Medicare is the federal health insurance program for:

  • People who are 65 or older
  • Under 65 persons with disabilities
  • People with End-Stage Renal Disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a transplant, sometimes called ESRD)

You can start shopping for Medicare plans.

  • Contact Iowa's Senior Health Insurance Information Program (SHIIP)
    • 800-351-4664
  • Go to
  • Contact a licensed agent or broker.

What are the parts of Medicare?

The different parts of Medicare help cover specific services:

  • Medicare Part A (Hospital Insurance)
    Part A covers inpatient hospital stays, care in a skilled nursing facility, hospice care, and some home health care.
  • Medicare Part B (Medical Insurance)
    Part B covers certain doctors' services, outpatient care, medical supplies, and preventive services.
  • Medicare Part D (prescription drug coverage)
    Helps cover the cost of prescription drugs (including many recommended shots or vaccines).

Medicare Savings Program (MSP)

Iowa Medicaid can pay your Medicare Part A and Part B premiums through the Medicare Savings Program (MSP).  If you qualify, Medicare Savings Programs might also pay your Part A and Part B deductibles, coinsurance and copayments.

Apply for MSP here. 

Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB)

The Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) program provides Medicare coverage of Part A and Part B premiums and cost sharing to low-income Medicare beneficiaries. In 2017, 7.7 million people (more than one out of eight people with Medicare) were in the QMB program.

You can apply for QMB after being approved for Medicare benefits. 

Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB)

A Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) program is a state-sponsored program that provides financial assistance in paying for Medicare Part B premiums. 

You can apply for SLMB after being approved for Medicare benefits.