Iowa’s Civil Money Penalty Quality Improvement Initiative (CMPQII) program develops and implements quality improvement initiatives that directly benefit residents in nursing facilities, which include facilities certified for operation by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) defined as skilled nursing facilities (SNF), nursing facilities (NF), and dually certified skilled/nursing facilities (SNF/NF).

The CMPQII program’s goal is to enhance the quality of care and the quality of life for nursing facility residents through initiatives that focus on enhancement or educational philosophies through current and sound evidence-based practices.  It does this by funding grants for quality improvement initiatives. The grant program also seeks to help protect the health or property of residents of facilities with a history of a deficient practice.


Eligibility Guidelines:

Nursing homes and/or various organizations that are knowledgeable, skilled, and capable of meeting the project’s purpose in its area of expertise as long the organization and project are consistent with Federal law and policy. Examples of organizations that could qualify include, but are not limited to:

  • Consumer advocacy groups
  • Resident or family councils
  • Professional associations
  • Ombudsman programs
  • Quality improvement organizations

Grants are available only for quality improvement initiatives that are outside the scope of normal operations for the nursing facility or other applicant. Grants cannot be used as replacement funding for goods or services that nursing facilities are required to provide.  


How to Apply:

Applications for CMPQII grants are accepted using a formal bidding process.  The requests for proposals (RFP) will be announced on the State of Iowa’s Bid Opportunities website: Iowa Medicaid will also issue an Informational Letter when the RFP has been posted.