Des Moines, Iowa — The Iowa Commission on the Status of Women is proud to announce the honorees of the 2023 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame and the Cristine Wilson Medal of Equality and Justice. Iowa’s Commission on the Status of Women established the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1975 to highlight women’s heritage, recognize their contributions, and set them forth as role models for Iowans.  The 2023 honorees are:

  • The Honorable Romonda D. Belcher – Des Moines. District Associate Judge.
  • The Honorable Paula S. Dierenfeld – Johnston. Mayor, City of Johnston.
  • Bridget D. Reed, RN, BSN, MPH – Waterloo. Registered nurse.

The Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice is awarded to an individual who has made significant contributions to the principles of equality and justice in Iowa.  The 2023 awardee is:

  • Teree Caldwell-Johnson – Des Moines. President and CEO of Oakridge Neighborhood and Chair of the Des Moines School Board. 

“Today we celebrate the profound accomplishments of these remarkable Iowans,” said Director Kelly Garcia. “From Judge Belcher’s commitment to addressing racial disparities in the juvenile justice system, and Bridget Reed’s community organizing to reduce the burden of diabetes in the Cedar Valley, to Teree Caldwell-Johnson’s work to help immigrants and refugees achieve independence and prosperity, and Mayor Dierenfeld’s fundraising efforts to support a local food bank, I am privileged to help honor these trailblazing women who have shattered glass ceilings and lit the way for generations to come.”

On July 1, 2023, Human Rights, Aging, Early Childhood Iowa, Volunteer Iowa, and other functions became part of HHS as part of Governor Reynold’s state government alignment initiative.