Most Iowa Medicaid members are enrolled in the Iowa Health Link managed care program, with coverage provided by a Managed Care Organization (MCO). Some Medicaid members, however, will continue to receive Medicaid coverage through the Medicaid Fee-for-Service (FFS) programs. This includes members who qualify for or receive services from a variety of FFS programs listed below. 

In addition to the Medicaid FFS programs and the Iowa Health Link managed care program, the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) is offered through the Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa program, also known as Hawki.  Simply put, Iowa Medicaid has three main coverage groups:

  1. Iowa Health Link
  2. Medicaid Fee-for-Service (FFS)
  3. Hawki

The Frequently Asked Questions webpage is regularly updated to offer the latest information.

You can also learn more by viewing:

Fee-for-Service Programs

Fee-for-Service Frequently Asked Questions