The Iowa Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), pursuant to the requirements outlined in 42 C.F.R. ยง447.205, hereby gives notice of the following proposed action regarding changes to the reimbursement rates for services provided by enrolled psychiatric medical institutions for children (PMIC) under the State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance Program (Medicaid).

Summary of Submission

Pursuant to the authority of 2023 Iowa Acts, Senate File (SF) 561, Section 13, item 21, reimbursement rates for non-state owned PMICs shall be increased to the extent possible within the $3,000,000 appropriated for this purpose effective July 1, 2023.  For services on or after July 1, 2023, Iowa HHS will establish a statewide per diem rate of $464.95 that applies to all Iowa non-state owned PMIC reimbursement.

The Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) IA-23-0025 will amend Attachment 4.19-A to change the effective date of the PMIC rates to July 1, 2023. 

Estimated Fiscal Impact

The estimated increase in Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) expenditures for State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2024 related to the Iowa non-state owned PMIC provider rates is:

Total Dollars:                                                           $ 212,560

Federal Dollars:                                                        $ 135,783

State Dollars:                                                            $ 76,777

Public Review and Comments

A copy of SPA IA-23-0025 is posted on the HHS website at the following link:  To reach all stakeholders, non-electronic copies will be made available for public review at each local HHS office.

Submission of Comments

Written comments may be sent to Hannah Olson, Department of Health and Human Services, Iowa Medicaid, 1305 E. Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA 50319 or may be emailed to Please indicate SPA IA-23-0025 in the subject line of the email.

All written and emailed comments must be received no later than August 31, 2023, by 4:30 p.m.


Submitted by:

Elizabeth Matney

Medicaid Director