute for supervision. 

The need for constant supervision is especially important for very young children and children 

with physical disability or mental retardation. Knowing how to swim does not make a child 

drown-proof. 

Medications and Hazardous Materials 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(3) 

▪ All medicines and poisonous, toxic, or otherwise unsafe materials shall be secured from access by 

a child. 

▪ First-aid supplies shall include, but are not limited to, adhesive bandages, bottled water, disposable 

tweezers, and disposable plastic gloves. A first aid kit must be available in any vehicle you use to 

transport children. The first aid kit shall be stored in an area inaccessible to children. 

▪ Medications shall be given only with the parent’s or doctor’s written authorization. Each 

prescribed medication shall be accompanied by a physician’s or pharmacist’s direction. Both 

nonprescription and prescription medications shall be in the original container with directions 

intact and labeled with the child’s name. 

▪ All medications shall be stored properly. When refrigeration is required, medicine shall be stored 

in a separate, covered container so as to prevent contamination of food or other medications. 

▪ All medications shall be stored so they are inaccessible to children. 

▪ Any medication administered to a child shall be recorded, and the record shall indicate the name 

of the medication, the date and time of administration, and the amount given. 

▪ Medications shall not be provided to a child if the provider has not completed pre-service or 

orientation training that includes medication administration. 

COMMENT: Medications include prescription medicines, over-the-counter medicines, salves and 

lotions, including those for itches, rashes, and diaper rash. Over-the-counter medications should 

be given only following package directions regarding dosage, length of time given, frequency given, 

etc. Any instructions beyond those on the labeling should have a doctor’s authorization. 

▪ The provider shall have procedures related to infectious disease control and handling of any bodily 

excrement or discharge, including blood. Soiled diapers shall be stored in containers separate from 

other waste. 

• Module 4 on Essentials for Prevention and Control of Infectious Disease provides guidance on 

appropriate procedures, such as: 

• Use disposable gloves and other personal protective equipment, as appropriate, when in 

contact with blood or body fluids that may contain blood 

• Wash hands following contact with blood or body fluids 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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• Use a designated diapering area and follow appropriate diapering procedures which can be 

located at https://idph.iowa.gov/hcci/products 

• if you are interested in more information about preventing infectious diseases; HHS sponsors 

a free on-line Universal Precautions training. This can be found on i-PoWeR. 

Emergency Plans 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(4) 

▪ Emergency plans in case of man-made or natural disaster shall be written and posted by the 

primary and secondary exits. The plans must map evacuation routes and tornado and flood shelter 

areas. 

▪ Fire and tornado drills shall be practiced monthly. Documentation of monthly practice shall be 

kept on file. 

COMMENT: This can be as simple as a chart showing the date the drills were practiced, the time 

of the day, and how long it took to evacuate all the children safely. 

▪ You must have procedures in place for the following: 

• Evacuation to safely leave the facility 

• Relocation to a common, safe location after evacuation 

• Shelter-in-place to take immediate shelter where you are when it is unsafe to leave that 

location due to the emergent issue 

• Lock down protocol to protect children and providers from an external situation 

• Communication and reunification with families 

• Continuity of operations 

• Procedures to address the needs of individual children, including those with functional or 

access needs 

Safe Sleep 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(5) 

You must follow safe sleep practices as recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics for 

infants under the age of one. 

▪ Infants will always be placed on their back for sleep. 

▪ Infants will be placed on a firm mattress with a tight fitted sheet that meets Consumer Product 

Safety Commission federal standards. 

▪ Infants shall not be allowed to sleep on a bed, sofa, air mattress or other soft surface. 

▪ No toys, soft objects, stuffed animals, pillows, bumper pads, blankets, or loose bedding will be 

allowed in the sleeping area with the infant. 

▪ No co-sleeping will be allowed. 

▪ Sleeping infants will be actively observed by sight and sound. 

▪ If an alternate sleeping position is needed, a signed physician or physician’s assistant authorization 

with statement of medical reason is required. 

No child shall be allowed to sleep in any item not designed for sleeping including, but not limited to, an 

infant seat, car seat, swing, or bouncy seat. 

https://idph.iowa.gov/hcci/products
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Rationale and Recommendations for Implementation  

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Sleep-Related Infant Deaths: Updated 2022 Recommendations 

for Reducing Infant Deaths in the Sleep Environment  

Each year in the United States, approximately 3500 infants die of sleep-related infant deaths, including 

sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and accidental suffocation and strangulation in. In June 2022, the 

AAP updated their recommendations for reducing infant deaths in the sleep environment. The 

following recommendations should be followed by Iowa child care providers: 

▪ Back to sleep for every sleep.  

▪ Use a firm, flat, noninclined sleep surface to reduce the risk of suffocation or wedging/entrapment. 

▪ Infants should sleep alone, no bed-sharing or crib-sharing.   

▪ Keep soft objects, such as pillows, pillow-like toys, quilts, comforters, mattress toppers, fur-like 

materials, and loose bedding, such as blankets and nonfitted sheets, away from the infant’s sleep 

area to reduce the risk of SIDS, suffocation, entrapment/wedging, and strangulation.  

▪ Consider a policy that only allows infant pacifier use with parent permission. You are discouraged 

from having anything attached to the pacifier, such as a string, cord, or stuffed toy. Pacifiers should 

not be attached to infant clothing as these are strangulation hazards.   

▪ Avoid exposure to smoke (including vaping) and nicotine for infants and children.  

▪ Avoid overheating and head covering in infants. 

▪ Swaddling is not recommended in child care. Weighted swaddle clothing or weighted objects 

within swaddles are not safe and should not be used. 

▪ It is recommended that infants be immunized in accordance with guidelines from the AAP and 

CDC.  

▪ Do not use products and devices that go against safe sleep guidance, especially those that claim to 

prevent SIDS and sleep related deaths. 

▪ Do not use home cardiorespiratory monitors as a strategy to reduce the risk of SIDS.  

▪ Supervised, awake tummy time is recommended to facilitate development and to minimize the risk 

of positional plagiocephaly. Place the infant in tummy time while awake and supervised for short 

periods of time beginning soon after birth, increasing incrementally to at least 15 to 30 min total 

daily by age 7 wk.  

▪ It is essential that child care home providers endorse and model safe infant sleep guidelines.    

For more information go to https://safetosleep.nichd.nih.gov/safesleepbasics/risk/reduce 

For information on infant safe sleep go to https://www.cpsc.gov/SafeSleep 

COMMENT: A crib or crib-like furniture which has a waterproof mattress covering and sufficient 

bedding to enable a child to rest comfortably and which meets the current standards Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) 1219 for full-size cribs, (CFR) 1221 for play yards or recommendations from the 

Consumer Product Safety Commission or ASTM International for juvenile products and has not been 

recalled shall be provided for each child under two years of age if developmentally appropriate. Crib 

railings shall be fully raised and secured when the child is in the crib. A crib or crib-like furniture shall 

be provided for the number of children present at any one time. The crib or crib-like furniture 

mattress should with a tight fitted sheet for infants under one year of age and for older children 

sufficient bedding to enable a child to rest comfortably.  The home shall maintain all cribs or crib-like 

furniture and bedding in a clean and sanitary manner. There shall be no restraining devices of any type 

https://safetosleep.nichd.nih.gov/safesleepbasics/risk/reduce
https://www.cpsc.gov/SafeSleep
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used in crib or crib-like furniture. All items used for sleeping must be used in compliance with 

manufacturer standards for age and weight of the child. 

While safe sleep standards are outlined for children under the age of one, you must assure that all 

children, regardless of age, have appropriate sleeping arrangements and are not allowed to sleep in any 

items not designed for sleeping, as outlined above. 

Discipline 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(6) 

Discipline shall conform to the following standards: 

▪ Discipline shall be designed to help the child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect for the 

rights of others. 

▪ Corporal punishment, including spanking, shaking, and slapping, shall not be used. 

▪ Punishment that is humiliating or frightening or causes pain or discomfort to the child shall not be 

used. 

▪ Punishment shall not be administered because of a child’s illness or progress or lack of progress in 

toilet training, nor shall punishment or threat of punishment be associated with food or rest. 

▪ No child shall be subjected to verbal abuse, threats, or derogatory remarks about the child or the 

child’s family. 

Meals 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(7) 

▪ Regular meals and snacks which are well balanced and nourishing shall be provided. Children may 

bring food to the child care home for their own consumption, but shall not be required to provide 

their own food. 

▪ Clean, sanitary, drinking water shall be readily available in indoor and outdoor areas, throughout 

the day. 

Children’s Files 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.9(237A.12) 

You must maintain an individual file for each child and update it annually or when you become aware of 

changes. 

COMMENT: Individual files may be in letter-size manila envelopes and contained in one expandable file 

folder, or be actual individual file folders. To protect family confidentiality, make sure that the 

information is kept so that parents are able to see information about their own child only. 

The child’s file shall contain: 

▪ Identifying information including, at a minimum, 

• The child’s name and birth date, 

• The parent’s name, address, and telephone number, 

• Special needs of the child, and 

• The parent’s work address and telephone number. 

▪ Emergency information including, at a minimum, 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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• Where the parent can be reached, 

• The name and telephone number of the child’s regular source of health care, and 

• The name, telephone number, and relationship to the child of another adult available in case of 

emergency. 

▪ A signed medical consent from the parent authorizing emergency treatment. 

COMMENT: A signed medical consent form is very important in case of emergencies. This form 

greatly reduces the time lost in obtaining emergency treatment for a child. 

▪ An admission physical examination report signed by a licensed medical doctor, doctor of 

osteopathy, chiropractor, physician’s assistant or advanced registered nurse practitioner 

▪ A statement of health condition signed by a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, 

chiropractor, physician’s assistant or advanced registered nurse practitioner annually from the date 

of the admission physical. For a child who is five years of age or older and enrolled in school, a 

statement of health status signed by the parent or legal guardian may be substituted for the 

statement of health. 

▪ Documentation signed by a parent that names persons authorized to pick up the child. The 

authorization shall include the name, telephone number, and relationship of the authorized person 

to the child. 

COMMENT: It is very important that any child in care be released to only persons who are on this 

list. Request a photo identification of people whom you do not recognize on sight. If you release a 

child to anyone not on the list, and if something should happen to that child, you could be held 

liable. 

▪ A signed and dated immunization certificate provided by the Iowa Department of Public Health 

shall be on file for each child enrolled. For the school-aged child, a copy of the most recent 

immunization record shall be acceptable. 

COMMENT: To see current immunization required by the Department of Public Health, visit 

http://idph.iowa.gov/immtb/immunization/laws. 

Immunization certificates must be signed by a licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, 

chiropractor, physician’s assistant or advanced registered nurse practitioner. Religious exemptions 

shall be signed by the parent or guardian or legally authorized representative. This exemption is 

only valid when notarized. 

▪ Written permission from the parents for their child to attend activities away from the child care 

home. . 

