Iowa Department of Health and Human Services

60-Month Limit on FIP

Is there a limit on how long I can get FIP?

Federal law limits how long you can get FIP to a total of 60 months (five years).

What happens if I get FIP for 60 months?

If a parent gets FIP for 60 months, FIP stops for the whole family.

If a caretaker gets FIP for 60 months, the caretaker is taken off the FIP grant but FIP can continue for the child. Caretakers are relatives (like a grandparent, aunt or uncle) who care for a child, but are not the child's parent.

How is the 60 months counted?

Months you get FIP in Iowa or cash assistance in another state count toward the limit. Even if you get only a small amount of FIP in a month or get FIP for only part of a month, the month counts toward the limit.

We don't count months you got FIP when you were:

- A child.
- On Supplemental Security Income (SSI).
- A caretaker who didn't get FIP for yourself.

The 60 months don't have to be in one block of time. For example, if you get FIP for 30 months, go off FIP for a year and then come back on FIP, you can still get FIP for 30 more months.

Is there a time limit for other programs?

The 60-month limit is only on FIP. If your FIP stops because of the time limit, you may still get help from other programs, like Medicaid or SNAP.

IMPORTANT: You can only get FIP for 60 months. It's important that you start planning early how to become self-supporting by the time your FIP ends. Your PROMISE JOBS worker can help you prepare for this.

Comm. 137 (Rev. 01/23)