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How-Do-I? Guide: CPS Assessment 
Outcomes Decisions Criteria 

 Child safety, child and 

family well-being 

 Accurate finding regarding 

the allegation of abuse or 

neglect 

 Appropriate type, level, and 

intensity of intervention and 

services 

 Child safe or unsafe 

 Risk level 

 Allegation finding 

 Court involvement 

 Safety factors 

 Risk factors 

 Age of the child 

 Environment 

 Circumstances and impact 

of alleged abuse or neglect 

incident 

 Parent and child capacity 

Prepare for CPS Assessment 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Review Intake 

Information 

Iowa Code 

section 232.71B 

Review intake information and history: 

 Review the Child Protective Services 
Intake, form 470-0607. 

 Review information from systems checks 
(JARVIS/STAR, CINA, DARES, and FACS, 
WISE, ICAR). 

 Recontact reporter if appropriate. 

Plan when, where, and how 

the observation of the child 

will take place. 

Prior behavior is an indicator 

of future behavior; therefore, 

historical information should 

be reviewed to allow the CPW 

to complete a thorough 

assessment. 

Case 

Responsibility 

Iowa Code 

section 232.71B 

Upon being assigned a case for CPS 

assessment, consider the following: 

 Are there collateral contacts that should be 
made before you observe and interview the 
subjects of the report? 

 Is the child named in the report, or any 
other children under the care of the alleged 
perpetrator under immediate threat? 

Confidential access to the 

child victim is sometimes 

needed when the child’s 

safety or immediate needs 

warrant it. 
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Worker Safety 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

CPS Worker 

Safety 
Consider the risk of the situation before 

making the initial contact with the family: 

 History of domestic violence? 

 Location extremely isolated or dangerous? 

 Indication of mental illness, drug abuse or 
volatile behavior? 

 Firearms or other weapons in the home? 

 Indications to suggest the manufacturing of 
illegal drugs in the home? 

Careful evaluation of the 

allegations should be made to 

address the immediate safety 

needs of all children and the 

CPW. 

Consult with your supervisor 

on the involvement of law 

enforcement when any 

element of risk to worker 

safety is identified. 

Child Safety 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Initiate the 

Assessment 

Iowa Code 

section 232.71B 

Begin the assessment within the response 

time frame for observation of the child 

established during the intake process: 

 One hour 

 24 hours 

 96 hours 

 72 hours 

One hour: Immediate threat to 

the child’s safety. 

24 hours: No immediate threat 

to the child’s safety, but 

person alleged responsible 

has access to child. 

96 hours: No immediate threat 

to the child’s safety and 

person alleged responsible 

does not have access to child. 

72 hours: All family 

assessments. 
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Observing the Child Victim 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Observing the 

Child Victim 

Without Parental 

Consent 

Iowa Code 

sections 232.68, 

subsection 3, and 

232.71B, 

subsection 6

  

Determine if confidential access is required: 

 Request the juvenile court to order access 
to the child if the child’s safety is in question 
at your option. 

 If the court refuses to issue an order, 
consult with supervisory staff. Supervisory 
staff may contact program staff or legal staff 
to determine a course of action.  

 Obtain prior supervisory approval. If no 
prior supervisory approval, notify supervisor 
ASAP following access. 

 Make reasonable effort to contact the 
parent or guardian on the same day that 
you see the child, except when doing so 
would endanger the child or others. 

 Document reason for confidential access in 
the Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary, form 470-3240. 

Every child protective 

assessment case has the 

potential for unexpected 

confrontation. A thorough 

intake and preparation 

reduces the likelihood of 

danger, but the child 

protective worker should 

always remain alert to 

possible danger. 

There are situations when it is 

necessary to observe or 

interview children without prior 

parental consent. Confidential 

access to the child victim is 

sometimes needed when the 

child’s safety or immediate 

needs warrant it. 

Observe the 

Child and the 

Child’s 

Environment

  

When you observe a child victim: 

 Have a witness present. 

 Describe and document all physical injuries. 

