Iowa is a national leader in criminal justice information sharing. Since 2007, Iowa Integrated Justice (formerly CJIS) has served as a “system of systems” that integrates and shares criminal justice information among Iowa’s justice agencies in a seamless, real-time, and secure manner.  IIJ makes Iowa’s justice system more efficient and effective by allowing agencies to share or receive critical information immediately and automatically, eliminating outdated methods and unnecessary manual entry. 

Historically, criminal justice information systems have been developed in isolation, resulting in independent systems that are unable to effectively communicate with each other.  IIJ was created to allow these separate systems to share information with each other using a centralized computer system that exceeds all federal and state security requirements.  

In a typical month, IIJ sends over 950,000 separate secure data exchanges. The system has grown to include data exchanges between the Judicial Branch, Department of Corrections, Department of Transportation, Department of Public Safety, Department of Natural Resources, Department of Health and Human Services, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Public Defender, and County Attorneys in sixty-seven (67) Iowa counties. 

In addition, IIJ serves the Iowa State Patrol, all 99 county sheriffs’ offices, 259 local police departments, three university police departments, the State Fair Police, one airport police unit, the Meskwaki Nation Police Department, the BNSF Railway Police, the Canadian National Railway Police, and the Canadian Pacific Railway Police.

Advisory Committee Members:

Barb NelsonChief Justice AppointeeJBIT
Judge Crystal CronkChief Justice AppointeeJudge, 8th District
Kellee CortezChief Justice AppointeeDistrict Court Administrator, 6th
Curtis HamstraChief Justice AppointeeChief Juvenile Court Officer, 4th
Tina ThomasonChief Justice AppointeeClerk of Court: Hamilton, Hardin, Webster, Wright
Rusty RinglerGovernor’s AppointeeDPS, Program Services Bureau Chief
Sarah Fineran *Governor’s AppointeeDOC, Research Director
Jacob MasonGovernor’s AppointeeState Public Defender
Susan KriskoGovernor’s AppointeeAssistant Attorney General
Mike DevenneyGovernor’s AppointeeDOT, Information Technology Specialist
John AsmussenSheriff’s & Deputies AssociationJail Administrator, Story Co.
Glenn GoodeAssociation of Chiefs of Police and Peace OfficersDOT, Hazardous Materials Unit, Specialist
Steven JohnsIowa League of CitiesDeputy City Clerk & Finance Director, Pleasant Hill
VacantIowa County Attorney’s Association 
VacantIowa State Association of County Supervisors 
Senator Janice WeinerEx-Officio, Senate DemocratsIowa Senate District 45
Rep. Chris CournoyerEx-Officio, Senate RepublicansIowa Senate District 35
VacantEx-Officio, House Democrats 
Rep. Steven HoltEx-Officio, House RepublicansIowa House District 12