COMMENT: This could include such events as trips to the library or grocery store, or a “field trip” 

such as to the fire station or a farm. It also includes instances when a child is transported to dance 

class, Scouts, etc. by another child’s parent or a person designated by the parent. 

Parental permission is needed whenever children in child care will not be at the child care so that 

parents know where their child is at and have unlimited access to their child. 

▪ For any child with allergies, a written emergency plan in the case of an allergic reaction. A copy of 

this information shall accompany the child if the child leaves the premises. 

Homelessness 

If the child meets the definition of homelessness as defined by section 725(2) of the McKinney Vento 

Homeless Assistance Act, the family shall receive a 60 day grace period to obtain medical 

documentation. 

COMMENT: The term “homeless,” “homeless individual,” and “homeless person” means: 

http://idph.iowa.gov/immtb/immunization/laws
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▪ An individual or family who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence. 

▪ An individual or family with a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place not 

designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human beings, including a 

car, park, abandoned building, bus or train station, airport, or camping ground. 

▪ An individual or family living in a supervised publicly or privately operated shelter designated to 

provide temporary living arrangements (including hotels and motels paid for by federal, state, or 

local government programs for low-income individuals or by charitable organizations, congregate 

shelters, and transitional housing). 

▪ An individual who resided in a shelter or place not meant for human habitation and who is exiting 

an institution where he or she temporarily resided. 

▪ An individual or family who will imminently lose their housing, including: 

• Housing they own, rent, or live in without paying rent; 

• Housing sharing with others; and 

• Rooms in hotels or motels not paid for by federal, state, or local government programs for 

low-income individuals or by charitable organizations. 

The individual or family has no subsequent residence identified and lacks the resources or support 

networks needed to obtain other permanent housing. 

▪ Unaccompanied youth and homeless families with children and youth defined as homeless under 

other federal statutes who have: 

• Experienced a long-term period without living independently in permanent housing, 

• Experienced persistent instability as measured by frequent moves over such period, and 

• Can be expected to continue in such status for an extended period of time because of chronic 

disabilities, chronic physical health or mental health conditions, substance addiction, histories 

of domestic violence or childhood abuse, the presence of a child or youth with a disability, or 

multiple barriers to employment. 

Documentation Maintenance 

While you are not required to maintain a provider file, you are required to maintain the following 

information, therefore it may be best to have a file accessible with this information. 

▪ Form 470-5153, Pet Health Examination Veterinary Health Certificate. 

▪ Certificates or training verification documentation for all required training. 

▪ Documentation from the Department of record check completion on all household members aged 

14 and older. 

Professional Development 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.10(237A.12) 

Early Childhood Iowa-Professional Development, Early Learning Leadership Team developed a tool to 

help increase skills for early care and education of providers and teachers. Through the Navigate Your 

Pathway website, you may: 

▪ See where you are today in your professional development, 

▪ See where your next step will take you, and 

▪ Create your own professional development plan for the future. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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We encourage you to use this website to plan your professional development in a progressive way 

through formal higher education or ongoing professional development. You may access this resource 

at http://ecieducationpathway.org. 

Iowa’s Early Childhood and School Age Professional Workforce Registry (i-PoWeR) 

i-PoWeR is an online tool where child care professionals can locate and enroll for HHS-

approved professional development. To access and enroll for HHS-approved professional 

development opportunities, please visit: https://ccmis.dhs.state.ia.us/trainingregistry/. 

Prior to issuance of a provider agreement, you shall complete: 

▪ Minimum health and safety trainings in the following areas: 

• Prevention and control of infectious disease, including immunizations 

• Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices 

• Administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent 

• Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions 

• Building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from 

hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, and 

vehicular traffic 

• Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma 

• Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulted from natural 

disaster or a man-caused event 

• Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-

contaminants 

• Precautions in transporting children 

▪ Child development 

▪ Two hours of Iowa’s training for mandatory reporting of child abuse and maintain a valid 

certificate. 

Prior to issuance of a provider agreement: 

▪ First-aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training: 

• Training shall be provided by a nationally recognized training organization, such as the 

American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, the National Safety Council, or 

Emergency Medical Planning (Medic First Aid) or by an equivalent trainer using 

curriculum approved by the Department. 

• Approved trainings may be found at 

https://dhs.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/CPR_FirstAid_List.pdf?102620211527 

• CPR shall include certification in infant and child CPR. 

• You shall maintain a valid certificate indicating the date of first-aid training and the 

expiration date. 

• You shall maintain a valid certificate indicating the date of CPR training and the 

expiration date. 

▪ On-line CPR and first aid courses are not approved for continuing education or training to 

meet regulatory requirements however some courses offer a blended training with both an 

http://ecieducationpathway.org/
https://ccmis.dhs.state.ia.us/trainingregistry/
https://dhs.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/CPR_FirstAid_List.pdf?102620211527
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online and in person component. Approved blended courses can be located at the link listed 

above. 

COMMENT: Early care and education programs with staff trained in pediatric first aid and 

CPR can mitigate the consequences of injury and reduce the potential for death from life-

threatening conditions and emergencies. Furthermore, knowledge of pediatric first aid and 

CPR includes addressing a blocked airway (choking) as well as rescue breathing. Repetitive 

training, coupled with the confidence to use these skills, are critically important to the 

outcome of an emergency 

During each two-year CCA provider agreement period, you shall receive a minimum of six 

hours of training from one or more of the content areas. 

A child care home provider operating under this chapter that meets the definition of “relative” 

as defined in 441 Iowa Administrative Code 120.10(1) shall be exempt from the six hours of 

required training. 

If you have completed training through a child care resource and referral agency or community college 

within six months prior to initial registration, this shall be permitted to count towards your total 

training required during the initial registration. 

COMMENT: The purpose of continuing education is to increase skills and knowledge over time. 

Training and education in child development has been linked to higher quality of child care. Experience 

without that training and education actually has been shown to decrease the quality of care. 

Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse 

It is mandatory for you to report to the Department immediately when you discover signs of abuse in 

the course of caring for a child. You must make both an oral and a written report when there is reason 

to suspect that the child has suffered child abuse. 

The first step in reporting suspected child abuse is to call your local Department office or call toll-free 

any time, day or night: 1-800-362-2178. You must make this oral report within 24 hours. If the child’s 

life is in immediate danger, call the police. 

The written report must follow within 48 hours of the oral report. By law, the oral and written 

reports must contain: 

▪ The name and home address of the child and of the child’s parents or other persons responsible 

for the child’s care. 

▪ The child’s age. 

▪ The child’s present whereabouts, if not the same as the parent’s or other person’s home address. 

▪ The nature and extent of the child’s injuries, including any evidence of previous injuries. 

▪ The names of other children in the same home. 

▪ Any other information that the person reporting believes might be helpful in establishing the cause 

of the injury to the child, the identity of the persons responsible for the injury, or the identity of 

the persons providing assistance to the child. 

People who make a child abuse report or cooperate in the investigation of a report have immunity 

from any civil or criminal liability, if they report or cooperate in good faith. Any mandatory reporter 

who knowingly fails to report suspected child abuse is civilly liable for damages caused by not 

reporting. Failure to report is also a misdemeanor offense. 
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Additional Recommendations to Consider 

The following recommendations are not requirements, but they are suggestions for improving the 

quality of child care programs and for improving the child care home administration. 

▪ Give orientation to substitutes. Include not only their child caring responsibilities, but also 

information on your own methods of child care, the special needs of particular children, and plans 

for emergencies such as fire, injuries, a sick child, etc. 

▪ Educate all staff about recognizing and reporting child abuse, and about their own vulnerability, as 

caretakers, to becoming the alleged perpetrator in a child abuse case. 

▪ Use training or educational opportunities to increase your child care skills, especially in the areas 

of first-aid principles, child development, program activities, and managing a business. 

▪ Discuss liability and medical insurance with your insurance agent. Insurance is a safeguard for all 

concerned with child care. 

▪ Use a parent/provider agreement form or contract with parents. It promotes mutual 

understanding and provides protection. 

▪ Provide parents with a copy of your policies. 

▪ Discuss possible consultation and referral with parents who have children with special needs. 

▪ Install working carbon monoxide detectors in the child development home. 

▪ Provide for napping in areas separate from other ongoing activities for all children not yet 

attending school. 

▪ Limit TV viewing and use only in balance with other suitable enriching and active experiences. 

▪ Inform parents of any weapons in the home and consider the use of child protective devices on 

any firearms. Weapons should be inaccessible and under lock and key in an area that is not 

accessible to children. Consider radon testing: Radon is a naturally occurring, radioactive gas that 

is the second leading cause of lung cancer. Radon can seep into your home through very small 

openings in basement walls or floors. Iowa has the highest portion of homes with elevated radon 

in the United States. 

▪ Consider a policy regarding second hand smoke. Secondhand smoke in the air and on clothing 

increases the chances of Sudden infant Death Syndrome, lower respiratory infections, middle ear 

infections, and asthma. 

▪ Trampolines are not recommended as they are not developmentally appropriate for children 

under 5 (National Program for Playground Safety) and there is a high risk of injury. If trampolines 

are used:. 

• Allow only one person on the trampoline at a time. 

• Do not attempt or allow somersaults. 

• Use shock-absorbing pads that completely cover the springs, hooks, and the frame. 

• Place the trampoline away from structures and other play areas. 

• Ladders should not be used. They provide unsupervised access by small children. 

• Children under age six should not use a full-sized trampoline. 

• Always supervise children who use a trampoline. 

COMMENT: For further information regarding trampoline safety, contact the National Program for 

Playground Safety at 800-554-PLAY located at the University of Northern Iowa. The Consumer 

Product Safety Commission also has information about trampoline use at 1-800-638-2772 or 

online at http://www.cpsc.gov. 

http://www.cpsc.gov/
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Sample HHS Forms 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Payment Application for Nonregistered Providers 

❑ New ❑ Renewal 
 

 

Instructions 

Fill out Section A with information about yourself. Fill out Section B OR Section C depending on where you will provide 
care: 

Check the box that applies and fill out the sections indicated: 

❑ I will care for children in my home 
If you checked this box, fill out section B. 

❑ I will care for children in their own home 
If you checked this box, fill out section C.   

Read the information in section D and sign and date the application. 
 

A.  Tell Us About You 
 

Last Name First Name Middle Name Birth Date 

Maiden Name or Other Last Names Landline Phone Number 

(       ) 

Cell Phone Number 

(       ) 

Last four digits of Social 
Security Number 

Address where care is provided Mail Address (if different) 

 

 

City  State Zip City  State Zip 

I  ❑  will  ❑  will not provide care only for my great-grandchildren, grandchildren, niece/nephew or siblings. 

B.  Nonregistered - Tell Us About The People Who Live With You  

List the names of other adults and children who live with you.  If you need more space, please use another piece of 
paper and attach it to this. 

Last Name First Middle Birth Date Last four digits of Social 
Security Number  

   

   

   

   

 

C.  In-Home - Tell Us About The Family for Whom You Will Provide Care 

You must care for at least three CCA eligible children to be an In-Home provider.  List the names of the parent(s) and 
the children you will provide care for.  If you need more space, please use another piece of paper and attach it to this. 