 Observe other children who are in the care 
of the person alleged responsible for the 
abuse when concerns regarding the 
protection of these children are identified. 

When observing a child over 

age four, do not touch the 

child, remove the child’s 

clothing or convince the child 

to remove clothing. 

When observing a child under 

age four, you may view the 

child’s unclothed body other 

than genitalia or pubes with 

the parent’s permission. 

Observe Other 

Children in the 

Home 

Observe other children who are in the care of 

the person alleged responsible for the abuse 

when concerns regarding the protection of 

these children are identified.  

 Other children who are in the same home 
as the parents when the parents are 
alleged to be responsible for the abuse. 

 Other children in the same facility when the 
person alleged to be responsible for the 
abuse works or lives at the facility. 

When observing the other 

children, follow the same 

timeframes and guidelines 

used for observing the child 

named in the report. 

When the child and parent are 

at a domestic violence shelter, 

shelter staff may decline to 

confirm their presence to you. 



RC-0086 (09/24) 4 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Observe 

Children in 

Domestic 

Violence Shelter 

If shelter care staff refuse to share information, 

indicate you have reason to believe the parent 

and child are living at the shelter. 

 Leave a message for the parent with the 
shelter care staff. 

 If the parent has not contacted you within 
one working day, consult your supervisor 
regarding the need for juvenile court 
intervention. 

 

Initial Safety Assessment 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Safety 

Assessment 
Complete a safety assessment within five 

business days of intake: 

 On the Safety Assessment/Plan, form 
470-4132, document: 

• Factors influencing child vulnerability. 

• Current danger indicators. 

• Protective capacities and safety 
interventions. 

 On the Child Protective Services Child 
Abuse Assessment Summary, form 470-
3240 or Child Protective Services Family 
Assessment Summary, form 470-5371, 
document: 

• Specific individuals, behaviors, 
conditions, and circumstances 
associated with each identified safety 
concern. 

• Brief description of the abuse allegations. 

• A narrative summary of your 
observations, findings, and 
determination. 

• Obtain supervisory approval of the safety 
assessment. 

Immediate steps should be 

taken at the moment the CPW 

becomes aware of any safety 

factor that puts a child in 

danger of harm. 

The CPW should be aware of 

the elements of evaluating 

safety and continuously 

assess the safety of each 

child at every contact. 

Use RC-0104, Safety 

Assessment Guidance for 

assistance in completing the 

safety assessment. 

The information gathered 

during the safety assessment 

process will become the 

foundation for the Child 

Protective Services 

Assessment Summary. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Safety Decision Choose one of the following three safety 

decisions: 

 Safe: No danger indicators were identified. 

 Safe with a plan: One or more danger 
indicators were identified and the child can 
be protected by a voluntary safety plan with 
the parents. 

 Unsafe: One or more dangers indicators 
were identified and the child cannot be 
protected by a voluntary safety plan with 
the parents. 

Before a decision of “unsafe” 

is reached, evaluate 

reasonable efforts to prevent 

placement. Such 

consideration should include: 

 Non-custodial 
parent/relatives support 

 Family resources, 
neighbors, the tribe, or 
individuals in the 
community. 

 Community agencies or 
services. 

 Have the alleged 
perpetrator leave the home. 

 Have the non-abusing 
caregiver move to a safe 
environment with the child. 

 Families’ participation in 
Family Preservation 
Services. 

When any of the above 

reasonable efforts are utilized 

to protect the child, a safety 

plan must be completed 

reflecting the conditions and 

caregiver’s agreement. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Child is Safe 

with a plan 
Complete a safety plan with the primary 

caretaker responsible for the safety of the 

child: 

 Describe what tasks will be done and 
services provided to address how 
behaviors, conditions, and circumstances 
associated with the safety concern will be 
“controlled.” Indicate what will be done, by 
whom, how often, and for how long. 

 Indicate how the plan will be monitored. 

 Obtain supervisory approval of safety plan. 

 Obtain family agreement with the safety 
plan. 

