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STATE OF IOWA 
IOWA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

Bureau of Health Statistics 

AFFIDAVIT to OBTAIN PHOTOCOPY of 
CHILD’S PATERNITY AFFIDAVIT 

For State Vital Records Office Use Only 

Date to cashiers  __________________ 

Date mailed to parent  ______________ 

Processed by  ____________________ 

Child’s Name After Paternity First Middle, if any Last (surname) Suffix (Jr., II, III, IV, V) 

Child’s Name at Birth First Middle, if any Last (surname) Suffix (Jr., II, III, IV, V) 

Birth Date (Month, Day, Year) City and County of Birth Date Paternity Affidavit submitted to State (optional) 

Mother’s Name at Time of Child’s Birth First Middle, if any Last Name (surname) 

Pursuant to Iowa Code section 144.40, a photocopy of the paternity affidavit filed pursuant to Iowa Code section 252A.3A and clearly labeled as a copy 
may be provided to a parent named on the affidavit of paternity. A non-refundable fee of $15.00 is charged for the search and preparation of such 
supporting documents on file in the state registrar’s office pursuant to Iowa Administrative Code 641—95.6(1)”b”. The check or money order should be 
made payable to the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services. 

A non-refundable $15 administrative processing fee shall be charged for the search and preparation of the copy. 
Forward this completed and notarized affidavit, a clear photocopy of the applicant’s current, government-issued photo 

identification (e.g., driver’s license), and the $15 processing fee to the address listed below. 

Applicant’s Name:  (Print legibly) Applicant’s Daytime Phone Number: Relationship to Child: 

Mailing Address: (Street Address or P.O. Box) (City, Town, or Location) (State and Zip Code) 

AFFIRMATION: The applicant must sign and date this form in the presence of an authorized Notary Public. 
The Notary completes and signs below. 

APPLICANT:  By signing this affidavit, I attest that I am entitled by law to obtain a 
photocopy of the Paternity Affidavit filed with the State for the child named above. 

NOTARY PUBLIC:  Affirm the applicant’s signature 
and identity in your presence before completing the 
section to the left and affixing your signature and 
Notary Seal. 

Applicant’s Signature Date Signed The applicant must present current government-
issued photo identification. 

NOTARY SEAL 
State of County of ss 

Signed & affirmed in my presence 
Write name exactly as appears on applicant’s photo I.D. 

Notary Public’s Signature Date Signed 

Notary Address & Expiration Date 

Affidavits must be satisfactorily completed and signed in front of an authorized Notary Public using valid, current 
government-issued photo identification. 

Submit and mail to: ..................................................................................... Iowa Department of Health and Human Services 
 the $15 processing fee, Bureau of Vital Records, Paternity Clerk 
 this completed affidavit, and 321 E. 12th Street, Lucas Bldg. 1st Flr. 
 photocopy of the applicant’s photo I.D. Des Moines, IA   50319-0075 

(e.g., driver’s license)

(See other side for additional information) 
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STATE OF IOWA 
IOWA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

Bureau of Health Statistics 
 

INSTRUCTIONS to OBTAIN a PHOTOCOPY of CHILD’S PATERNITY AFFIDAVIT 
 

This Affidavit form is used to obtain a photocopy of a completed and processed Voluntary Paternity Affidavit 
after it has been filed with the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Bureau of Health Statistics. The 
Voluntary Paternity Affidavit is a legal document used to establish the biological father on the birth certificate of 
a child born to an unmarried mother. 

 
Entitled Applicant: 
 

Application to obtain a photocopy of the processed 
Paternity Affidavit form may only be made by: 
 

• Either parent named on the Paternity Affidavit,  
 

or 
 

• Either parent’s legal representative 
 

Cost: 
 

• A fee of $15 is charged for the search and 
preparation of the document, which is payable 
in U.S. funds by check or money order to the 
Iowa Department of Health and Human 
Services. The fee is non-refundable if a search 
is done, but no Paternity Affidavit is found to 
have been filed. 

 

• A vital records seal will be affixed to the copy 
and the copy will be clearly marked as a 
“Copy.” 

 
 

Completing the Form: 
 

• Complete the information as shown on the 
child’s birth certificate after the Paternity 
Affidavit and at birth, as well as the applicant’s 
name and mailing address. 

 

• Sign the application form only when in the 
presence of a Notary Public and are able to 
present current, government-issued photo 
identification. The Notary must apply a legible 
signature and notary seal to this form only. 
 

 

Submit to State: 
 

• Submit this completed notarized application to 
the Iowa Department of Health and Human 
Services at the address listed on the bottom of 
the application form. 

 

• Include a clear photocopy of the applicant’s 
current, government-issued photo identification 
and the $15 processing fee made payable to the 
Iowa Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS). 

 

 For additional information or assistance: 
 

• Contact the Paternity Clerk Specialist 
in the Bureau of Health Statistics at 
(515) 281-6687. 
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