 First Name Last Name 

Parent   

Parent   

Child   

Child   

Child   

Child   
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D.  Your Signature 

As a nonregistered child care home: 

1. I will comply with all requirements for a child care home found in 441 Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 120, in 
accordance with Iowa Code section 237A.3. 

2. I understand the Department of Human Services will make necessary inspections of the home in order to 
determine conformity to these requirements. 

3. I understand that, subject to the provisions of Iowa Code section 237A, the Central Abuse Registry and the 
Department of Public Safety will check on all members of my household for all new applications and may 
recheck for reapplications. 

As an in-home child care provider: 

4. I will comply with all requirements for an in-home provider found in 441 Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 170. 

5. I will care only for the children who live in the family home.  I will not provide care to any other children. 

I agree that: 

6. Any information I give is and will be true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  Further, I am aware that if I 
make a false report to the Department of Human Services regarding the operation of my child care home, my 
Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement, form 470-3871, may be revoked and state payments may be 
recouped. 

7. I will inform the Department of Human Services of any changes that may affect my child care assistance 
eligibility within 10 days. 

8. I will disclose all criminal convictions and founded child abuse that I, or anyone else residing or working in my 
household, have received in this state or in any other state. 

Signature of Applicant Date 

 

You Have the Right to Appeal 

You or the person helping you may request a hearing in writing if you do not agree with any action 
taken on your case.  You may contact your county DHS office about legal services that are available 
based on your ability to pay.  You may also call Iowa Legal Aid at 1-800-532-1275.  If you live in Polk 
County, call 243-1193. 

You Will Not Be Discriminated Against 

It is the policy of the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS) to provide equal treatment in employment and 
provision of services to applicants, employees and clients without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, sexual 
orientation, gender identity, religion, age, or disability. 

If you feel DHS has discriminated against or harassed you, please send a letter detailing your complaint to: 
Iowa Department of Human Services, Hoover Building, 5th floor – Bureau of Policy Coordination, 1305 E. Walnut, Des 
Moines IA 50319-0114 or via e-mail contactdhs@dhs.state.ia.us 

  
 

mailto:contactdhs@dhs.state.ia.us
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Iowa Department of Health and Human Services 

Health, Safety, and Fire Standards 

Checklist for Child Care Homes with a 

Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement 

Name 

      
Telephone Number 

      

Date of Inspection 

      

Street Address 

      

City 

      

State 

      

Zip Code 

      

Date of entering into a provider agreement       

The following are requirements contained in Code of Iowa, Chapter 237A or in Iowa Administrative Code 

Chapter 120 that child care homes with a child care assistance provider agreement must meet. 

For each requirement, check the “yes” box if the home meets the requirements, or the “no” box if the 

home does not meet the requirement. If the answer is no, complete the comment column with a few 

words describing where the deficiency was found, how many “items” were missing (such as children’s files, 

immunization cards, etc.) or what the problem was. If a requirement does not apply to this particular home, 

enter “NA” for not applicable in the “yes” box. 

YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

   All areas of the residence were observed during 

inspection. If not, please note rationale in 

Comment Section. 

      

   A provider’s own infants and 

preschoolers are counted. A provider’s 

own school-age children are not counted. 

A relative’s children are counted, 

regardless of age. 

      

  120.5 Parents are afforded unlimited access to their 

children and to the providers caring for the 

children whenever their children are present, 

unless parental contact is prohibited. 

      

  120.6 No more than five children shall receive care at 

any one time. May have a sixth child if one is 

school aged 

      

  120.7(1) The provider meets the following requirements:  

  a Gives careful supervision at all times.       

  b Frequently exchanges information with the 

parent of each child to enhance the quality of 

care. 

      

  c Gives consistent, dependable care.       

   Is capable of handling emergencies.       

  d Is present at all times, except if emergencies 

occur or an absence is planned. 

      

   If absence is planned, care is provided by a 

HHS-approved substitute. 
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YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

   If absence is planned, the parents are given at 

least 24 hours prior notice. 

      

  e Shall be free of the use of illegal drugs and shall 

not be under the influence of alcohol or of any 

prescription or non-prescription drug that 

could impair their ability to give careful 

supervision.  

      

  f Be at least 18 years of age.       

  120.7(2) Substitutes. The provider shall assume 

responsibility for providing adequate 

and appropriate supervision at all times when 

children are in attendance. Any designated 

substitute shall have the same responsibility for 

providing adequate and appropriate supervision. 

Ultimate responsibility for supervision shall be 

with the provider. 

      

  a All standards regarding supervision and care of 

children apply to substitutes. 

      

  b Except in emergency situations, the provider 

must inform parents in advance of the planned 

use of a substitute. 

      

  c The substitute must be 18 years of age or 

older. 

      

  d Use of a substitute is limited to: 

• No more than 25 hours per month. 

• An additional period of up to two weeks in 

a 12-month period. 

These limitations do not apply when the 

provider is engaged in jury duty or official 

duties related to the provider’s membership on 

a state board, committee, or policy-related 

body. 

      

  e The provider maintains a written record of the 

number of hours substitute care is provided, 

including the date and the name of the 

substitute. 

      

  120.8 Conditions in the home shall be safe, sanitary, 

and free from hazards. 

      

  120.8(1)a Has a non-pay working telephone. A cell phone 

can be the primary phone. 

      

   Emergency numbers posted for police, fire, 

ambulance, and poison information center. 

      

   Number for each child’s parent, a person who 

can be reached when the parent cannot and 

child’s physician is written on paper and readily 

accessible by the working telephone. 
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   All travel vehicles must have a paper copy of 

emergency parent contact information. 

      

  b Electrical wiring shall be maintained.       

   All accessible electrical outlets are safely capped 

or are tamper-resistant electrical outlets. 

      

   All electrical cords are properly used. This 

means not found under rugs, over hooks, 

through door openings, etc. 

      

  c Combustible materials are kept away from 

furnaces, stoves, gas dryers, or water heaters 

by a minimum of three feet. 

      

  d Safety barriers are at stairways and doors as 

needed. 

      

  e An annual laboratory analysis shows satisfactory 

bacteriological quality if a private water supply 

is used. Nitrate analysis when children under 2. 

      

   If water is determined unsuitable for drinking, 

commercially bottled water or water treated 

and approved by the health department is 

provided. 

      

  f A safety barrier surrounds any heating stove or 

heating element, in order to prevent burns. 

      

  g Has not less than one 2A 10BC rated fire 

extinguisher in a visible and readily accessible 

place on each child-occupied floor. 

      

  h Has a minimum of one single-station, battery-

operated, UL-approved smoke detector in each 

child-occupied room and at the top of every 

stairway. 

      

   Each smoke detector has been installed 

according to manufacturer’s recommendations. 

      

   Each smoke detector is tested monthly, and a 

record is kept for inspection purposes. 

      

  i Smoking and use of tobacco products 

prohibited at all times in the home and vehicles 

used to transport children. Smoking and use of 

tobacco products prohibited in outdoor play 

area during hours of operation.  

      

   Nonsmoking signs are posted at every entrance 

of the home and in every vehicle used to 

transport children. Signs include telephone 

number for reporting complaints, and 

www.iowasmokefreeair.gov 

      

file://///hoovr3s1/policy.771/WordProc/MANUAL/Work/Title12/12-F-AP-51/www.iowasmokefreeair.gov
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  j Homes served by private sewage disposal 

systems shall be operated and maintained in a 

sanitary manner. Discharge of untreated waste 

water is prohibited.  

      

  k For homes built prior to 1978, provider must 

review for chipping, peeling, cracking paint. If 

repair is required, this is completed by a lead-

safe renovator.  

      

  m Any driver who transports children shall have a 

valid driver’s license for the type of vehicle 

driven. Child restraint devices shall be utilized. 

      

  n Providers inform parents of the presence of any 

pet in the child development home. 

      

   All dogs and cats have annual examinations. 

Records of the exams are on file and must 

verify that routine immunizations are current 

and animal is free of endo- and ectoparasites. 

Form 470-5153, Veterinary Health Certificate, is 

on file. 

      

   Pet birds are purchased from an approved 

dealer. Examined by a veterinarian to verify free 

of infectious diseases. Children are not allowed 

to handle pet birds. 

      

   Aquariums are well maintained and installed so 

that children cannot get in the water or pull 

over the tank. 

      

   All animal waste is immediately removed from 

the children’s areas and properly disposed of. 

      

   No animals are allowed in food preparation, 

storage or serving areas during food 

preparation and serving times. 

      

   Children shall not perform any feeding or care 

of pets or cleanup of pet waste. 

      

  o Injury report forms are maintained for any 

injury requiring first aid or medical care. 

The forms are completed on the date of 

occurrence, shared with parents, and copies are 

in the child’s file. 

      

  p Serious injuries and deaths are reported within 

24 hours.  

      

  120.8(2) Outdoor space.  

  a A safe outdoor play area is maintained in good 

condition throughout the year. 

      

   Play area has a fence when located on a busy 

thoroughfare or near a hazard. 

      



 

470-5385  (Rev. 02/24)  

YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

   Has both sunshine and shade areas.       

   Is kept free from litter, rubbish, and flammable 

materials. 

      

   Is free from contamination by drainage or 

ponding of sewage, household waste, or storm 

water. 

      

  b When a swimming pool or wading pool is on 

the premises: 

 

   Wading pools are drained daily and are 

inaccessible to children when not in use. 

      

   If not fenced, both in and above-ground pools 

must have a cover that meets or exceeds 

ASTM standards when not in use. 

      

   Fence for above-ground pool is four feet high 

and non-climbable. 

      

   Fence for in-ground pool is flush with ground, 

non-climbable, and at least four feet high. 

      

  c If children use above-ground or in-ground 

swimming pools: 

 

   Written permission from the parents is on file.       

   Equipment needed to rescue a child or adult is 

accessible. 

      

   The provider accompanies and provides 

constant supervision while the children use the 

pool. 

      

   The provider has completed training in CPR for 

infants, toddlers, and children. Documentation 

of current certification is on file. 

      

  120.8(3) Medications and hazardous material.  

  a All medicines and poisonous, toxic, or 

otherwise unsafe materials are secured from 

access by a child. 

      

  b First-aid supplies are available and easily 

accessible in the home, outdoor play area, in 

any vehicle used to transport children, and on 

field trips. 

      

   The first-aid kit shall, at a minimum, include 

adhesive bandages, bottled water, disposable 

tweezers, and disposable plastic gloves. 

      

  c Medicines are given only with written 

authorization from the doctor or parent. 

      

   Prescribed medicines are accompanied by a 

doctor’s or a pharmacist’s direction. 
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   All medicines are in original containers with 

directions intact and labeled with the child’s 

name. 

      

   Medicines are stored properly including 

refrigeration in a separate covered container. 

      

   Medicines are inaccessible to children.       

   Any medication provided to a child shall be 

recorded indicating the name of the medication, 

date, time, and amount given. 