All children must be determined “safe” by the 

close of the family assessment or the 

assessment must be reassigned as a child 

abuse assessment. 

When a child is determined to 

be safe with a plan, the CPW 

must create a safety plan to 

document the actions taken 

and services provided to 

ensure child safety. 

Family involvement in the 

development of the safety 

plan is imperative. Family-

centered principles support 

the premise that the greater 

the family’s participation, the 

more ownership the family 

has in successful outcomes.  

The CPW should take into 

consideration the family 

strengths and resources that 

can be built upon to reach a 

mutual agreement that 

reflects the shared goal of 

keeping the child safe. 

Child is Unsafe If child removal is necessary, notify the 

supervisor and document the action in the 

Child Protective Services Assessment 

Summary, form 470-3240. 

Consider placement options in the following 

order: 

 Voluntary placement with relative or family 
friend 

 Emergency protective custody actions 
through law enforcement, physician, or 
court order 

If the case was originally assigned as a family 

assessment, the incident must be reassigned 

as a child abuse assessment. 

The primary purpose of the 

assessment is to take action 

to protect and safeguard the 

child. 

A juvenile court order is 

required if child is placed in 

foster care. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Juvenile Court 

Action 

Iowa Code 

section 232.71C 

When the safety decision indicates juvenile 

court action is indicated to remove the child or 

gain parental cooperation, complete forms: 

 Child Protective Services Child Abuse 
Assessment Summary. 

 CINA petition within 72 hours if emergency 
protective custody required. 

 CINA petition if family will not voluntarily 
accept services and there is a founded 
assessment and the child is under six. 

 There is a founded assessment and the 

child is at moderate to high risk. 

The juvenile court is used to: 

 Grant a court order for the 
emergency protective 
removal of a child. 

 Grant a court order 

mandating services when 

the caregivers do not 

voluntarily agree to 

participate in services.  

Conducting Interviews 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Make Family 

Contacts 

Iowa Code 

sections 232.68, 

subsection 3, and 

232.71B 

Complete observation and interviews: 

 Alleged victim 

 Siblings of the alleged victim and other 
children under the care of the alleged 
perpetrator must be seen within the same 
time frames as the victim child 

 Parents or caregivers alleged to be 
responsible 

 Parents or caregivers not alleged to be 
responsible 

 The child’s environment 

Document contacts in the summary of 

contacts section of the Child Protective 

Services Child Abuse Assessment Summary, 

form 470-3240 or Child Protective Services 

Family Assessment Summary, form 470-5371. 

The siblings of the alleged 

victim, as well as other 

children under the care of the 

alleged perpetrator, must be 

interviewed to ensure their 

safety and to determine 

whether they have witnessed 

the alleged abuse. 

The purpose of interviewing 

the parent not responsible for 

the abuse is to determine 

what he or she knows about 

the alleged abuse, gather 

information regarding risk of 

abuse, and assess the 

parent’s capacity to protect 

the child. 

The child’s environment must 

be observed to determine 

whether it poses a safety risk, 

as well as, to provide valuable 

information regarding the 

allegation (i.e., evidence of 

drug use, adequacy of food). 
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Making Collateral Contacts 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Make Collateral 

Contacts 

Iowa Code 

section 232.71B 

Interview individuals and professionals who 

are familiar with the child and family and can 

provide additional information:  

 Collateral contacts identified by the family 
 Neighbors 
 Teachers and day care staff 
 Physicians and other medical professionals 
 Other service providers 

Document contacts in the summary of 

contacts section of the Child Protective 

Services Child Abuse Assessment Summary 

form 470-3240 or Child Protective Services 

Family Assessment Summary, form 470-5371. 

Effective selection and 

interviewing of collateral 

contacts are critical to 

accurate and timely decision-

making. 

While family-identified 

collateral contacts must be 

made, the CPS worker should 

consider additional credible 

sources of information 

regarding family functioning, 

child well-being, and historical 

events as they pertain to child 

safety. 

