(Des Moines, Iowa) – A Presidential Disaster Declaration for individual assistance was received for five counties affected by extreme rainfall and flooding beginning on June 16, 2024.

This declaration allows the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to offer the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) for Iowans in Clay, Emmet, Lyon, Plymouth, and Sioux counties.

D-SNAP uses different qualifying rules than regular SNAP. Those who may not normally qualify for SNAP, based on income, may qualify for D-SNAP. Persons who may be eligible for D-SNAP benefits include those who:

  • Lived in one of the five disaster counties, and
  • Had a storm-related loss, such as: 
    • Loss of or no access to income due to the disaster, including reduced, terminated, or delayed receipt of income,
    • Home or self-employment business repairs, including supplies paid for out of pocket and not reimbursed during the 30-day period of time
    • Temporary shelter expenses, and
  • Qualify based on income and resources between June 16 – July 15,


  • Worked in one of the five disaster counties and experienced a loss of income due to the disaster, and
  • Qualify based on income and resources between June 16 -July 15.

Income and Expenses

A household’s net income, for their household size, cannot be more than the amounts listed below for the following 30-day period of time: June 16, 2024 – July 15, 2024

Any disaster-related expenses paid out of pocket and not reimbursed during that 30-day period of time can be subtracted from the household’s net income to be eligible for D-SNAP benefits.

Household SizeIncome Limit

How and Where to Apply

Persons can apply for D-SNAP by phone or in-person. The hours are the same for both.

Applications and interviews can be completed over the phone by calling 877-828-5648. 

Applications and interviews are completed in-person at the following locations. Please take proof of identity. You may need to provide proof of residence in the storm-affected area, income, and disaster-related expenses.

  • Monday, 7/8 - 1pm – 5:30pm
  • Tuesday, 7/9 - 9am – 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, 7/10 - 9am – 4:30pm
  • Thursday, 7/11 - 9am – 5:30pm
  • Friday, 7/12 - 9am – 4:30pm
  • Saturday, 7/13 - 8am - 11am

Clay County
Crosswinds Church
1900 Grand Ave #A, Spencer

Emmet County
Emmet County Fairgrounds
1686 3rd Ave S, Estherville

Lyon County
Forster Community Center
404 First Ave, Rock Rapids

Plymouth County
Le Mars Bible Church
1550 7th Ave SE, Le Mars

Sioux County
Main Street Plaza
1129 Main St., Rock Valley


Those who are eligible to receive D-SNAP benefits will receive food dollars on an electronic benefit transfer (EBT) card that is equivalent to the maximum allotment of Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits for their household size. D-SNAP benefits can be used for food purchases at any SNAP-authorized retailer, including farmers markets and certain online retailers. For a complete list of authorized retailers, please see the USDA SNAP retailer locator fns.usda.gov/snap/retailer-locator.

SNAP Recipients

SNAP recipients who received June 2024 SNAP benefits, lived or worked in the counties listed above and were affected can apply for D-SNAP benefits by completing SNAP Recipient Request for Disaster SNAP which is available at the five locations and by calling 877-828-5648 on the dates and times listed below.

Purchase Hot Foods

Persons affected by the flooding may use both SNAP and D-SNAP benefits to purchase hot foods at participating retailers from July 3, 2024 through August 1, 2024 in the following counties: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sioux, and Woodbury.

For more information visit: hhs.iowa.gov/dsnap


Media Contact

Alex Murphy, Iowa HHS Director of Communications, alex.murphy@hhs.iowa.gov