      

  d Medications are not provided if the provider 

has not completed pre-service orientation that 

includes medication administration.  

      

  e Provider has procedures related to infectious 

disease and handling of bodily fluids including 

blood. Soiled diapers are stored in containers 

separate from other waste. 

      

  120.8(4) Emergency plans.  

  a Emergency and disaster plans for fire and 

tornado are written and posted by primary and 

secondary exits. 

      

   The plans shall clearly map building evacuation 

routes in case of fire, a safe place indoors in 

case of tornado, and flood shelter areas. 

      

   Fire and tornado drills are practiced monthly 

and documentation kept on file for the current 

year and previous year. 

      

  b Procedures are in place for: 

▪ Evacuation to safely leave the facility, 

▪ Relocation to a common, safe location after 

evacuation, 

▪ Shelter-in-place to take immediate shelter 

where the child is when it is unsafe to leave 

that location due to the emergent issue, 

▪ Lock down to protect children and 

providers from an external situation, 

▪ Communication and reunification with 

families, 

▪ Continuity of operations, and 

▪ Procedures to address the needs of 

individual children, including those with 

functional or access needs. 

      

  120.8(5) Safe sleep.  

  a Provider must follow safe sleep practices as 

recommended by AAP for infants under one 

year of age. 

      

  (1) Infants are placed on back to sleep.       
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  (2) Infants are placed on firm mattress with tight 

fitted sheet that meets CPSC standards. 

      

  (3) Infants are not allowed to sleep on bed, sofa, air 

mattress, or other soft surface.  

      

  (4) No toys, soft objects, stuffed animals, pillows, 

bumper pads, blankets, or loose bedding is 

allowed in sleeping area. 

      

  (5) Co-sleeping is not allowed.       

  (6) Sleeping infants will be actively observed by 

sight and sound. 

      

  (7) If an alternative sleeping position is needed, a 

signed physician or physician assistant 

authorization with state of medical reason is 

required. 

      

  b No child is allowed to sleep in items not 

designed for sleeping, including but not limited 

to, infant seat, car seat, swing, bouncy seat. 

      

  c Crib or crib-like furniture, waterproof mattress 

covering, and sufficient bedding that meets 

CPSC or ASTM standards is provided for each 

child under two years of age. No restraining 

devices are used. 

      

  d Items used for sleeping are used in compliance 

with manufacturing standards for age and 

weight of the child. 

      

  120.8(6) Discipline.  

  a Corporal punishment including spanking, 

shaking, and slapping is not used. 

      

  b No punishment is used which is humiliating or 

frightening, or causes pain or discomfort to the 

child. 

      

  c No punishment is administered because of a 

child’s illness, or progress or lack of progress in 

toilet training. 

      

   No punishment or threat of punishment is 

associated with food or rest. 

      

  d No child is subjected to verbal abuse, threats, 

or derogatory remarks about the child or the 

child’s family. 

      

  e Discipline is designed to help the child develop 

self-control, self-esteem, and respect for the 

rights of others. 
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  120.8(7) Meals and snacks.  

  a Regular meals and snacks that are well-balanced 

and nourishing shall be provided. 

      

  b Children may bring food to the child care 

home, but are not required to provide their 

own food. 

      

  c Clean, sanitary drinking water shall be readily 

available in indoor and outdoor areas, 

throughout the day. 

      

  120.9 Children’s files.  

  120.9(1) An individual file is maintained for each child 

and updated annually or when there are 

changes. Each file contains:  

      

  120.9(2)a Identifying information including, at a minimum, 

the child’s name, birth date, parent’s name, 

address, telephone number, special needs of the 

child, and the parent’s work address and 

telephone number. 

      

  b Emergency information including where the 

parent can be reached, the name, street 

address, city, and telephone of the child’s 

regular doctor, and the name, telephone 

number, and relationship to the child of 

another adult available in case of emergency. 

      

  c A signed medical consent from the parent 

authorizing emergency medical and dental 

treatment. 

      

  d An admission physical examination report 

signed by physician or clinic designee. 

      

  e A statement of health signed by a physician 

submitted annually. 

      

   For school aged children: An annual statement 

of health condition signed by the parent or legal 

guardian, annually from date of admission 

physical.  

      

  f Documentation signed by the parent which 

names persons authorized to pick up the child, 

their telephone number, and relationship to the 

child.  

      

  g A signed and dated immunization certificate 

provided by the state Department of Public 

Health. 

      

  h Written emergency plan for children with 

allergies. Must accompany child if away from 

facility. 
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  i Written permission from the parent(s) for their 

child to attend activities away from the child 

care home. . 

      

  j If a child meets definition of homelessness, 

required medical documentation is obtained 

within 60 days of enrollment. 

      

  120.10 Professional development.  

  120.10(5) Substitutes must complete preservice/ 

orientation training within three months or 

prior to providing substitute care, whichever 

occurs first. 

      

 

Signature of person completing form Agency Date 

             

 

Signature of provider Co-Provider (Child Development Home C only) Date 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement 

Child Care Provider Information 

In order for you to receive payment under the Child Care Assistance Program, you must provide the following information 
about your legal name and tax ID.  Please fill out either Box A OR Box B. 

Box A 

Individual 
If you answer Yes to Individual, please provide your Social Security Number (SSN) to use as your tax ID. 

Are you:  Yes No SSN 

Individual      –   –     

If the answer to this question is No, complete Box B.  

Provider Last Name Provider First Name 

Address Where Care is Provided  Mailing Address (if different)  

City State Zip City State Zip 

Phone Phone 

 

Box B 
Corporation/Partnership/Government/Sole Proprietor/LLC 

Is your business:  (Pick one) Yes No Please provide your Employer Identification Number. 

Corporation   EIN 

Partnership     -        

Government   
NOTE:  Your legal business name and tax ID (EIN) must 
match IRS records. Sole Proprietor   

Limited Liability Company(LLC)   

If LLC, Tax Classification (Pick one):   Sole Proprietor      Corporation      Partnership 

Provider Legal Business Name 

Doing Business As (DBA) Name 

Address Where Care is Provided  Mailing Address (if different)  

City State Zip City State Zip 

Phone Phone 
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Eligible Provider 

I must meet all federal, state, and local standards that pertain to the child care services being provided under this payment 
Agreement. 

I must not assign, transfer, or subcontract any interest in this Agreement.  This means that payment for services made 
under this Agreement can only go to the provider named in this Agreement for care provided at the location named in this 
Agreement. 

Provider Rate Information 

Please tell us the rates you charge for child care services (include all rates that you charge). 

A ½ day rate is the rate you charge for up to 5 hours of care.  A daily rate is the rate you charge for an entire day (up to 10 
hours of care).  A weekly rate is the rate you charge for an entire week of care. 

 Infant/Toddler Preschool School Age 

Rate Basic Rate 
Special 
Needs 

Basic Rate 
Special 
Needs 

Basic Rate 
Special 
Needs 

½ day       

Full day       

Hourly       

Weekly       

If you offer discount rates for second children or employees, or you have special rates for before and after school care, 
summer, etc., list these charges below: 

  

  

  

By signing this form, I agree to participate as a provider of child care services approved by the Iowa Department of 
Human Services (hereafter ‘Department’) and/or the PROMISE JOBS program and assure the Department that I will 
comply with the provisions of this Agreement. 

Sign page 1 and return pages 1 through 4.  Keep pages 5 through 7 for your records. 

Name of Child Care Provider (please print) 

Signature of Child Care Provider Date 
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This area to be completed by DHS worker only 

Provider Type  Provider Number  

Payments made by the Department will be in accordance with 
the “Approved ½ Day Rate” as listed below 

Age Group  Approved ½ Day Rate * 

Infant/toddler 
Basic Rate  

Special Needs Rate  

Preschool 
Basic Rate  

Special Needs Rate  

School Age 
Basic Rate  

Special Needs Rate  

Other rates:  (Second child, before and after school, summer, employee discount, etc.) 

Effective Date Termination Date 

* You will be paid the ½ day rate you normally charge or the maximum state reimbursement 
rate, whichever is less. 

 The Department of Human Services shall determine eligibility for services and shall 
authorize services if eligible.  You may appeal through Department appeal procedures if 
you are dissatisfied with agency decisions. 

Signature of Department Representative Date 
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I understand the payment I will receive for providing child care for the Department of Human Services: 

 1. Will be based on a five-hour unit of service. 

 2. Will be effective only during the effective period of this Agreement.  If I fail to renew this Agreement, any 
payments made after the termination date may be subject to recoupment. 

 3. May be re-negotiated before the termination date, with the agreement of all parties. 

Client Fees 

I understand: 

 1. I am responsible for collecting all fees assessed to the client, as determined by the Department, directly from 
the client.  The Department can’t collect these fees. 

 2. I will not bill any Child Care Assistance participant more than the required fee for the units of care provided, as 
stated on the participant’s Notice of Decision. 

 3. I must maintain a record of all fees collected from clients and this record shall be available, upon request, for 
audit by the Department or its representatives. 

 4. I can’t charge the participant any additional fees except for a late fee if the child is not picked up timely, an 
“activity fee” to cover the cost of field trips, or the cost of care used beyond the units approved on the 
participant’s Notice of Decision. 

Billing and Payment 

I understand: 

 1. I must provide the service as authorized on the client Notice of Decision or Certificate of Enrollment before 
submitting the claim for payment. 

 2. At the end of each billing period, I will submit a Child Care Assistance Billing/Attendance, form 470-4534, to the 
Department only for the actual hours of child care services that were provided.  This form must be signed by the 
provider and the parent and I must keep a copy of the signed form for my records. 

 3. I have the option to submit attendance online through the KinderTrack web portal.  If I choose to do so, I must 
print a Child Care Assistance Billing/Attendance Provider Record, form 470-4535, which must be signed by the 
provider and the parent and kept for my records. 

 4. If I am not able to use form 470-4534 or 470-4535, I must keep adequate attendance records instead.  To be 
considered adequate, attendance records must include the child’s name, the dates and daily time in and time 
out entries for days the child was in care, and the signature of the parent or other adult designee certifying the 
attendance is accurate. 

 5. I will be paid only for the hours of care that were authorized by the Department on the Notice of Decision or 
Certificate of Enrollment. 

 6. I cannot bill the Department or PROMISE JOBS more than what I charge other families for the same service. 

 7. I cannot request or accept additional payment from families, except for the client fees mentioned above. 

 8. If I exceed the allowed child capacity for my facility based upon the number and ages of children, this 
Agreement may be terminated and any payments may be recouped. 

 9. Failure to comply with this Agreement or other Department child care rules may result in recoupment of 
payments made and termination of this Agreement for up to 36 months. 
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Payment for Child Absences 

I understand: 

 1. I may bill for up to four days of absences per month (in accordance with the units approved for that day) only 
when a child is scheduled to be in attendance that day but is absent from care. 

 2. I may not bill for a day of absence if this policy is not applied to private pay families. 

 3. Holidays may be paid as an absent day only when the child care facility is closed for business, the child is 
normally scheduled to be in attendance on that day and these days are charged to private pay families.  
Holidays are included in the four days maximum per month. 