Making An Allegation Finding 

Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Gather Physical 

and 

Documentary 

Evidence 

Iowa Code 

section 232.71B 

For all child abuse assessments, gather 

physical and documentary evidence relevant 

to all of the allegations:  

 Talk with caregivers about how their 
behavior could have caused the abuse. 
When possible, obtain an admission by the 
person responsible. 

 Determine if medical evidence exists and 
obtain medical reports. 

 Determine if there is a criminal history or 
criminal charges pending. 

 Determine if the child victim was placed in 

danger of injury or death. 

Documentation of all evidence 

should be relevant to the 

allegations in the report. The 

findings of the assessment 

will determine continued HHS 

involvement with a family, 

voluntarily or involuntarily and, 

therefore, must be thorough 

and accurate.  

Among the many factors the 

CPW must consider in 

planning the initial observation 

of the child, the response 

time, nature of the allegations, 

location of the child, and 

confidential access are 

critical. 

There are no findings for 

family assessments. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Physical Abuse 

Iowa Code 

section 

232.68(2a) 

441 IAC 

175.21(232,235A) 

Make a finding of physical abuse: 

 Determine if physical injury has occurred 

 Observe or determine symptoms of abuse 

 Describe injury 

 Obtain photographs of injury 

 Determine if injury was accidental 

 Determine if the injury was the result of 

discipline 

The rights of caregivers and 

children must be respected 

throughout the process of 

determining whether physical 

abuse has occurred. 

 Child four or older: 
Removal or adjustment of 
clothing must be voluntary 
on the child’s part. Do not 
touch the child. 

 Child under four: Removal 
of clothing permitted except 
genitalia and pubes. If 
alleged injury in this area, 
do not observe without 
parental consent. 

 Determine developmental 
age when inspecting 
children with intellectual 
disabilities. 

 Child 10 or older may 

terminate the interview. 

Mental Injury 

Iowa Code 

section 

232.68(2a) 

Make a finding of mental injury: 

 Gather evidence from a physician or mental 
health professional 

 Describe observable child behavior that 

constitutes a substantial impairment 

In order to establish that 

mental injury has occurred as 

a result of the actions of 

caretakers, there must be 

solid evidence in the form of a 

diagnosis by a licensed 

clinical professional as well as 

clear evidence of substantial 

impairment of child 

functioning. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Denial of Critical 

Care 

Iowa Code 

section 

232.68(2d) 

441 IAC 

175.21(232,235A) 

Make a finding of denial of critical care if the 

neglect occurred within 5 years of the intake 

date: 

 Determine if family is financially able to 

provide for child’s needs 

 In the event of environmental hazards, 

obtain photographs 

It is important to separate 

issues of poverty from neglect 

when assessing allegations of 

denial of critical care. When 

the caregiver is financially 

unable to provide for the 

child’s needs, the provision of 

or referral to community 

resources and services may 

resolve the situation. 

Sexual Abuse 

Iowa Code 

section 

232.68(2c) 

Make a finding of sexual abuse: 

 Closely collaborate with all members of the 

interdisciplinary team, including law 

enforcement, and medical. 

Sexual abuse is any sexual 

offense committed to or with a 

child. Sexual abuse may 

result from the actions of a 

caregiver or the omission 

(failure to protect the child) of 

a caregiver.  

If more than one sexual 

offense has occurred in a 

single incident, consider the 

most serious offense. It is not 

necessary to make multiple 

determinations from a single 

offense. 

Presence of 

Illegal Drugs 

Iowa Code 

section 232.68(2f) 

Make a finding of presence of illegal drugs in a 

child’s body: 

 Obtain drug screen and medical laboratory 
reports 

 Talk with caretaker about how child 
ingested drugs 

 Document evidence (i.e., paraphernalia) 
and obtain photographs if possible 

When an infant is born drug-

exposed, medical laboratory 

reports are required to confirm 

this.  

