Kim Reynolds, Governor

Chris Cournoyer, Lt. Governor

Kelly Garcia, Director

## AMENDING A CERTIFICATE OF BIRTH:

Obvious errors and omissions found on your birth certificate may be corrected through the "Amendment" process at the state Bureau of Health Statistics. To amend birth records one year or more after the event, submit the following:

- 1. A completed 'Amendment to Certificate of Birth' form that has been signed in front of a notary public by the individual named on the certificate. A parent or legal guardian must complete and sign the amendment form if the individual named on the record is under legal age or is legally incompetent. Instructions are printed on the back of the amendment form. AND
- 2. Supporting documents that verify the item being amended, plus identifying information on the record. All submitted copies will be returned to the applicant.
- Each item being amended must be supported by information provided in the document. Separate
  documents may not be necessary for multiple corrections to the record if one document adequately
  verifies all the items you have requested to be amended. Examples of documents that may contain
  supporting evidence for an amendment are listed on the reverse side of this letter.
- Each document must have been established prior to the amendment request and clearly dated.
  - For an individual age seven (7) years or older, documents must have been established at least five (5) years prior to the amendment request.
  - For a child age one (1) year to seven (7) years old, documents must have been established at least one (1) year prior to the amendment request.
- Documents will be thoroughly reviewed by the state vital records office to verify accuracy.

**Assistance.** For assistance in completing the amendment form and/or to review your verifying documents, visit any County Recorder's office in the State of Iowa, call the state office of vital records general number (515-281-4944) and ask for the amendment clerk, or call directly at 515-242-6759.

Fees. An administrative processing fee is required to file an Amendment to Certificate of Birth. An <a href="mailto:additional">additional</a> fee is required for a certified copy of the amended birth certificate, unless a state certified copy is relinquished at the time of the amendment request. All fees are payable in U.S. funds by check or money order to the lowa Department of Health and Human Services. <a href="mailto:As of July 1">As of July 1</a>, 2019, fees revert to \$15 each (i.e., \$15 processing + \$15 certified copy of amended certificate, unless exchanging a copy).

**Timeline.** Processing the amendment request should be completed within approximately 3-4 weeks after receipt, unless additional supporting documents are required.

Submit the completed and notarized Amendment to Certificate of Birth form, supporting document(s), fees, and the incorrect state certified copy, if available, to the address below. Make sure your return address is accurate.

(Over)

## **Iowa Department of Health and Human Services Bureau of Health Statistics, Attn: Amendments** Lucas State Office Building, 1st Floor 321 E. 12<sup>th</sup> Street Des Moines, IA 50319

After processing and filing your amendment, the state office of vital records will notify the County Registrar in the county of your birth, if applicable, of the changes so that your record at the county level may also be corrected. By Iowa law, not all Iowa births are on file at the local level. All amended records are marked "Amended," with the change indicated on the face of the record according to lowa law requirements.

## **Examples of Supporting Documents**

Examples of Supporting Documents	
Sibling's Certificate of Live Birth	May only be used to correct a parent's name. Must be a certified copy of the original record on file with the state or local registrar where the birth occurred. Short-form birth certificates from some registration districts may be refused.
Military entry or discharge papers	Must identify the date of birth, the dates of service, and the item being corrected. Must be certified.
Parents' Certificate of Marriage	Generally, shows age, birthplace, and names of parents.  Must be a certified copy of the original record on file with the state or local registrar where the license to marry was obtained.
Employment record	Statement prepared by the company on their letterhead that reflects your date of birth, dates of employment, and the item being corrected.
School enrollment or transcript records, transcripts (but NOT a diploma)	Available from the Area Education Agency serving the school district you attended. Contact your school district for more information. At a minimum, must identify the date of birth and verify the item being corrected.
Life insurance policy or pension plan	Statement prepared by the company on their letterhead that reflects your date of birth, the effective date of the insurance policy or enrollment in a retirement plan, and the item being corrected.
Hospital or physician medical record	A hospital or physician medical record that provides the facts of the birth and supports the item being corrected. For older records, may be a statement on hospital or physician's letterhead that reflects the facts of birth and includes the date of the original record.
Social security application (i.e., "micro print")	A copy of your original social security application (ask for your "micro print") from your district Social Security Administration field office. Or, contact the: Department of Health, Education & Welfare Social Security Administration Baltimore, Maryland 21235 1-800-772-1213