 4. I may not bill for days of absences when I am not available to provide care (vacation or sick). 

Record Keeping and Auditing 

I understand: 

 1. I am responsible for keeping accurate records that document times and dates of care provided to each 
individual child funded by the Department or PROMISE JOBS. 

 2. These records must be kept for five years. 

 3. If this case is selected for review or audit authorized by the Department, I will make these records immediately 
available, upon request, to substantiate the services I provided and received payment from Child Care 
Assistance funds. 

 4. Failure to keep accurate attendance records that have been signed by the parent, may result in termination of 
this Agreement and repayment of funds for time periods that I am unable to provide adequate attendance 
verification to support the payments I have received. 

Protective Child Care 

 1. I understand that to provide protective child care, I must be a licensed or registered child care provider unless 
otherwise approved by the Department. 

 2. I will cooperate with all aspects of the child’s/family’s Departmental Case Permanency Plan. 

Special Needs Child Care 

 1. Parents are responsible to provide the Department with written documentation that their children meet the 
definition of “special needs.” 

 2. I understand that in order to receive “special needs” reimbursement rates, I must provide documentation to the 
Department that I am responding to a child’s special needs with (but not limited to) adaptive equipment, more 
careful supervision, or special staff training. 

Other Provider Requirements 

Nondiscrimination: 

I will not discriminate because of race, color, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, age, 
disability, or political belief against any person seeking services. 

Change Reporting: 

I am responsible for reporting changes in my household members, substitutes, assistants, address, phone number, 
criminal convictions, etc. within 10 days of any change.  Failure to report these changes may result in recoupment 
of funds paid to me and termination of this Agreement. 
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Abuse Reporting: 

I understand that as a registered or licensed provider, I am a mandatory reporter regarding suspected child abuse 
of children in my care and will report any suspected incidents of child abuse to the Department of Human Services 
immediately by phone and follow up with a written report.  The number for reporting suspected child abuse is 
800-362-2178. 

I have a written policy stating how I will report suspected child abuse. 

Confidentiality: 

I will respect the privacy of the client and keep the client’s relationship with the Department confidential.  Personal 
information about the client may not be shared with anyone but the Department worker and the client.  Failure to 
respect the client’s privacy could result in cancellation of this Agreement and legal sanctions, if warranted. 

Indemnity: 

I understand that I have the status of an independent contractor only and shall in no sense be an agent, employee, 
or servant of the state of Iowa, the Iowa Department of Human Services, any of its employees, or its clients.  I will 
not hold the state of Iowa, the Iowa Department of Human Services, its employees, or its clients liable, as I shall be 
responsible for all activity in the delivery of services. 

Drug-Free Environment: 

I will provide a drug-free child care environment in accordance with Executive Order Number 38. 

Audits or Investigations: 

I understand that when fraudulent practices are suspected, a referral may be made to an investigative unit, and that 
I must cooperate with the investigation.  I agree to permit federal, state, and local officials to monitor and evaluate 
my child care facility with or without notice. 

Repayment: 

I understand that I may have to repay money received in error or as a result of failure to comply with Department 
rules, failure to report changes, or fraudulent billing. 

Agreement Termination 

Non-compliance with any of the provisions of this Agreement may result in termination of this Agreement upon ten days 
written notice from the Department.  Termination of this Agreement may prevent you from making application for another 
Agreement.  The Department may also refuse to enter into subsequent agreements with you for up to 36 months. 

This Agreement may also be terminated upon mutual agreement of the parties. 

Both parties agree that except in case of emergencies such as illnesses, death, or fire, ten days advance notice shall be 
given to allow for the arrangement of alternate service provision for clients. 

Agreement Renewal 

This Agreement must be renewed every two years from the effective date of this Agreement.  Failure to enter into 
a new Agreement will result in termination. 
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Sample Provider Forms 
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Child Enrollment Information 
 

Child Information 

Child’s Name: Date of Birth: 

Address:  City: State: ZIP: 

Allergies, special instructions, comforting items: 

 

Parent/Guardian Information (1) 

Name: Relationship to child: 

Address:  

(if different than child) 

City: State: ZIP: 

Home #:  Cell #: Work #: 

Email (personal):  Email (work): 

Place of work:  Address: 

Parent/Guardian Information (2) 

Name: Relationship to child: 

Address:  

(if different than child) 

City: State: ZIP: 

Home #:  Cell #: Work #: 

Email (personal):  Email (work): 

Place of work:  Address: 

 

Emergency Contact (1) 

Name: Relationship to child: 

Address:  City: State: 

Home #:  Cell #: Work #: 

Email (personal):  Email (work): 

Emergency Contact (2) 

Name: Relationship to child: 

Address:  City: State: 

Home #:  Cell #: Work #: 

Email (personal):  Email (work): 

Emergency Contact (3) – Out-of-Area/Out-of-State 

Name: Relationship to child: 

Address:  City: State: 

Home #:  Cell #: Work #: 

Email (personal):  Email (work): 
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Medical Information 

Child’s Doctor’s Name: Phone #: 

Address:  City: State: 

Preferred Hospital to Contact: Phone #: 

Address:  City: State: 

  

Child’s Dentist’s Name: Phone #: 

Address:  City: State: 

Does your child have any special needs that I need to be aware of?   

  

  

 

Persons allowed to pick up my child if I am unable to: 

(Also list emergency contacts below if you want to allow them to pick up your child) 

Name: Phone #: Relationship to child: 

Name: Phone #: Relationship to child: 

Name: Phone #: Relationship to child: 

Name: Phone #: Relationship to child: 

Name: Phone #: Relationship to child: 

Name: Phone #: Relationship to child: 

 
Any one NOT allowed to pick up my child (with copy of court order, if applicable): 

 

 

 

 

Parent’s Signature:   Date:   

Parent’s Signature:   Date:   
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Emergency Medical Treatment Authorization 

Permission for medical care in parental absence. 

Child’s Full Name  Birth Date  

Name child answers to:  

I,   parent or guardian of the child named above give my 

permission to  , child care home provider, to secure and authorize such emergency medical care and treatment as 
my child might require while under the Provider’s supervision.  I also authorize the Provider to administer 
emergency care or treatment as required, until emergency medical assistance arrives.  I also agree to pay all the 
costs and fees contingent on any emergency medical care and treatment for my child as secured or authorized 
under this consent. 

NOTE:  Every effort will be made to notify parents immediately in case of emergency.  In the event of an 
emergency, it would be necessary to have the following information: 

Name of Parent or Legal Guardian:  

Address:  

Home Phone:  Work Phone:  

Name of Parent or Legal Guardian:  

Address:  

Home Phone:  Work Phone:  

Doctor:  

Doctor’s Address:  

Doctor’s Phone:  

Preferred Hospital to Contact:  

Address:  Phone:  

Persons to be contacted in emergency if the parents are unavailable: 

Name Home Phone Work Phone Relationship 

  

  

Present medication(s):  

Known allergies:  

Date of last tetanus:  Religious Preference:  

Insurance:  

Father’s signature:  Date:  

Mother’s signature:  Date:  
 



***If a serious injury or death to a child has occurred in a child care home, child development 
home, or licensed child care center, please email this incident report form to the Department of 

Human Services at ccsid@dhs.state.ia.us within 24 hours of the incident.*** 
HCCI 04252017 

Child Care Injury / Incident Report 

To be completed any time an injury that requires first aid or medical care which occurs in a child 

care home, child development home, or licensed child care facility. 

Business or Program Name: ____________________________________________ 
Address and Phone Number:____________________________________________ 

Child’s Name: __________________  Gender:  M  F   Birthdate: ___________________ 
Date and Time of Incident: _______________   
Name of Parent/Legal Guardian Notified: _______________ 
Method of Notification: ______________ Time Notified: ________________a.m./p.m. 
Notification by (name of staff person): _________________________________ 

Serious Injuries must be reported to the Department of Human Services within 24 hours of the 
incident***. 

Serious Injuries include: 
 Disabling mental illness
 Bodily injury which creates a substantial risk of death, causes serious permanent

disfigurement, or causes protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily
member or organ

 Any injury to a child that requires surgical repair and necessitates the administration
of general anesthesia

 Includes but is not limited to skull fractures, rib fractures, metaphyseal fractures of
the long bones of children under the age of 4 years.

Did the incident result in a serious injury to a child?  Yes   No 

Did the incident result in death to a child?  Yes   No 

Was EMS (911) or other medical professional notified?  Yes  No 

Time Notified ________ a.m./p.m. 

Equipment/Product involved: (check all that apply)  Climber  Motor Vehicle 

 Playground Surface  Sandbox  Slide  Swing  Tricycle/Bike/Riding toy 

 Toy (specify): _______________ Other Equipment (specify):___________ 

 Reported equipment/product involved in the injury to the Consumer Product Safety 

Commission (CPSC) https://www.cpsc.gov 

Location where incident occurred:  Classroom  Dining Room  Gym  Hall 

 Kitchen  Motor Vehicle  Office  Playground  Restroom  Stairway 

 Unknown Other (specify) ____________________________________________ 

March 2018



***If a serious injury or death to a child has occurred in a child care home, child development 
home, or licensed child care center, please email this incident report form to the Department of 

Human Services at ccsid@dhs.state.ia.us within 24 hours of the incident.*** 
HCCI 04252017 

I have reviewed the above injury report and certify it is true and accurate to the best of 

my knowledge: 

_______________________________ ___________ 

Child Care Provider Signature Date 

I have read the above injury report: 

___________________________________________ ___________ 
Parent / Legal Guardian / Authorized Person Signature Date

What First Aid / Treatment given on-site? 