When an older child has 

ingested drugs, the focus of 

the assessment is to 

determine whether the 

caregiver was directly or 

indirectly responsible. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Bestiality in the 

Presence of a 

Minor 

Iowa Code 

section 

232.68(2)(h), 

2001 Supplement 

Make a finding of bestiality in the presence of 

a minor: 

 Document a description of the sexual 

activity with an animal that the child 

engaged in or witnessed 

Bestiality in the presence of a 

minor may result from the 

actions of a caregiver or the 

omission (failure to protect the 

child) of a caregiver.  

Dangerous 

Substance 

Iowa Code 

section 

232.2(6)(p), 2001 

Supplement 

Make a finding of dangerous substance. 

Determine whether the caregiver did any of 

the following within five years of the intake 

date: 

 In the presence of a child: 

o unlawfully used, possessed, 
manufactured, cultivated, or distributed 
a dangerous substance, or 

o Knowingly allowed such use, 
possession, manufacture, cultivation, or 
distribution of a dangerous substance 
by another person, or 

o Possessed a product with the intent to 
use the product as a precursor or an 
intermediary to a dangerous substance. 

o Unlawfully uses, possesses, 
manufactures, cultivates, or distributes 
a dangerous substance in a child’s 
home, on the premises, or in a motor 
vehicle located on the premises 

Dangerous substance 

includes: 

 Amphetamine 

 Methamphetamine 

 Any chemical/combination 
of chemical that poses a 
reasonable risk of 
explosion, fire, or other 
danger 

 Cocaine 

 Heroin 

 Opium 

“In the presence of a child” 

means in the physical 

presence of a child or 

occurring under other 

circumstances in which a 

reasonably prudent person 

would know that the use, 

possession, manufacture, 

cultivation, or distribution of a 

dangerous substance may be 

seen, smelled, ingested, or 

heard by a child. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Prostitution of a 

Child 

Iowa Code 

section 

232.68(2e) 

Make a finding of prostitution of a child: 

 Describe how the person responsible 
allowed, permitted or encouraged the child 
to engage in prostitution 

 Describe how the person responsible 

enticed or engaged the child into 

prostitution 

This finding does not require 

that the child engaged in a 

sexual act. The caregiver’s 

offer or “allowing, permitting 

or encouraging” the child’s 

exploitation is sufficient. 

This finding does not require 

the exchange of money for a 

sexual act. 

Allows Access 

by a Registered 

Sex Offender 

Make a finding of allows access by a 

registered sex offender: 

 Determine whether the person who is the 

parent, guardian or person having custody 

or control over a child or a person who is a 

member of the household in which a child 

resides, knowingly allowed access a person 

registered or required to register on the Sex 

Offender Registry 

Exceptions to this law are: 

 The registered sex 

offender is a parent or 

guardian of the named 

victim child, or 

 The registered sex 

offender is married to and 

living with the person 

responsible for the care of 

the named child victim, or 

 The registered sex 

offender is a minor 

residing in the home of 

their parent, guardian, or 

foster parent. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Allows Access 

to Obscene 

Material 

Make a finding of allows access to obscene 

material: 

 Describe how the person responsible 

knowingly allowed child access to obscene 

material or knowingly exhibits or 

disseminates obscene material to the child 

“Obscene material” means 

any material which:  

 Depicts or describe the 

genitals, sex acts, 

masturbation, excretory 

functions or 

sadomasochistic abuse;  

 The average person, taking 

the material as a whole and 

applying contemporary 

community standards with 

respect to what is suitable 

material for minors, would 

find appeals to the prurient 

interest and is patently 

offensive; and  

 Taken as a whole, lacks 

serious literary, scientific, 

political or artistic value 

Child Sex 

Trafficking 
Make a finding of child sex trafficking: 

 Determine whether any person engaged in 

the recruitment, harboring, transportation, 

provision, obtaining, patronizing, or 

soliciting of a child for the purpose of 

commercial sexual activity. 

Use RC-0141, Child 

Trafficking Indicators to 

identify trafficking victims or 

potential trafficking victims.  

Any person who engages in 

child sex trafficking is a 

person responsible for child 

abuse. 
 


