## An Overview of Iowa's Mental Health and Disability Services Commission

Members elect a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson annually. Commission members are appointed to three-year staggered terms and may not be appointed for more than two consecutive full terms. The representation on the Commission is as follows:

- Three members submitted by the county supervisor affiliate of the Iowa State Association of Counties.
- Two members selected from nominees submitted by the Director of the Iowa Department of Human Services.
- One member who is an active board member of a community mental health center submitted by the Iowa Association of Community Providers.
- One member who is an active board member of any agency serving persons with developmental disabilities submitted by the Iowa Association of Community Providers.
- One member who is a board member or employee of a provider of mental health or developmental disabilities services to children.
- Two members who are administrators of the county Central Point of Coordination process submitted by the community services affiliate of the Iowa State Association of Counties.
- One member selected from nominees submitted by the State's council of the Association of Federal, State, County, and Municipal Employees.
- Three members who are service consumers or family members of service consumers: one consumer; one parent of a child who is a consumer of services; one parent or other family member of a person living at a state resource center.
- Two members selected from nominees submitted by service advocates, one of which is an active member of a statewide organization for persons with brain injury.
- One member nominated by the Iowa Behavioral Health Association who is an active board member of an agency serving persons with substance abuse problems.
- One member who is a military veteran and who is knowledgeable concerning the behavioral and mental health issues of veterans.
- In addition to the eighteen voting members, four members of the Iowa General Assembly are appointed to serve in an ex officio, non-voting capacity. One legislative member is designated by each of the following: the majority leader of the Senate, the minority leader of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the minority leader of the House of Representatives.

## The Duties of the Commission include:

- Advising the Director of the Department of Human Services on the administration of the overall state disability services system.
- Advising the Director of the Department of Human Services, the Council on Human Services, the Governor, and the General Assembly on budgets and appropriations concerning disability services.
- Adopting necessary administrative rules relating to mental health and disability programs and services.
- Setting standards for the accreditation of community mental health centers, other mental health service providers, case management programs, supported community living services.
- Coordinating activities with the Governor's Developmental Disabilities Council, the lowa Mental Health Planning and Advisory Council, and other groups.
- Reporting annually to the Governor and the General Assembly on Commission activities and recommendations for changes in state law.
- Reporting biennially to the Governor on the availability and quality of services to
  persons with disabilities in each county of the state and the effectiveness of
  disability services provided in the state, including those provided by the state mental
  health institutes and state resource centers.

(See Iowa Code Sections 225C.6, 229.24, 249A.12, 331.424A, 331.438-440, and 426B.4-5.)