Who administered First Aid or Treatment? _______________________________ 

Describe the injury / incident: Include part(s) of the body injured and the type of injury 

markings.  For medication errors, describe medication and exact circumstances:  

Cause of Injury / Incident( check all that apply)  Animal Bite  Child Behavior-

related  Child Bite  Choking   Cold/heat over exposure  Fall running/tripping 

 Fall to surface: Estimated height of fall ___feet. Type of surface: _______________ 

 Hit or pushed by another child  Injured by object  Medication error      

 Motor vehicle  Poisoning  Sting, insect, bee, spider or tick bite 

 Other (specify): _________________________ 

Medical / Dental Care Needed Day of Injury / Incident: 

 No doctor/dental treatment required 

 Treated as an outpatient office or emergency room 

 Hospitalized 

March 2018



Infant, Toddler, Preschool Age – Child Health Form 

HEALTH PROFESSIONAL COMPLETE THIS PAGE – 
OR PROVIDE COPY OF WELL CHILD PHYSICAL  
Date of Exam: ___________________   

Height/Length: ____________ Weight: ___________ 

BMI– starting at age 24 mo. ____________ 

Head Circumference- age 2 yr. and under: _____________ 

Blood Pressure-start @ age 3 yr.:____________ 
Hgb or Hct- @ 12 mo.: _____________ 
Lead Risk Assessment: _________________ 

Blood Lead Level: date__________ results _____________ 

Sensory Screening: 
Vison Assessment: ______________________________  

Vision Acuity: Right eye ________ Left eye _________ 

Hearing Assessment: Right ear ______ Left ear ________ 

Tympanometry (may attach results) 

Developmental Screening/Surveillance:
(n = normal limits) otherwise describe 
Developmental screening results: 

Autism screening results: 

Psychosocial/behavioral results 

Developmental Referral Made Today: Yes     No   

Exam Results: (n = normal limits) otherwise describe 

HEENT 

Oral/Teeth Date of Dental exam ____________ 

Oral Health/Dental Referral Made Today: Yes   No 

Heart 

Lungs 

Stomach/Abdomen 

Genitalia 

Extremities, Joints, Muscles, Spine 

Skin, Lymph Nodes 

Neurological 

Allergies 
Environmental: 
Medication: 
Food: 
Insects: 
Other: 

Child Name: _______________________________ 
Date of Birth: ___________        Age: ________ 

Immunization and TB Testing:  (check as indicated) 
 IDPH Certificate of Immunization reviewed and signed 

 TB testing completed (only for high-risk child) 

Medication: Health professional authorizes the child may 
receive the following medications while at the child care 
facility: (include over-the-counter and prescribed) 

Medication Name    Dosage 
 Diaper crème: 
 Fever or Pain reliever: 
 Sunscreen: 
 Other 

Other Medication should be listed with written instructions for use 
in child care. Medication forms available at 
www.idph.iowa.gov/hcci/products 

Additional Referrals made: 
 ______________________________________ 
 ______________________________________ 

Health Provider Assessment Statement: 
The child may participate in developmentally ap-

propriate early care/learning with NO health-related 
restrictions. 

 The child may participate in developmentally ap-
propriate early care/learning with restrictions (see
comments). 

 The child has a special needs care plan 
Type of plan __________________________ 
(Please complete and give to parent for child care) 

 
 

American Academy of Pediatrics has recommendations for frequency of 
childhood preventative pediatric health care (Bright Futures March 2021) 
https://www.aap.org/en-us/Documents/periodicity_schedule.pdf 

Comments: 

HCCI 05/24/2021 

May use stamp 

Signature ____________________________________ 
Circle the Provider Type:   MD    DO    PA    ARNP 

Address: Telephone: 



PARENT/GUARDIAN COMPLETE THIS PAGE Child’s Name: ___________________________
Tell us about your child's health. Place an X in 
the box if the sentence applies to your child.  
Check all that apply to your child. This will help 
your health care provider plan your child’s physi-
cal exam.

Growth
I am concerned about my child's growth.

Appetite
I am concerned about my child's eating/  

feeding habits or appetite.

Rest -
I am concerned about the amount of sleep

my child needs.

Illness/Surgery/Injury - My child 
had a serious illness, injury, or surgery.

Physical Activity - My child 
must restrict physical activity. 

Development and Learning
I am concerned about my child’s

behavior, development, or learning. 

Allergies-My child has allergies. (Medicine, 
food, dust, mold, pollen, insects, animals, etc.). 

Special Needs Care Plan – My child has a
special need and needs a care plan for child 
care. Please discuss with your health care pro-
vider. 

Body Health - My child has problems with
Skin, birthmarks, Mongolian spots, hair, finger-

nails or toenails. 
Map and describe color/shape of skin markings

birthmarks, scars, moles

Eyes \ vision, glasses
Ears \ hearing, hearing aids or device, ear-
aches, tubes in ears
Nose problems, nosebleeds, runny nose
Mouth, teething, gums, tongue, sores in 
mouth or on lips, mouth-breathing, snoring
Frequent sore throats or tonsillitis
Breathing problems, asthma, cough, croup
Heart, heart murmur
Stomach aches, upset stomach, spitting-up
Using toilet, toilet training, urinating
Bones, muscles, movement, pain when        mov-
ing, uses assistive equipment.
Nervous system, headaches, seizures, or

 nervous habits (like twitches)
Needs special equipment.

Medication - My child takes medication. (List the 
name of medication, time medication taken, and the reason med-
ication prescribed).

Parent/Guardian questions or comments for the health care provider:

List equipment:

Please describe:

Please describe:

Please describe:

Please describe:

Parent/Guardian Signature Date:

HCCI 05/24/2021
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Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care – Infant, Toddler, and Preschool Age 
Bright Futures/American Academy of Pediatrics 

Each child and family is unique; therefore, these Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care are designed for the care of children who are receiving competent parenting, have no manifestations of any important 
health problems, and are growing and developing in satisfactory fashion.  Additional visits may become necessary if circumstances suggest variations from normal.  Developmental, psychosocial, and chronic disease issues for 
children and adolescents may require frequent counseling and treatment visits separate from preventive care visits. 

These guidelines represent a consensus by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and Bright Futures.  The AAP continues to emphasize the great importance of continuity of care in comprehensive health supervision and 
the need to avoid fragmentation of care.  Refer to the specific guidance by age as listed in Bright Futures guidelines (Hagan JF, Shaw JS, Duncan PM, eds.  Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children 
and Adolescents. 3rd ed. Elk Grove Village, IL:  American Academy of Pediatrics; 2008). 

The recommendations in this statement do not indicate an exclusive course of treatment or standard of medical care.  Variations, taking into account individual circumstances, may be appropriate. 

 INFANCY EARLY CHILDHOOD 

AGE1 Prenatal2 Newborn3 3-5 d4 By 1 mo 2 mo 4 mo 6 mo 9 mo 12 mo 15 mo 18 mo 24 mo 30 mo 3 y 4 y 

HISTORY: Initial/Interval ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

MEASUREMENTS: Length/Height and Weight  ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Head Circumference  ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫    

Weight for Length  ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫     

Body Mass Index5            ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Blood Pressure6              ⚫ ⚫ 

SENSORY SCREENING: Vision7              ⚫ ⚫ 

Hearing  ⚫
8             ⚫ 

DEVELOPMENTAL/BEHAVIORAL ASSESSMENT:                

Developmental Screening9        ⚫   ⚫  ⚫   

Autism Screening10           ⚫ ⚫    

Developmental Surveillance  ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫  ⚫ ⚫  ⚫  ⚫ ⚫ 

Psychosocial/Behavioral Assessment  ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Alcohol and Drug Use Assessment11                

Depression Screening12                

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION13  ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

PROCEDURES14: Newborn Blood Screening15   ⚫             

Critical Congenital Heart Defect Screening16  ⚫              

Immunization17  ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Hematocrit or Hemoglobin18         ⚫       

Lead Screening19         ⚫ or 20   ⚫ or 20    

Tuberculosis Testing21                

Dyslipidemia Screening22                

STI/HIV Screening23                

Cervical Dysplasia Screening24                

ORAL HEALTH25         ⚫ or   ⚫ or  ⚫ or  ⚫ or  ⚫  

Fluoride Varnish26           ⚫     

ANTICIPATORY GUIDANCE ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

KEY:  ⚫ = to be performed ⚫ or  = risk assessment to be performed with appropriate action to follow, if positive  ⚫  = range during which a service may be provided 
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Footnotes for Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care 

 1. If a child comes under care for the first time at any point on the schedule, or if any items are not accomplished 
at the suggested age, the schedule should be brought up to date at the earliest possible time. 

 2. A prenatal visit is recommended for parents who are at high risk, for first-time parents, and for those who 
request a conference.  The prenatal visit should include anticipatory guidance, pertinent medical history, and a 
discussion of benefits of breastfeeding and planned method of feeding, per the 2009 AAP statement “The 
Prenatal Visit” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/124/4/1227.full). 

 3. Every infant should have a newborn evaluation after birth, and breastfeeding should be encouraged (and 
instruction and support should be offered). 

 4. Every infant should have an evaluation within 3 to 5 days of birth and within 48 to 72 hours after discharge 
from the hospital to include evaluation for feeding and jaundice.  Breastfeeding infants should receive formal 
breastfeeding evaluation, and their mothers should receive encouragement and instruction, as recommended 
in the 2012 AAP statement “Breastfeeding and the Use of Human Milk” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/3/e827.full).  Newborn infants discharged less than 48 hours 
after delivery must be examined within 48 hours of discharge, per the 2010 AAP statement “Hospital Stay for 
Healthy Term Newborns” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/2/405.full). 

 5. Screen, per the 2007 AAP statement “Expert Committee Recommendations Regarding the Prevention, 
Assessment, and Treatment of Child and Adolescent Overweight and Obesity:  Summary Report” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/Supplement_4/S164.full). 

 6. Blood pressure measurement in infants and children with specific risk conditions should be performed at visits 
before age 3 years. 

 7. A visual acuity screen is recommended at ages 4 and 5 years, as well as in cooperative 3 year olds.  
Instrument based screening may be used to assess risk at ages 12 and 24 months, in addition to the well 
visits at 3 through 5 years of age.  See 2016 AAP statement, “Visual System Assessment in Infants, Children, 
and Young Adults by Pediatricians” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/137/1/1.51) and “Procedures 
for Evaluation of the Visual System by Pediatricians” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/137/1/1.52). 

 8. All newborns should be screened, per the AAP statement “Year 2007 Position Statement:  Principles and 
Guidelines for Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Programs” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/4/898.full).   

 9. See 2006 AAP statement “Identifying Infants and Young Children With Developmental Disorders in the 
Medical Home:  An Algorithm for Developmental Surveillance and Screening” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/118/1/405.full). 

 10. Screening should occur per the 2007 AAP statement “Identification and Evaluation of Children with Autism 
Spectrum Disorders” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/5/1183.full). 

 11. A recommended screening tool is available at http://www.ceasar-boston.org/CRAFFT/index.php.  

 12. Recommended screening using the Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ)-2 or other tools available in the 
GLAD-PC toolkit and at http://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Mental-
Health/Documents/MH_ScreeningChart.pdf.   

 13. At each visit, age-appropriate physical examination is essential, with infant totally unclothed and older children 
undressed and suitably draped.  See2011 AAP statement “Use of Chaperones During the Physical 
Examination of the Pediatric Patient” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/127/5/991.full). 

 14. These may be modified, depending on entry point into schedule and individual need. 

 15. The Recommended Uniform Newborn Screening Panel 
(http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/recommendedpanel/uniformscreeni
ngpanel.pdf), as determined by The Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and 
Children, and state newborn screening laws/regulations (http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu/sites/genes-r-
us/files/nbsdisorders.pdf), establish the criteria for and coverage of newborn screening procedures and 
programs.  Follow-up must be provided, as appropriate, by the pediatrician. 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/124/4/1227.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/3/e827.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/2/405.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/Supplement_4/S164.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/137/1/1.51
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/137/1/1.52
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/4/898.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/118/1/405.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/5/1183.full
http://www.ceasar-boston.org/CRAFFT/index.php
http://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Mental-Health/Documents/MH_ScreeningChart.pdf
http://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Mental-Health/Documents/MH_ScreeningChart.pdf
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/127/5/991.full
http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/recommendedpanel/uniformscreeningpanel.pdf
http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/recommendedpanel/uniformscreeningpanel.pdf
http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu/sites/genes-r-us/files/nbsdisorders.pdf
http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu/sites/genes-r-us/files/nbsdisorders.pdf
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 16. Screening for critical congenital heart disease using pulse oximetry should be performed in newborns, after 24 
hours of age, before discharge from the hospital, per the 2011 AAP statement “Endorsement of Health and 
Human Services Recommendation for Pulse Oximetry Screening for Critical Congenital Heart Disease” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/1/190.full).  

