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Funeral Director 
Documentation Required for Licensure 

 
 Application and fee ($120). All application fees are nonrefundable. To apply, do one following: 

 
Create an account, apply and pay online at: https://ibplicense.iowa.gov/   
 

 Educational Requirement - Official academic transcripts sent directly to the Board office from the 
educational institution verifying completion of: 
 

1. A minimum of 60 hours at a regionally accredited college or university with a minimum of a 2.0 
or a “C” grade point average. The 60 semester hours used to fulfill this requirement cannot 
include technical mortuary science courses, AND 

2. A program in mortuary science from a school accredited by the American Board of Funeral 
Service Education, AND 

3. A college course of at least one semester hour or equivalent in current Iowa law and rules 
covering mortuary science content areas including but not limited to Iowa law and rules 
governing the practice of mortuary science, cremation, vital statistics, cemeteries and preneed.  
 
Note: Foreign-trained applicants should contact the Board office for educational requirements. 

 
 Examination Requirement - A certificate of examination evidencing proof of passing both the arts and 

sciences examination issued by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, 
Inc. Applicants licensed prior to 1980 are exempt from showing a passing grade on the national exam. 
 

 Internship Requirement - Proof of completion of an internship meeting the requirements of 645 Iowa 
Administrative Code 101.5(1) lasting at least one year under the direct supervision of an Iowa board-
certified preceptor. Applicants that have been previously licensed in another state for more than two 
years are not required to provide proof of previous internship completed. 
 

 If the applicant is currently actively licensed in another state, he/ she must furnish evidence of one of 
the following: 
 

1. Two or more years of actual practice as a licensed funeral director in the state where the 
applicant is currently licensed, OR 

2. Meeting requirements substantially similar to those listed in 645 IAC 101.5(1)”g” and 645 IAC 
101.5(3). 
 

 If the applicant has a license in another state that is not currently active, he/ she must demonstrate that 
he/ she meets the requirements of 645 IAC 101.18(3). 
 

 Verification of licenses held in other states (if any): 
 

Applicants that have been previously licensed, registered or certified in any other state must provide 
official verification of licensure in the other state(s). The license verification must include license 
issue date, expiration date and any pending or past disciplinary action. The verification may be 
printed from another state licensing board’s website if it contains all of the required information. If 
web based verification is not available, the verification must be send directly to the Board office by 
the state(s) where the applicant has been licensed, registered, or certified. If the applicant has 
never been licensed in another state, ignore this item. 
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