 17. Schedules, per the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases, are available at: 
http://aapredbook.aappublications.org/site/resources/izschedules.xhtml.  Every visit should be an opportunity 
to update and complete a child’s immunizations. 

 18. See 2010 AAP statement “Diagnosis and Prevention of Iron Deficiency and Iron Deficiency Anemia in Infants 
and Young Children (0-3 Years of Age)” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/5/1040.full). 

 19. For children at risk of lead exposure, see the 2012 CDC Advisory Committee on Childhood Lead Poisoning 
Prevention statement “Low Level Lead Exposure Harms Children:  A Renewed Call for Primary Prevention” 
(http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead/ACCLPP/Final_Document_030712.pdf).    

 20. Perform risk assessments or screenings as appropriate, based on universal screening requirements for 
patients with Medicaid or in high prevalence areas. 

 21. Tuberculosis testing per recommendations of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, published in the current 
edition of AAP Red Book:  Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases.  Testing should be performed on 
recognition of high-risk factors. 

 22. See AAP-endorsed 2011 guidelines from the National Heart Blood and Lung Institute, “Integrated Guidelines 
for Cardiovascular Health and Risk Reduction in Children and Adolescents” 
(http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/guidelines/cvd_ped/index.htm). 

 23. Adolescents should be screened for sexually transmitted infections (STIs) per recommendations in the current 
edition of the AAP Red Book:  Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases.  Additionally, all adolescents 
should be screened for HIV according to the AAP statement 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/128/5/1023.full) once between the ages of 16 and 18, making 
every effort to preserve confidentiality of the adolescent.  Those at increased risk of HIV infection, including 
those who are sexually active, participate in injection drug use, or are being tested for other STIs, should be 
tested for HIV and reassessed annually. 

 24. See USPSTF recommendations (http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspscerv.htm).  
Indications for pelvic examinations prior to age 21 are noted in the 2010 AAP statement “Gynecologic 
Examination for Adolescents in the Pediatric Office Setting” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/3/583.full).  

 25. Assess if the child has a dental home.  If no dental home is identified, perform a risk assessment 
(http://www2.aap.org/oralhealth/docs/RiskAssessmentTool.pdf) and refer to a dental home.  If primary water 
source is deficient in fluoride, consider oral fluoride supplementation.  Recommend brushing with fluoride 
toothpaste in the proper dosage for age.  See 2009 AAP statement “Oral Health Risk Assessment Timing and 
Establishment of the Dental Home” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/111/5/1113.full), 2014 clinical 
report “Fluoride Use in Caries Prevention in the Primary Care Setting” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/3/626), and 2014 AAP statement “Maintaining and Improving 
the Oral Health of Young Children” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/6/1224.full).  

 26. See USPSTF recommendations (http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspsdnch.htm).  Once 
teeth are present, fluoride varnish may be applied to all children every 3-6 months in the primary care or 
dental office.  Indications for fluoride use are noted in the 2014 AAP clinical report “Fluoride Use in Caries 
Prevention in the Primary Care Setting” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/3/626). 

 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/1/190.full
http://aapredbook.aappublications.org/site/resources/izschedules.xhtml
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/5/1040.full
http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead/ACCLPP/Final_Document_030712.pdf
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/guidelines/cvd_ped/index.htm
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/128/5/1023.full
http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspscerv.htm
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/3/583.full
http://www2.aap.org/oralhealth/docs/RiskAssessmentTool.pdf
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/111/5/1113.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/3/626
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/6/1224.full
http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspsdnch.htm
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/3/626


School-Age Child Health Form/Parent Statement of Health 

HCCI 05/24/2021

HEALTH PROFESSIONAL COMPLETE PAGE – 
OR PROVIDE COPY OF WELL CHILD PHYSICAL 

Date of Exam: ___________________   
Height: ___________    Weight: ____________ 
Body Mass Index: __________,  

There are weight concerns 
Referral made to ______________________________________ 

Blood Pressure: _________ 
Laboratory Screening: 
Blood Lead Level: Date_______  venous  capillary (for 
child under age 6 yr.) Results ___________ 
Hgb. / Hct: _______________ 

Urinalysis: _______________ 

Sensory Screening 
Vision Acuity: Right eye ________ Left eye _________ 

Hearing: Right ear ________ Left ear _________ 

Tympanometry: Right ear ________ Left ear _________ 

Exam Results (N = normal limits) otherwise describe 
Skin: 

HEENT: 

Teeth/Oral health:  

Date of Dentist Exam: __________ or  none to date. 

Dental Referral Made Today  Yes   No 

Heart: 
Lungs: 

Stomach/Abdomen: 

Genitalia: 

Extremities, Joints, Muscles, Spine: 

Neurological: 
Psychosocial/Behavioral Assessment (Depression 
screening starting at age 11) 

Allergies: 
Environmental 
Medication 
Food 
Insects 
Other 

Child Name: _______________________________ 
Date of Birth: ___________        Age: ________ 

Immunization and TB Testing: (check as indicated) 
 IDPH Certificate of Immunization reviewed/signed  

 TB testing completed (only for high-risk child) 

Health provider authorizes the child to receive the 
following medications while at child care or school  

(Including over-the-counter and prescribed) 

Medication Name          Dosage 
Fever/Pain reliever: 

Sunscreen: 

Cough medication: 

Other - list all 

Other Medication should be listed with written in-
structions for use in child care. Medication forms 
available at www.idph.iowa.gov/hcci/products 

Additional Referrals made: 
 ___________________________________ 
 ___________________________________ 

Health Provider Statement: 
The child may fully participate with NO health-

related restrictions. 

The child has the following health-related re-
strictions to participation: (please specify) 

 The child has a special needs care plan 
Type of plan ____________________________ 
(Please complete and give to parent for child care) 

Health Care Provider Comments: 

May use stamp 

Signature ____________________________________ 
Circle the Provider Type:   MD    DO    PA    ARNP 

Address: Telephone: American Academy of Pediatrics has recommendations for frequency of 
childhood preventative pediatric health care (Bright Futures March 2021) 
https://www.aap.org/en-us/Documents/periodicity_schedule.pdf 



School-Age Child Health Form/Parent Statement of Health 

HCCI 05/24/2021

Parent/Guardian complete this page  Child name: __________________________________ 
Please use an X in the box  for statements that 
apply to your child. 

Date of child’s last physical exam: ___________ 
Date of last dental appointment: _____________ 

Growth 
 I am concerned about child's growth. 

Appetite 
 I am concerned about child's eating habits. 

Rest   
 My child needs to rest after school. 

Illness/Surgery/Injury  
 My child had a serious illness, surgery, or in-

jury. Please describe:

Physical Activity - My child  
 Must restrict physical activity or needs special 

equipment to be active. Please describe: 

Play with friends - My child 
 Plays well in groups with other children. 
 Will play only with one or two other children. 
 Prefers to play alone. 
 Fights with other children. 
 I am concerned about my child's play activity 

with other children. Please describe: 

School and Learning - My child 
 Is doing well at school. 
 Is having difficulty in some classes. 
 Does not want to go to school. 
 Frequently misses or is late for school.  
 I am concerned about how my child is doing 

in school. Please describe: 

 Allergy - My child has allergies (Medicine, food,
dust, mold, pollen, insects, animals, etc.). List allergies: 

 Special Needs Care Plan –My child has a 
special need and needs a care plan for child 
care. Please discuss with your health care pro-
vider. 

Body Health - My child has problems with 

 Skin, hair, fingernails or toenails. 
Describe skin marks, birthmarks, or scars. Show us 
where these skin marks are located using the draw-

ing below. 

 Eyes/vision, glasses or contact lenses 
 Ears/hearing, hearing assistive aides or device, 
earache, tubes in ears 

 Nose problems, nosebleeds 
 Mouth, teeth, gums, tongue, sores in mouth or on 
lips, breaths through mouth 

 Frequent sore throats or tonsillitis 
 Breathing problems, asthma, cough 
 Heart problems or heart murmur 
 Stomach aches or upset stomach 
 Trouble using toilet or wetting accidents 
 Hard stools, constipation, diarrhea, watery stools 
 Bones, muscles, movement, pain when moving 
 Mobility, child uses assistive equipment  
 Nervous system, headaches, seizures, or nerv-
ous habits (like twitches or tics) 

 Females – difficult monthly periods 
 Other special needs. Please describe: 

 Medication1 - My child takes medication.  
Medication Name       Time Given       Reason for giving medication 

Child has Epipen, inhaler, or other emergency 
medication. 

 Yes    No 

Parent/Guardian Signature: ______________________________   Date: _____________ 

1 Parents: Please review the child care program’s policies about the use of medication at child care. 
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Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care – School-Age Child 
Bright Futures/American Academy of Pediatrics 

Each child and family is unique; therefore, these Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care are designed for the care of children who are receiving competent parenting, have no manifestations of any important 
health problems, and are growing and developing in satisfactory fashion.  Additional visits may become necessary if circumstances suggest variations from normal.  Developmental, psychosocial, and chronic disease issues for 
children and adolescents may require frequent counseling and treatment visits separate from preventive care visits. 

These guidelines represent a consensus by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and Bright Futures.  The AAP continues to emphasize the great importance of continuity of care in comprehensive health supervision and 
the need to avoid fragmentation of care.  Refer to the specific guidance by age as listed in Bright Futures guidelines (Hagan JF, Shaw JS, Duncan PM, eds.  Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children 
and Adolescents. 3rd ed. Elk Grove Village, IL:  American Academy of Pediatrics; 2008). 

The recommendations in this statement do not indicate an exclusive course of treatment or standard of medical care.  Variations, taking into account individual circumstances, may be appropriate. 

 MIDDLE CHILDHOOD ADOLESCENCE 

AGE1 5 y 6 y 7 y 8 y 9 y 10 y 11 y 12 y 13 y 14 y 15 y 16 y 17 y 18 y 19 y 20 y 21 y 

HISTORY: Initial/Interval ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

MEASUREMENTS: Length/Height and Weight ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Head Circumference                  

Weight for Length                  

Body Mass Index5 ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Blood Pressure6 ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

SENSORY SCREENING: Vision7 ⚫ ⚫  ⚫  ⚫  ⚫   ⚫       

Hearing ⚫ ⚫  ⚫  ⚫            

DEVELOPMENTAL/BEHAVIORAL ASSESSMENT:                  

Developmental Screening9                  

Autism Screening10                  

Developmental Surveillance ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Psychosocial/Behavioral Assessment ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Alcohol and Drug Use Assessment11                  

Depression Screening12       ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION13 ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

PROCEDURES14: Newborn Blood Screening15                  

Critical Congenital Heart Defect Screening16                  

Immunization17 ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

Hematocrit or Hemoglobin18                  

Lead Screening19                  

Tuberculosis Testing21                  

Dyslipidemia Screening22      ⚫          ⚫  

STI/HIV Screening23             ⚫     

Cervical Dysplasia Screening24                 ⚫ 

ORAL HEALTH25  ⚫                

Fluoride Varnish26                  

ANTICIPATORY GUIDANCE ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ ⚫ 

KEY:  ⚫ = to be performed ⚫ or  = risk assessment to be performed with appropriate action to follow, if positive  ⚫  = range during which a service may be provided 

See pages 77 and 78 for footnotes. 
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Phone Numbers 

Police  Poison Control  

Fire  Paramedics  

Child’s Name Birthdate 
Parents 

Doctor School 
Emergency Contact 

Name Home Work Name Phone 

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

  M 

F 

   

Home Address  

Telephone Numbers  
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Monthly Medicine Record 
Child Name:  Month  Year  

Child Known Allergies: 

Parent Permission to give medicine:  I give my permission for the child care business to give the following medicine(s) to my child. 

Date: Parent Signature Giving 
Permission: 

Name of medicine on the 
label: 

Medicine dose 
on the label: 

Time of day 
medicine is to be 
given at child 
care:1 

Route of 
medicine as on 
the label: 

Possible side 
effects: 

Required storage: 
  Refrigerate 

  Refrigeration 
not required 

  Medicine is doctor approved and 
doctor authorization form on file at 
child care 

Reason medicine needed: Special instructions for giving medicine:2 

 
 
Beginning date for medicine:  

Ending date for medicine:  
 

Date: Parent Signature Giving 
Permission: 

Name of medicine on the 
label: 

Medicine dose 
on the label: 

Time of day 
medicine is to be 
given at child 
care:1 

Route of 
medicine as on 
the label: 

Possible side 
effects: 

Required storage: 
  Refrigerate 

  Refrigeration 
not required 

  Medicine is doctor approved and 
doctor authorization form on file at 
child care 

Reason medicine needed: Special instructions for giving medicine:2 

 
 
Beginning date for medicine:  

Ending date for medicine:  
 

Date: Parent Signature Giving 
Permission: 

Name of medicine on the 
label: 

Medicine dose 
on the label: 

Time of day 
medicine is to be 
given at child 
care:1 

Route of 
medicine as on 
the label: 

Possible side 
effects: 

Required storage: 
  Refrigerate 

  Refrigeration 
not required 

  Medicine is doctor approved and 
doctor authorization form on file at 
child care 

Reason medicine needed: Special instructions for giving medicine:2 

 
 
Beginning date for medicine:  

Ending date for medicine:  
 

Parent permission to contact pharmacy and physician:  I give my permission for the child care business to contact my child’s pharmacy and physician should 
questions arise or a situation occur that involves my child and the medication. 
Parent Name (print):  Parent Signature:  Date:  

 
1The time of day for the medicine needs to be consistent between home, child care and other programs where the child is located like school.  Ask the parent 
when the medicine is given at home so medicine doses may be evenly spaced for maximum benefit. 
2The medicine may need to be given before meals, after meals, with food, with a specific liquid (water or milk).  All instructions should be written on the medicine 
label or instructions.  When in doubt, call the pharmacy where the prescription medicine was dispensed. 

January 2007 

Monthly Medicine Record 

Attach 
Child 
Photo 
Here 
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Child Name:  

Month  
Year  Day of Month 
Medicine, Dose 
and Route 

Time of 
Day 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 

Example:  Amoxicillin 
250 mg., 1 teaspoon, 
orally 

10 am *                               

 

                                

                                 

                                 

                                 

                                 

*Place your initials in the box showing the medicine was given.  Use an “A” when a child is absent.  Use an “O” when medication is not given for any reason.  
Document the reason the medication was not given and document that the parent was informed. 

Instructions for using Medicine Record: 
• First Column:  Record the medicine name, dosage, and route. 

• Second Column:  Record the time(s) of day the medicine is to be given at child care.  
If the medicine is given more than one time a day, use a separate row for each time 
of day the medicine is to be given. 

• Third – Last Column:  The person who measures and gives the medicine must place 
the person’s initials in the appropriate row (for time) and column (for date) that the 
medicine was given.  Use columns numbered from 1-31 for the date.  The person 
who measures the medicine dosage is the only person allowed to give the medicine. 

 Call the Healthy Child Care Iowa talkline 1-800-369-2229 
to order free copies of this form. 

Iowa Poison Control Center:  1-800-222-1222 
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Record of Emergency Practice Drills 

Facility/Program Name:  Year:  

Address:  Owner/Director Signature:  

Fire Drills (required) 

 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

Date Held & Initials             

Start Time             

Time Needed to 
Evacuate Bldg. 

            

Alarm Signal Used 
(Y/N) 

            

Roll Call 
Completed After 
Evacuation 

            

Drill Evaluation 
Completed/Filed 

            

 

Tornado Drills (required) 

 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

Date Held & Initials             

Start Time             

Time Needed to 
Evacuate 

            

Alarm Signal Used 
(Y/N) 

            

Roll Call 
Completed in 
Shelter 

            

Drill Evaluation 
Completed/Filed 

            

 

Other Optional Drills (Rotate practicing evacuation, lock-down, shelter-in-place, etc.) 

 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

Date Held & Initials             

Start Time             

Type of Drill 
(See types below) 

            

Time Needed to 
Evacuate 

            

Alarm Signal Used             

Roll Call 
Completed in 
Shelter 

            

Drill Evaluation 
Completed/Filed 

            

Type of Drill:  1) Shelter-in-place    2) Lock-down    3) Evacuation    4) Reverse Evacuation  
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Emergency Practice Drill Evaluation Tool 

Facility/Program Name:  

Address:  

Date of Drill:  Time of Drill:  Type of Drill:  

Name of Persons Evaluating Drill:  

Drill Objectives  

What Went Well?  

What Did Not Go 
Well? 

 

Lessons Learned 
and Recommended 
Changes to the 
Emergency Plan 

 

Date Emergency Plan Changes Completed:  

Signature of Owner/Director:  
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Record of Detector, Fire Extinguishers, and Evacuation Equipment Checks 

Facility/Program Name:  Year:  

Address:  Owner/Director Signature:  

Smoke Detectors 

 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

# of Detectors             

Date Detectors 
Checked & Initials 

            

Date Batteries 
Replaced (change 
twice a year) 

            

 

Carbon Monoxide Detectors (required for licensed child care centers and preschools) 

 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

# of Detectors             

Date Detectors 
Checked & Initials 

            

Date Batteries 
Replaced  

            

 

Fire Extinguishers 

 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 

# of Fire 
Extinguishers 

            

Date Extinguisher 
Checked & Initials 

            

Date Fire 
Extinguishers 
Purchased 

 

 

Evacuation Equipment (if equipment is included in your plan) 

Other evacuation 
equipment (i.e., 
egress windows, 
evacuation cribs, 
etc.)   
List items below 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 
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Iowa Department of Health and Human Services 

Child Care Provider Physical Examination Report 
Child Care Center Personnel • Child Development Home Providers 

Name: 

 

Date of Exam: 

Child Care Providers: 

▪ Have frequent contact with children (infant through school-age) in care. 

▪ Are responsible for children’s physical care and social development day or/and nighttime hours. 

▪ May need to lift children, bend, and stand for long periods of time.  

Immunization Status: 

All child care employees and providers shall consult with their physician regarding the receipt of age appropriate 

immunizations in accordance with the current Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommended 

immunization schedule. Individuals involved in the provision of child care often come in contact with very young children, 

whom may or may not be fully immunized against vaccine-preventable diseases. It is essential every child care employee and 

provider discuss with their physician the benefits and risks associated with receiving or not receiving all ACIP age appropriate 

immunizations before becoming involved in a child care setting.  

(Physician Must Check One) 

 Patient’s immunization history was reviewed and patient is current with all ACIP recommended immunizations.  

 Patient received consultation regarding the receipt of age appropriate immunizations in accordance with the current ACIP 

recommended immunization schedule and declined the following recommended vaccinations: 

 

 

 

Tuberculosis Screening: 

All child care staff/providers are required to receive a baseline screening for Tuberculosis. Baseline screening shall consist of 

two components: 

1. Assessing for current symptoms of active TB disease. 

2. Screening for risk factors associated with TB. 

NOTE: ONLY perform a TST or IGRA if the patient has an identified risk factor and/or current symptoms of TB disease. 

Do not test individuals with previous past positive test results. 

(Physician Must Complete - Check And Date) 

 TB signs/symptoms assessment and TB risk factor screen completed Date: ____________ 

 TST or IGRA test completed (if indicated) Date: ____________ 

** Tuberculosis medical consultation and TB medications can be accessed by calling the Iowa Department of Health and 

Human Services, Tuberculosis Control Program at 515-281-8636 or 515-281-7504. 
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Iowa Department of Health and Human Services 

Child Care Provider Physical Examination Report 
Child Care Center Personnel • Child Development Home Providers 

Overall Health Status: 

Does the individual have a known communicable disease or other health conditions that poses a threat to the health, 

safety, or well-being of children?  

 Yes (if yes, describe in detail below.)  No 

Does the child care provider have a condition that limits the provider’s ability to safely supervise or evacuate 

multiple dependent children in case of emergency? 

 Yes (if yes, describe in detail below.)  No 

  

  

  

Conclusion: 

 Individual may be involved with child care 

 Individual may be involved with child care, with the following accommodations and restrictions (please describe 

below) 

 Individual may not be involved with child care 

Necessary Accommodations or Restrictions to Meet the Demands of Providing Child Care 

_________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
May use stamp 

Health Care Provider Signature ____________________________________ 

Circle the Provider Type MD DO PA ARNP DC 

 

Address:   Telephone: 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Child Care Provider 

Pet Health Examination Veterinary Health Certificate 
 

Child Care Provider Pet Information 
 

Name of Pet Owner 

Address 

Name of Pet Species Breed 

Sex Date of Birth Date of Exam 

Rabies Vaccination:  Date Given Date Expires 

 

Veterinary Provider Information 
 

Name of Veterinarian Veterinarian’s License Number 

Address of Veterinarian Phone Number of Veterinarian 

 

Dogs and Cats 

 On the above date I completed a health examination on the dog or cat listed above.  At that 

time I certify that the animal in question was healthy.  The animal is current on all 
recommended core vaccinations, including rabies, and there was no evidence of 
endoparasites (roundworms, hookworms, whipworms) or ectoparasites (fleas, mites, ticks, 
lice) found in or on the animal. 

Birds 

 On the above date I completed a health examination on the bird listed above.  At that time I 

certify that the animal in question was healthy and free of infectious diseases. 

Veterinarian’s Signature Date 
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